We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paradise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Freighters View on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Clare, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a cooking cabin. The cabin was great-had everything that you need on a vacation along with a very peaceful setting. Cabin was very clean and comfortable. The owners were fantastic, always making sure that you are comfortable during your stay. They are very knowledgeable about the area, they made great suggestions on sights to see. The view from the sundeck is awesome-freighters, sunrise, ducks and you can also see over to Canada. If you are looking for serenity this is the place to be, but close enough to sight seeing. I would not hesitate to suggest to family and friends. We will definitely return. Had a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    21
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

On a motorcycle trip and found ourselves staying 4 days. Very nice. Nothing special but enjoyed our stay. Owner is very nice and knowledgeable. All units have carports. Nice for motorcycles. Great decks over the water.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaiserkorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We travel to Paradise every year to pick wild blueberries. We've stayed in a different place each time. Freighters has been our favorite. We had a cooking cabin and used the grill outside. The view was wonderful, and the owners also available.

The cabins are rustic, but are clean, comfortable and have everything you need. I will agree with the others who mentioned that screen doors would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This is a motel with only 4 rooms just outside of paradise. There are limited options in the area, but the location is good for whitefish point and the falls. There seemed to be a lot of rules for staying here, which worried me a bit, but in reality it was fine and the owners helpful and friendly. The rooms are pretty basic but very clean with a good sized fridge. We grilled out and sat on the dock. The property is right on the water. As it is rocky you have to climb down steps to the water if you are brave enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColumbusAnoymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is not a luxury hotel, nor did we expect it to be. It is a small place, only 4 units and it is in a tiny town. Two units have kitchenettes, two do not. Ours did not, but it still had a decent size refrigerator. Our room and bathroom were extremely clean and well maintained. There is a window looking out on the bay, and the owner gave us a website so we could see when freighters were coming into view. Outside, you can use picnic tables and grills, along with kayaks. You can swim, if you don't mind the cold water. Our room had two double beds and a small couch. We prefer firmer, larger beds, but for a couple days, we were fine. The owners also included a fan, which was very helpful at night. We were pleased to find satellite tv with loads of channels and high speed wireless internet. A screen door would be helpful, otherwise you can't leave the door open. The road is pretty close, so you do get some noise from vehicles passing, but it is quiet at night. The owners are super friendly, made us feel right at home. We've stayed at other places in town, but we liked this one the best. We'll go back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 16BandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Springs
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Ask to see the room first on this one as the motel is dated and extremely rustic, rough even, tiny window on Bay, tiny room,tiny bath. I would not recommend unless it was the last room available in area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
216 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

The lodging near Paradise is limited but I found Freighters on Tripadvisor, which was helpful. Their website is also a plus. We choose a kichenette unit which was tight to make meals but we managed. We used the BBQ one evening for dinner. My only suggestion to the owners would be to install screen doors.

The area around Paradise is nice to explore: The Shipwreck Museum and Tahquamenon Falls are a short drive away. Everyone we met was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rleNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Freighters View on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freighters View on the Bay

Property: Freighters View on the Bay
Address: 10346 N Whitefish Point Rd, Open Year Round, Paradise, MI 49768-9602
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful shores of Lake Superior's Whitefish Bay, Freighter's View offers you a unique opportunity to unwind, relax, and regenerate. We are a small motel with a cabin feel. Our decor is simple, comfortable, and clean. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing