We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but Super Clean”
Review of Inn Towne Motel

Inn Towne Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ontonagon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn Towne Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Sparta, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old but Super Clean”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

$60 and a clean room. Can't ask for much more. Everything is old, but if you're a tired man that wants nothing more than to walk a block to the cafe, drink a few beers and call it a night. This is your kind of place. If you have high standards, this may not be the place for you. But if had been living in a tent in the mountains for a week and just wanted a shower and cold beer. This is your kind of place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Tiny, tiny dark-walled room; no clock, very old furniture, very thin pillows. The room appeared reasonably clean, and it was late, so we moved in. The vacuuming apparently is only done in the traffic areas, because we found lots of cobwebs in corners and under the bed. Finding the fifth spider was the deal breaker. Although it was 10:30, we decided to check out and look elsewhere. I think the room was way over priced at $60.

If you look at my other reviews, I don't think I've ever rated one star before, and have never checked out of a hotel at 10:30 pm. Get serious, folks!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My friend and I stayed here before backpacking in the Porcupine Mountains. When I had called to make our reservation, I had informed the proprietress that we were driving in from Wisconsin and would possibly be arriving fairly late. She didn't make it seem like that would be an issue. Because of our long drive, coupled with the time zone change that made us lose an hour, we arrived at eleven. The proprietress seemed visibly annoyed by our late arrival and acted quite short with us. Beyond that, the rooms weren't very impressive and looked quite dated. Everything worked, but it certainly wasn't pretty. The next time I'm in the area, I'll shell out a few more bucks for an option that doesn't include the attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MapMakinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Close to the town so god for walking about. Much better stay than the old cabin motels in the area on the lake

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2hotrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed here as our "base of operations" for a couple nights while snowmobile riding in the Ontonagon and Porcupine Mountains areas. The rooms are clean, simple and functional. The location is peaceful--or if you're not in the mood for peaceful, there are literally 3 or 4 bars within a quarter-mile radius. Plenty of parking for snowmobiles, trailers, etc. and easy access to the trail system. The rates here are very decent as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomW_715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Inn Towne is a great little place to get away. Love the area, friendly people, beautiful scenery. The staff is fabulous, welcoming, feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryH204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Great for Fall Color touring/ Winter Snowmobileing!! Clean. Walk around "Inn Towne". One of the prettiest/quietest sand beaches was only 2 blocks away!!! We were the only ones there!!! A good place to stay. $60/Queen bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpinvail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ontonagon hotels
12.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
1.5 mi away
Peterson's Cottages
Peterson's Cottages
#2 of 6 in Ontonagon
88 reviews
13.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodges
Mountain View Lodges
#1 of 6 in Ontonagon
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Towne Motel

Property: Inn Towne Motel
Address: 314 Chippewa St, Ontonagon, MI 49953-1006
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you considered snowmobiling or skiing in the Western part of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula? Its Michigan’s BEST KEPT SECRET! We welcome you to stay with us in Ontonagon, MI. We are located in downtown Ontonagon close to Lake Superior. Ontonagon is at the junction of US-45, M-64 & M-38. Join us for all of your lodging needs-we are open all year! The Inn Towne Motel is a family owned business. We pride ourselves with clean rooms and great hospitality. Our rooms feature cable TV, in room phones, electric heat and the ability to have adjoining rooms for those traveling with friends or relatives. Our rates remain moderate regardless of the season. We accept all major credit cards.Gas stations, restaurants and nightlife are right down the street. Miles of groomed snowmobile trails can be accessed from the parking lot. We are 20 minutes away from the Porcupine Mountain State Park which features public alpine and cross-country skiing. The Porcupine Mountain Wilderness State Park also has miles of snowmobile trails. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing