We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly faces everywhere”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lakewood Shores Resort - Blackshire Golf Course
Ranked #6 of 15 things to do in Oscoda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spread over less than 200 acres of rugged and natural landscape, this 18-hole championship golf course has the look and feel of New Jersey's famous Pine Valley Country Club.
Warren, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly faces everywhere”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

All service personell I encountered over a Memorial weekend outing were outstanding. Smiles abound. Made for a great weekend. Greens conditions of The Gailes did not meet expectations and standing water at Blackshire needed to be navigated on a few holes. But overall; a great experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    3
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage MI
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“standing water, lousy service at resort, bad resort design”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed one night at the resort, played Blackshire the day we got there, and got rained out on Gailes the next day.
Blackshire is not a visually appealing course. It looks like it needs some TLC or attention. The standing water was ubiquitous, and nobody was working on dealing with that. We had to tee off from the red tees on the first hole because the others were back beyond the water. Most sandtraps (and there are a lot of them) had water in them. According to the map on the scorecard, there is no water on the 14th hole. The reality is that the lake in front of the green was so large that they had to put up temporary signs to show you how to get to the green after you'd hit over the water, and then how to get back to the 15th tee.
The resort was not well designed or run. The clerks who checked us in didn't bother to tell us that Blackshire is a couple of miles away from the place we checked in, so we unloaded our clubs at the pro shop there, carried them down a flight of stairs (with nobody to help us do that), and then when we went in the pro shop we found out we were at the wrong course and had to reload everything and drive to Blackshire. We were told that breakfast at the dining room would be either $7 (cold) or $13 (hot). It was $3.
Our room was 3/4 mile away from the main building where we checked in, so we had to drive over there. There is no WiFi at the rooms; it's only back at the main building. Our room was just a regular motel room, with nothing nice or special about it. At least it seemed to be clean. The heater/AC unit is very noisy and it woke me up several times during the night. The "safety and security" sign on the inside of our door was full of spelling and grammar mistakes, which is just another indication of how far from excellence this place is.
There are many nicer courses and resorts in Michigan. Garland and Forrest Dunes sure don't have to worry about competition from this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JustJohnPortageMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lakewood shores resort”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

First I would like to tell you about my own experience. Courses were in excellent shape, Blackshire one of the toughest I have played.. Staff was very accommodating at the main club house. food was very sufficient. We will be going back again this year.
Now for the people who posted negatively. Yes their are mosquitos of all of the courses ( lets be realistic you are in the middle of a forest with a river and ponds... its a no brainer that bugs are going to be present deal with it or rent a cottage and stay inside) as far as no microwave in the rooms most do have one, and if you purchased the golf package it comes with dinner off the menu and breakfast is an upcharge of $2.00 a day I don't think your wives can make meals for less than that. As for the condos. are you there to sit inside and relax on the couch (if so stay home) you are there to play golf, so don't expect a 5 star resort

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford,ON
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“No Brainer for a Golf Trip”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have been organizing a golf trip for anywhere from 24-32 golfers every May in Michigan. The group comes from all over Ontario. We have been to several areas in Michigan and were never quite happy with the courses or the staff, or the facilities, etc.
I found the Lakewood Shores 3 years ago. Craig, the employee who i was dealing with couldn't have been more courteous and sincerely wanted our business.
There are a 3 golf courses on the resort and they are always in great shape. If you want to punish yourself, the Gailes will make or break you. The Blackshire (Bugshire) as its known is "in my opinion" the nicest of the 3 courses. The accomodations are 2 bedroom condos with a kitchen area with a full size fridge, a dining room table, and a living room area with a couch and chairs. There are also balconies overlooking a very well kept 9 hole "chip and putt' that is available at no charge. The only negative feature of the accomodations are the single beds, but for the amount of time you spend in them, its no big deal.
Great courses, and the staff are incredible and will do anything for you.
"as i type this, i feel that i am shooting myself in the foot. The place is busy enough now, and this review may increase the golfers"
Long drive but well worth it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great fun golfing here!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This course is a lot of fun to play. Challenging, beautiful course in the woods. It doesn't have a club house but serves some snacks. Bring the bug spray!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hartsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakewood Shores Resort - Blackshire Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Lakewood Shores Resort - Blackshire Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing