We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect paradise - - felt like we were in the Caribbean!”
Review of Mai Tiki Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oscoda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mai Tiki Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Oscoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were at the Mai Tiki Resort for a family wedding this past weekend. It was absolutely perfect! The room configurations are all unique, so the bride and groom were able to assign family members and couples accordingly so that everyone had proper sleeping arrangements. The beach was awesome. Everything was clean. The entire resort was rented for the weekend with guests, and everyone agreed that Mai Tiki would definitely be a place to return to for summer fun!

Room Tip: Cottage 16 was very modern. Cottages on the North side of the office were very spacious - would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This past July was my family's first time at Mai Tiki Resort, and the experience was flawless from the time we got there until we had to leave. The cottages are all such cute, fun colors! It makes you feel like you aren't even in Michigan. The owner and the intern were incredibly sweet and caring. They go out of their way to make it feel like you are having the best week possible! The intern was very sweet and even chatted with me in Lake Huron while she wasn't working! They made sure everyone had what they needed and was having a good time! My son is 8 and LOVED the movies on the beach! My husband and I were happy that he had toys to play with, a small playground area, and the movies to keep him entertained while we were enjoying the gorgeous beach. We have already booked our vacation for next summer and cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cbyolve4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our family has started a tradition of vacationing together one week a year in Michigan. Our original plan was to hip hop across the State of Michigan; first the sunset side, then the sunrise side, then in the middle. Well, our hip hopping days are done the Mai Tiki is our vacation spot every year from now on. Such great, friendly people run this resort, the owner is fabulous, she want everyone to relax and have a great time and we sure did. The little tiki bar (eventhough not a real bar) is a great touch, adds a bunch to the fun atmosphere. The kids movies playing on the side of the tiki bar was so cute and the kids loved it. The one man band (Way out Wayne) was great and a bunch of fun for all! This resort owner goes out of her way to make sure you have a great vacation that's for sure! Our cottage was adorable (unit 22) the shower is a bit tight and I would have liked a screen on the door to keep out some of the flys but not worth a deduction on this awesome place. There was a large group there (they have been coming every year for over 10 years) they were so much fun (especially Lisa & Patty), and "Kitten" and Austin's family - we're hoping they come again next year, will feel like going home. What a blast! If you like, sun, fun, gorgeous sunsrises, swimming in the great lakes, community camp fire & nice people then this place is for you. We hope to keep coming back here for many years to come. Thank you Mai Tiki - you guys ROCK!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelScout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

When I got to the resort I thought this can't be a resort but as soon as I meet the owner the warmth poured out onto all my family. The atmosphere is wonderful and relaxing, the white sugar sand takes your breath away and makes your realize you are in a special place. Who would have thought of all the colorful houses and great people from all over the country coming to see the beauty and diamond in the rough.

Room Tip: Get a cabin with it's multi-color scheme and let your hair down with relaxing fun with new frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My family and I just vacationed at the Mai Tiki Resort and had the best vacation there. There was movies on the beach for the kids and live music on the beach on Wednesday that was excellent and a lot of fun. We stayed in cabin 15(yellow) which was just remodeled with granite kitchen countertops and a beautiful tiled shower. The beach, wow the beach is amazing and huge! You really can't believe you are in Michigan, I never knew they had these kind of beaches in Michigan. The water is multi-colored blue just like the carribean. Every night there's a bonfire. The girls in the front are very helpful and our room was very clean. We will be coming back every year, Thank you!!!!

Room Tip: # 15 was just remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dxxx688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a great time at Mai Tiki. Nice clean beach and cottages were very clean, each one unique and colorful. The owners are very nice and ready to help in any way possible. I would recommend Mai Tiki for a nice relaxing vacation. You must bring your own towels but not a big deal as long as you realize it before hand

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

When I say "simply the best" or "owner care" in the title here, I'm speaking from long-experience, as I used to live in Oscoda, and after I moved 'downstate' as we call it here in Michigan, this resort became my new "home" in the area. It's transferred ownership since I was last in the area to stay -- and to truly wonderful, talented people who not only care for the absolutely UNMATCHED beach and property qualities, (from cabins to beautiful condo-style rooms and suites), but to that rare set of individuals in this business who also TRULY care for their guests. They do this not just for the "business", and it shows. Their actions alone speak to how they handle every part of their operation, from its infrastructure to the obvious care in choosing their employees, and to how they, themselves, are set apart from other hospitality industry owners/operators in that they're caring for people FIRST, with pure business aspects of such an enterprise coming second ... especially when it counts.

This could not be better illustrated than by how they have recently treated me, entirely unknown to them at first, when I came up to attend to a very personal tragedy in terms of losing my child at the end of April -- and, strangely enough, precisely on the weekend that these "owners" (I'm sorry -- can hardly think of them that way now), were just beginning to open the resort as a whole for the season. It was perhaps "fate", in a way, that I just happened to catch them while they were there off/on that weekend, to ask if "my usual cabin" would be available for me to stay in as I often had before -- whether there to spend time with my son in "our favorite hometown" (work pulled me away from Oscoda, although it remained "our home" in so many ways -- and still does, for me, to the extent that I will most likely be moving back soon), or, in between, stayed in the very same cabin, every time (whenever it was available, anyway) throughout short or long periods of shooting an outdoor television show wherein I was the 'angler' of the group of outdoors professionals. Theresa and Paul, though, without even knowing about my son's passing, saw what was later described as a 'near urgency' in my eyes that I stay there even if they weren't "officially open" yet (in terms of their own expectations of how the resort should be represented to guests), especially in that particular cabin, and went BEYOND the call, in every way, to make sure that THAT cabin, before their other ones and/or their more luxurious hotel rooms/suites, could be made ready for their first guest of the season. The resort hadn't even officially opened yet, as I've mentioned; and still, they opened their hearts to a complete stranger in this way -- and the updates in the cabin itself since I'd last been there, were of course wonderful as they continue to strive to improve/update and make Mai Tiki Resort even more beautiful, in every way, than it always was.

Once they learned who I was, what had happened, and that we had a memorial service planned for Oscoda as well as another one, later, downstate for local family/friends to mourn my son's passing ... the outpouring of true emotion and care, the ways in which they went OUT OF THEIR WAY, SO many times, to make sure that we ALL had whatever/however/whenever, etc. that we may ever have wanted or needed (or didn't even know we would, frankly, because we were all still in shock, I believe) -- while they were still readying the full resort for its more official opening ... simply extraordinary in the way that ONLY extraordinary INDIVIDUALS can be in their willingness to show respect, kindness, and ... I don't even know HOW to describe it, especially as words fail me while this loss is still so profound and recent. What I can express, however, is that they weren't doing any of it for "revenue" or "great press" ... they were doing it, personally, because of, simply, who they ARE. I will be forever grateful, as will my family/friends who were there and/or who couldn't stay as long as we did, but felt comforted, too, by simply "knowing" that I was not just "in good hands" when they had to leave ... but may as well have been in FAMILY hands, considering how much simply being there meant to ME, and how I/we were being treated by ALL Mai Tiki staff.

This review may be terribly composed, I realize, so please forgive that part of it; but I didn't want to wait another day to "tell the world" of this beautiful, peaceful place you will NOT find anywhere else in the world, and most certainly, the MOST caring of people who now own it who will move heaven and earth to make your stay there the peaceful, fun, comfortable [or insert your own 'need', and if possible, they'll make it so for you while you're in their care] 'vacation' you would want for yourself, and/or your family. The beach frontage is huge and pristine, with the endless horizon of the majestic Lake Huron the FIRST thing to greet you every morning with the sun's rising ... the enormous beach area and play area for adults AND children to simply spread out and enJOY Michigan's gorgeous sands -- amazing! There is more than enough room at this resort, ESPECIALLY, for both large groups and more intimate couples or solitary travelers to find whatever it is each might be looking for in terms of either a large group to have a blast, or a solo traveler or couple to set themselves apart from the larger groups and simply ... find tranquility.

The grand Au Sable River, rated one of the finest trout streams in the country, is a mere few miles away, its mouth into Lake Huron and harbor/marina area(s) offering you MUCH more in the way of fishing for ALL kinds of fresh water fish during spring and fall runs, or simply summer "fishin'", let alone the place you'd BEST want to be to boat, canoe, tube, kayak, jet-ski ... or to get yourself into some very exciting off-shore trolling for huge lakers and browns, steelies and salmon -- and need I even mention the ever-present perch, walleye, bass in the upper reaches, as WELL as the beloved trout? Because, truly, there really aren't ANY fish in fresh water you won't find in or near Oscoda; and, as a former professional angler, if you want to try multi-species, multi-techniques, and seriously multi-FUN -- you WILL want your "base of operations" at Mai Tiki, so that, at the end of the day (or night, grin), you can return to another kind of heaven to contemplate your adventures on that extraordinary beach, to grill the freshest, tastiest fresh-water fish on the planet ... and to be taken CARE of by people, if you get to know them, you will always later consider friends far more than you will mere "proprietors of a resort".

I cannot thank Theresa, Paul, and the rest for ALL that they have done for me, personally -- again, not knowing me at ALL when I first arrived during their own first day of opening up, turning on water, beginning even more remodeling/landscaping, etc. ... in the midst of ALL of their own hard work, and it's extensive, they absolutely STOPPED, looked at me as a PERSON, opened their hearts AND "my" cabin for me ... and in those moments? Before they even knew I'd just lost my son, they became so much more to me than simply people to "do business with" ... more than the "anonymous desk clerks" or "owners of a resort property" ... they became friends I'll respect and hold dear for the rest of my life.

So, while I've read some of the less than "excellent" reviews here, and honestly, was taken aback by a couple that, honestly, shouldn't have been written on ANY level, let alone on the levels they were -- please discard those in your mind. If you wish the BEST in terms of location and beach frontage and access to Lake Huron, let alone the BEST in terms of what client SERVICE is truly all about? Then there's really no other choice for you BUT Mai Tiki.

I write this not as a grieving, appreciative mother, but as a professional woman who has traveled extensively across the globe, used to live IN Oscoda itself and certainly knows the area and offerings intimately, and as a fellow traveler and human being, who appreciates it when business owners aren't simply "operating a business", but who truly CARE about each and every move they make for their GUESTS. You simply will NOT find another property OR other resort owners, anywhere -- let alone on the east side of Michigan, near and/OR directly on Lake Huron & the AuSable River -- which could please you (and/or your family) more on any level.

Thank you again, my new friends, from the bottom of my heart. I'm sure I will see you soon, and I look forward to it -- as I will even more so every single time I'm in Oscoda from now on, whether or not I end up back "home" to stay, sooner than later.

Room Tip: With SO many to choose from, given availability -- take a look around (virtually or on site), ask qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Connie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oscoda
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
0.5 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#2 of 10 in Oscoda
93 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aspen Motor Inn
Aspen Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Oscoda
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Huron House Bed and Breakfast
10.2 mi away
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in East Tawas
215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gold Coast Family Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Tiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Tiki Resort

Address: 3322 N US Highway 23, Oscoda, MI 48750-9589
Region: United States > Michigan > Oscoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Oscoda
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Mai Tiki Hotel Oscoda
Maitiki Hotel Oscoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing