We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply comfortable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ontonagon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Superior Shores Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Take a step back in time to when lake resorts were simple, clean, inexpensive, and the important thing was the view, the beach, the waves, and the sunsets. Superior Shores takes you back to a time that's increasingly harder to find. We were delighted to spend a couple of days last week at Don & Linda’s place while we hiked the Porkies. They go out of their way to make their guests feel at home, and have an “ask if you need something” attitude, otherwise they’ll leave you alone to enjoy your vacation. At check-in Don loaned us several books about the area and recommended several highlights we didn’t know about. They generously supply free firewood, free kayaks, and more. Furnishings are simple but immaculately clean and comfortable. It’s an older place but they have obviously put great effort into making it attractive and inviting. Motel rooms & cabins are close together and close to the lake, so it’s easy to get to know other guests if you want to. Sunsets were fantastic, and we enjoyed hanging out by the water after a long day of hiking. Internet was erratic, but that’s not what we were there for. We had the best motel room (#7) right next to the lake, and we enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of waves through the open window. The negative comments here are inconsistent with our experience, and we wouldn’t hesitate to come back here for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Everyone seems to enjoy room #7, and we would heartily agree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JnJ_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were welcomed by a very friendly owner at the desk. He offered us lots of advice on where to eat, shop, visit, and tips on staying there. Our room was a single king size bed room, with mini fridge, microwave, ironing board, and optional air conditioner that he would hook up if we wanted it (didn't need it). Best of all, though, was the proximity to the shore of Lake Superior. Although our room did not have a view of it, it was an easy walk there. We went in for dip and then enjoyed the FREE kayaks on the premises. We paddled to the river where the owner told us we would see wildlife and enjoyed paddling our way there. He even gave us beach towels to dry off with. Campfires had to be shared with other guests and we were not sure if our room was able to use one. It is not close to any great restaurants, but we found a few basic ones in Ontonagon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NancyJ011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We initially found this place while driving along lake superior. We Stayed in the cabin that is right on the shores of Lake Superior. The cabin itself was wonderful, clean, and fairly priced. My husband and I decided to stay there twice and then asked the owner Don after our second trip in the summer of 2013 about reserving another stay for in May 2014. He told us that when people book into the next summer that he writes it down and then calls you in early spring to make sure that you are still going to be able to make it for your reservation date. We asked if we need to use a credit card to hold and if there was any kind of cancellation charge if we decided not to stay when he called in early spring? He said no, so he wrote it down and we went on our way. Then in early spring meaning 1st of March 2014 Don called as promised. We told Don that we decided to not take the cabin for the May 23rd weekend. He said ok and hung up. He was short and rude. Now keep in mind that is a almost a three month cancellation notice! Then we get our Credit Card statement and there is a $10 charge that transacted on March 3rd! He never once said anything about a cancellation fee ever! So my husband tried calling him and of course he would not even answer the phone.....hmm I wonder why! So we went to our bank where we have our credit card, and they disputed it with him and no success!! We found it ridiculous for several reasons. 1st of all he never said anything about a cancellation fee. 2nd We cancelled so far in advance by almost three months and we have never seen another place that would charge you anything with a cancellation that far in advance. 3rd Don lost our business completely and all he got was $10 when a simple booking sometime this summer would have made 8 to 10 times that (how dumb)! 4th Not even trying to work with us in any way. We even went and bought beer for Don as a friendly gift (we noticed Don enjoys beer), when we had stayed there the previous summer because we are friendly people and Don seemed nice. Apparently though he has been smoking some pot with his son and his memory is not too good, forgetting about the gift and the simple fact that he had no troubles with us when we stayed, and not to mention he told us we could cancel with no troubles in spring! It is not very good business when his son that works for him lets people know he smokes pot and smells like a joint when he came to put a flat screen TV in our cabin! He even showed us what kind of pot he had and says even his did smokes him. What a place I tell you. Don't use your Credit Card here! We had to change out Credit Card number because we no longer trust these people!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PeanutKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SupShores1, Owner at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We are just dumbfounded by the ability of people to slam businesses on Trip Advisor. We would like to respond to this review. It would be nice for anyone making bad reviews to first try to resolve any problems prior to posting on social media!
We have a cancellation policy of $10 no matter when you make the reservation or how quickly you cancel your reservation after making it. It is posted on our website under the “Resort Policies” tab. This policy is also walked over with any reservation we take whether over the phone or in person. We are diligent with this practice because we want no misunderstandings.
This charge was made on 3-1-2014, hit your statement on 3-3-2014 and this is the first we heard anything regarding this disagreement. Today is 8-9-2014, over 5 months have passed. We have never been contacted by your bank regarding disputed charges, nor by you. We are really confused by the amount of time that has lapsed and not knowing of this until now. We are not always able to answer the phone but if a message is left we return all calls.
You and your husband did stay with us in the past two times for one night each time. The stays were in June 2013 and July 2013 (not previous summer or September 2013 as stated in your review). During your last stay in July 2013 you chose to make a reservation for 3 nights in May 2014. We explained our policy to your husband when he asked in a conversation about making reservations for the following year. We told him we had a 50% deposit but did not take the deposit until March 1st and if he cancelled there was a $10 charge. He thought a $10 cancel fee and that we did not take the deposit until the following year was fair. We believe our policies and prices are fair.
During one of the stays, your husband broke the window latch in the cottage, he told us and we said “not to worry, we would fix it” and we did. We had to order a part and put it in. We did not charge anything for breaking the latch. Your husband was cold during one of your stays and Don gifted him a sweatshirt. We did everything to make sure your stays were a good experience. Then we receive this kind of review. We are really confused!
We have no idea regarding your comments about the “pot smoking”. Our son is no longer working here.
We are sorry for your confusion and misunderstanding of our policies but we do not keep them from anyone, nor would we not tell someone what they are if asked. We tell everyone about our reservation/cancellation policy so there are not any misunderstandings. It seems this negative review is over a $10 cancellation charge and not the service or accommodations when you did stay with us otherwise you would not have made reservations for the following year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

first i rate this place a zero. please do not stay here ,pass this place by . it is by for the most dirty filthy, nasty place i have ever stepped into, the shower is a 2 foot black mold hole the bedding is bug infested and cabin itself is infested with mice and all kinds of insects, no battery in smoke alarm ,airconditioner hooked-up with a lamp power cord very dangerous,when air comes on power in cabins almost goes out, the grounds are just as bad not kepted.started looking for a place 10 minutes after we got there, got ate up at night better off in tent somewhere counted 30 bits on body if you stay here check for bed bugs

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank dan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SupShores1, Owner at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are sorry you were unhappy and arrived at a time when there was a high volume of mosquitoes and both black and stable flies. You arrived in the early evening and we had no indication until the next morning there were any issues. You came into the office as said “we need to have a discussion buddy”. You informed me you had been up until 3:00 AM killing and being bit by mosquitoes. I told you I was sorry and asked if you had left the door open (unpacking) or open any windows because there might possibly be a hole in a screen. You assured me not (it was a very warm evening). You told me you would decide what you were going to do and shortly came back to the office to say you were checking out. I told you we’d see if we could re rent the cottage (we have an early departure policy). You proceeded to tell me there was mold in the shower and that you were aware we allowed pets in the units and that there was dog hair everywhere. I told you I was unaware of either thing but would make sure to check because it was important. I asked why you had not mentioned this earlier and you told me you weren’t going to bother to. You let me know you were not happy with me.
You never mentioned the other items you brought up in the review. I will respond to them: 1) we are clean not “dirty and filthy”2) we do not have a 2 foot black mold hole in our shower 3) we do not have bed bugs 4) we do not have mice in our cottages or rooms 5) the window air conditioner has a 6 foot UL listed appliance cord so it can reach the outlet (it is run along the wall and is removed when the weather is not warm) 6) we have working battery powered smoke detectors in this cottage both upstairs and downstairs 7) I can’t address our grounds since the reviewer does not say what is wrong.
What is true in your review is that the cottage had insects (mosquitoes to be exact), there were many in the cottage especially in the shower drain in the bathroom. I can only guess that around dusk the door to the cottage was left open for a period of time. The following day it was not an issue. I find the demeanor of this guest and what I feel are untruths to be disturbing and invite visitors to visit other views of our establishment on Trip Advisor. Don Kermeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We came to this resort on 6/29 and stayed till 7/3. Check in was prompt and easy, the owners are both very nice and helpful. They give you lots of free info as well as a few really handy reference books that cover the area. We stayed in unit two which was perfect my fiancé and I. The room was clean and well kept, there was no musty scent, and everything looked recently painted and updated. The bed was nice and comfy, it had nice headboard and a bed spring was on the frame. The units are a little close but it's not expensive and it's right on the beach. We enjoyed a nice fire one evening and cooked on the supplied grills a few nights finding it very peaceful even with the other guests close by. The owner, Don, was very friendly and helped us with our grill. They offered to supply us with anything we did not bring. They also offered to let us use their kayaks free of charge and supplied the firewood for the fire. Taking out your own trash and switching towels when you need them is a small price to pay, and not a unreasonable request, for staying at a small family run place. If you like giving money to people instead of a corporation this is the place for you. We will be returning here next time we are In the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bswieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Don and Linda are first rate hosts! Upon our arrival Don checked us in and gave a friendly review of the grounds rules during our stay. This is a hard thing to do gently, but it's an important reassurance that he does have rules. They are designed for your comfort and safety and they apply to everyone staying there. He then loaned us several books and a map of the area showing all the main attractions and some that we weren't even aware of. Thanks DON!

My wife and I stayed in cabin seven because it seemed that most reviewers here said it was the best. We agree! We had one minor problem with the cabin but Don provided a quick solution and all was well. The cabin itself has a large sliding window in the front room facing Lake Superior and provides a absolutely superb view. By the window is a small table and a couple of chairs with a large 12 cup programmable coffee brewer. Also inside this room is a couch with a hide-away bed, a microwave oven and a larger than normal (for a hotel/motel) refrigerator/freezer, it looked new.

The bathroom is between the front room and the bedroom. This is a bit unusual, and might present a little bit of a problem if you are staying with another couple, but for just my wife and I it was no problem at all. Size wise the shower is pretty small and I felt a bit cramped when using it, but I was not here to unwind in the shower, all I cared about was I had a place to clean up at the end of the day and/or in the morning.

The bedroom was pretty good sized and the bed was very comfortable. the pillows were soft, the linens were fresh and clean and you had plenty of room to put your stuff. It had a small flat screen TV which we used only once before bedtime one night. Nice clear picture.

The water was very high during our visit so the beach was much smaller than usual, just the same there was plenty of room to have a fire (in the fire rings they provide) and if the bountiful driftwood along the shore isn't good enough they even have free split wood you can use. The sunrises and sunsets are beyond description (see attached photo). The lake was exceptionally calm during our stay, no waves as a result of very little wind. In the evening it became like glass and despite the lack of the sound of waves rolling in, it was incredibly peaceful and serene.

Our personal thanks to Don and Linda for a marvelous stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: As others have said...get cabin 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Here away from the city life you can recharge your batteries! As long as you don't mind keeping it simple and exchanging towels when you need fresh ones in the office, you are un disturbed. We were able to enjoy Lake Superior any time of day right outside our door. Room 3 has a comfortable king size bed, a fridge and microwave, what more could you need!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Doxiestruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ontonagon
7.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
3.9 mi away
Peterson's Cottages
Peterson's Cottages
#2 of 6 in Ontonagon
97 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodges
Mountain View Lodges
#1 of 6 in Ontonagon
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Walleye Lodge
Walleye Lodge
#1 of 2 in Bergland
54 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Address: 26156 Highway 64, Ontonagon, MI
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing