We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for All”

Lakewood Shores Golf Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oscoda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakewood Shores Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Oscoda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I won a trip to Lakewood Shores Golf Resort at the Bruce Peninsula Health Services Foundation Hospital Tournament at Sauble Golf and Country Club in May of this year. The trip was won for 2 but we took 4 and paid a little extra. The two rooms were clean, well appointed, and backed onto a par 54 pitch and putt. The breakfasts and suppers were excellent! Lunch was passable finger foods. The other 3, 18 hole golf courses which came with golf carts, were fun. Most of all, the people there were great! Anyone looking for a fun holiday, with a bit of golf, scenery, wildlife, good food, and sociable people, for a reasonable price should check this place out!

Carl

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

No complaints about the golf courses or the price, but the accommodations and management left a lot to be desired. Shared a suite with another pair of golfers in our group. Not a problem. The extraordinarily uncomfortable twin beds were an issue, however (don't let the video on their website fool you. Twin beds, not queens). 20 of our 24 golfers stayed an extra night beyond the package and the resort required several rooms to relocate due to newly arriving groups. A bit of an inconvenience, but, in and of itself, not that big of a deal…except for the fact they did not tell us we needed to relocate and they had the nerve to move our belongings out of our room while we were on the golf course. Returned to our room at about 9:00 pm and opened the door only to find someone else in our rooms. Needless to say, the new occupants weren’t very pleased either as we still had keys to their room. Management could not provide a reasonable explanation as to why we were not advised in advance that we needed to move, nor were they willing to provide any form of discount for their intrusion and the inconvenience. Will never visit this place again and urge anyone contemplating staying here to reconsider.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We just returned from Lakewood shores where we enjoyed a four day unlimited golf package which was an excellent value. All three of the courses were very enjoyable, the food was good and the service excellent. We stayed in the hotel room portion (without cooking facilities) and found to rooms to be clean, newer and comfortable. I would highly recommend this resort for both a guys/gals golf trip and a couples trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Premium_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

2 of us went for the July 4 long weekend. The rate was terrific - $260 each for 3 nights and unlimited golf with cart. We took a pass on the meal package, preferring to do some exploring in town for the evening meal. Just as well, dinner is served only until 8pm and we didn't finish our first day of golf till after 7.30.

We arrived after midnight. Finding the place took some doing. There is not much in the way of street lighting. We found the parking lot for the golf course, and were lucky to see a notice board hanging from the front door with a few pages attached to it. This would have been so easy to miss. Turns out that each late arriving guest had a sheet tacked to the board, telling them what room they were in, and how to find the hotel/condo building. It's not right there at the golf course, and you would never find it without directions. I had spoken to them a few days earlier to let them know we'd be in late. They told me they'd leave the room unlocked with the keys inside, but no mention of going to the golf course and looking for the notice board. That really needs to be made clear to first time guests - we might have ended up sleeping in the car if my buddy hadn't spotted the notice board.

The room was large and clean, with 2 queen beds. There is a small fridge to keep food and beverages cool.

The restaurant is back at the golf course. Breakfast is buffet only, no menu service. There is a menu for dinner.

3 golf courses, all very different from each other, and all in good shape. We got 7 rounds in. The Gailes course, the Scottish-style one, will really beat you up if the wind is blowing. There are lots of bugs at the Blackshire course, so make sure you have bug spray.

For the quality of the golf and the low price, I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: If you arrive after dark, check both levels at the hotel/condo for your room. We were in 126, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Having been to resorts in Gaylord several times, Lakewood shores fell short.

The good: beautiful views of beach and lake in town and Tawas. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. Food was adequate but nothing outstanding. Inexpensive packages. Serendella was well groomed. Gailes very challenging, but not as difficult as expected if you stay in fairways. Blackshire was most scenic of the 3. There was no problems with bugs, as the breeze kept them away.

The bad: no microwave or hair dryer in rooms. The course caters to large groups of drunken golfers.

The ugly: extremely slow play. Count on a 5 hour plus round. No rangers patrolling the shirtless, drunken golfers who urinate in the middle of the fairway. When did blaring music become part of playing golf?

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lady_Canuck22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

recently visited this area with a group of 12 golfers. Accomodation was tired looking but adequate for us. Cleaned everyday. Golf courses were in good shape. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Meals were good and you could update for minimal cost. For a group of guys golfing, this was one of the better places to go. Very enjoyable atmosphere along with good golfing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

After visiting Michigan for 6 years for our annual golf trip!
This course ranks high in my book! We played this April of 2012!
Weather cold and more or less opening week,
Our condo room Ce with great value, guys in the group loved it!
The little par 3 was awesome for after hours fun, beer were a must! ;)
All courses were great green very smooth and fast and the green Super , who we met, knows what he is doing!!!
I would suggest this resort for pure value ! And the links feel of the gales is very neat!
The only downfall is lack of restaurants and a wee bit if a drive to the little town!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencertaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oscoda hotels
9.2 mi away
Huron House Bed and Breakfast
6.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
9.2 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#2 of 10 in Oscoda
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aspen Motor Inn
Aspen Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Oscoda
15 reviews
10.2 mi away
Gold Coast Family Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewood Shores Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewood Shores Golf Resort

Address: 7751 Cedar Lake Rd, Oscoda, MI 48750-9452
Region: United States > Michigan > Oscoda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oscoda
Number of rooms: 152

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing