We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most accommodating!”

Review of Fond Memories

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Oscoda, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jmanderso...
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
“Overgrown Lawn / 1ONE (Not two) Bathroom”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at the Fond Memories property for the Memorial Day weekend. And while Overall we enjoyed our time up north, there were a few things that were annoying. We were pretty disappointed to see that the grass had not been cut and was nearly a foot long, this was especially bothersome when we got a rain Sunday evening, it cleared quickly and we were able to build a bon fire, but the tall grass was soaked and so were we after having to walk through it to the fire pit . The house is comfy but has too much stuff, like personal stuff (clothing?) in the closets and such? There was also an issue of a couple of the dining room chairs were in very rough shape, a broken pool cue, things we were concerned we'd be blamed for? But no chance of that happening as our call and email to the property management elicited zero response. The check in instructions tell you to inspect the property and report your findings, I called and left a message and sent an email and have Still gotten No response from the management company.
My biggest complaint aside from the lawn, is that the property is advertised as a 2 bathroom, but it is Not. There is one full bathroom (dirty tub/hand held shower) and a camp like shower (only, no toilet or sink) off the garage at the top of the basement stairs. Can't say I'd never stay here again, but I'd try to find something better first...
I'd only recommend this property with caution.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review i did choose to respond via email to your concerns and hope that cleared any items up. Fond memories is a great property and has never had a complaint about the lawn until now. We did clarify that Trip advisors post that it is a two bath property however it is a 1 1/2 bath as we advertise on our direct site. We are not able to change what trip advisers posts. I did submit a ticket to them to perhaps change how they collect the data from our site. Hopefully that will clear up any issues. We are so sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Hello it is a beautiful quaint property and we agree a great view :)
We checked into the cleaning ourselves and found that they new cleaner missed the shower, and we recommended a dehumidifier for the garage area, it is a garage but perhaps that would help. In the future please let us know about any cleaning concerns as we would have had the independent contractor come back out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jon R
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
“Most accommodating!”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Just a great Thanksgiving weekend in this house. Cooked a Thanksgiving dinner there with no problems. Lots to do in the house just reading and taking in the view of the lake. Had a campfire Sunday morning, sipping coffee and taking in the day. Did some star gazing Saturday night. Will definitely rent again but would like a small boat to use. Went to various local sites hiking, and taking pictures. Nice area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house interior, and layout. Nice and homey.
Liked least: Audio system speakers are old and damaged from age
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing