We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a comfy room, and all you need at a good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Motel and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ontonagon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunshine Motel and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 3 Ontonagon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a comfy room, and all you need at a good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We really enjoyed our time at the Sunshine Motel. We went in early January 2014 for 4 nights. Owners were very friendly and knowledgeable, and had the room warmed up for our arrival. They had the drive plowed and trails behind the motel where we could take the dog to the bathroom. They were very pet friendly which was a HUGE plus!! Only a few miles from town and from the Porcupine mountains. We got the single room which had just a fridge and microwave, but we came prepared!

Room Tip: Just tell the owners what features you are looking for! We asked for a larger table to prepare meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pentwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We ship items for people, travel many states. It was minus 8 the night I called ahead to ask if they would have diesel plug in outside and room for our big rig. These owners plowed out, turned room heat up, let us go straight to our room without checking in so late!
They care.
Hard to find!
Love this place!
It is older. However, suits us perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I really liked the Sunshine Motel. The price was right and nice owners. Perks were lake access, flat screen tv, frig and AC. The weather was nice and we enjoyed the bonfire with the other guests before the owners told us about the “light show” (lightening) that was going on over Lake Superior. Six of us walked over in the dark and watched the spectacular show over the lake. The room was comfortable. My only complaint would be the lack of black out curtains when there was a light outside our room.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

It was my 5th time staying there. I had luck being in the same room 5th time as well ! All clean and in order, upgraded flat screen TV's (big +), small fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. All you need is there, access to the beach along Lake Superior, Porcupine Mts, city is just 3-4 miles away, friendly service. It was my first time coming in warm weather on the motorcycle trip, before it was on the snowmobile during heavy snow conditions. The place is easy to be find along Hwy64 and easily accessible. Will be coming there again. Maybe next year I'll have a luck geting into one of these cabins with the family.

Room Tip: Bulletproof ! - all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, MI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

This old style motel is immaculate. Rooms have up north decor. Owners are friendly and helpful. Beautiful Lake Superior access across the street. They even had dog towels for 4 legged swimmers.Nothing fancy..perfect for the area and purpose.An old fashioned vacation spot-loved our stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The owners of this hotel and their 2 dogs are great. So friendly. I seriously could have talked to them forever. They told us where to get gas (saved 25 cents a gallon). Rooms are clean. Nothing fancy, just what you need. Fridge, microwave. place for a campfire. private beach access to Lake Superior. built a campfire and watched the sunset behind Lake Superior. Beautiful BUT take bug spray. We did not big mistake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckySam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent four nights at the Sunshine Motel. The room (2queen bed) was small but very cute . The room seemed clean. We did appreciate the mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot!!. We enjoyed the beach area across the highway,watched the sunsets walked on the beach through the woods. It was abut a 15 minute drive to the Porcupine Mnt. State Park, and about 5 minutes to Ontonagon. They have a beautiful front lawn area with a fire pit each night .Very dog friendly just super nice people Hidden gem

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Himnme07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ontonagon hotels
9.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
10.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodges
Mountain View Lodges
#1 of 6 in Ontonagon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peterson's Cottages
Peterson's Cottages
#2 of 6 in Ontonagon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Motel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Motel and Cabins

Property: Sunshine Motel and Cabins
Address: 24077 West Highway 64, Ontonagon, MI 49953
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ontonagon
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets stay free, 14 rooms and 5 cabins, air conditioning, 32 inch flat screen LED TVs, mini-refrig, microwave, coffee maker in all rooms. Lake Superior beach access, 10 minutes to Porcupine Mountain Wilderness State Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing