We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel review”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paradise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curley's Paradise Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
New Franken
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Motel review”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Two of us couples stayed at this family run motel for one night. We paid extra for a view of the lake only to find out erosion has eliminated access to the lake and shore and mosquitoes also did their share of damage to keep us indoors throughout most of our visit. If you try to go to the office prior to 8:00 am they are closed and the restaurant next door opens at exactly 7:30 am. Life moves at its own pace in Paradise.

Room Tip: Don't spend any extra money for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    27
    18
    25
See reviews for
36
35
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PETOSKEY
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An old-fashioned drive up to the room Motel in Paradise. Located on the shores of Lake Superior. Gorgeous sunrise views. Clean rooms. Friendly owners. Affordable lodging. I found the beds comfortable. Within walking distance to the few restaurants in downtown Paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lbingamanPetoskey_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My fiance and I decided late on a Friday night to drive up to Paradise to snowmobile for the weekend. We looked online for a pet friendly motel in the area because we had just bought a Rottweiler puppy 5 days prior to our trip. We arrived at 5:30 am and Linda the owner was extremely welcoming and even offered to puppy sit while we went snowmobiling. Over the next 2 days , she checked in on our puppy, took her out and played with her. All I can say is this was a wonderful place to stay and Linda and her family were very much appreciated.We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfergirlforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clio, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Traveling with a dog leaves you limited in places to stay. Curley's is far from the best place we ever stayed, but also far from the worse.
In the middle of February, choices are limited, but it was warm, sheets were clean, lots of hot water and we had a good nights sleep.
In room frig., microwave, and coffee. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. I do feel it was a little pricy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I'll start with the positive, it's a nice location with a good view of Lake Superior and the front desk help was nice enough. And that's where it ends. The non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke, the bedding was stained, the blinds were broken, the walls were stained and had peeling paint, and one of the light fixtures had a burned out bulb. We stayed because it was getting late and there aren't many options in Paradise. After waking, I counted flies, mosquitoes, and spiders as some of our non paying "friends". Bombing it and rebuilding is the only way to fix it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caro, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were a little nervous to book a room here after reading the earlier reviews. Decided to go reserve a room and give it a chance as only needed to stay for 1 night. Not the place to go if you are planning on spending your time in the room...but we spend our time at the bar across the road (great burgers) and at the fire pits overlooking the lake. Beautiful location, the people in the office were very friendly and informative as to places to visit in the area. The bed was comfortable, the rest of the furniture was very well worn to put it nicely. Would stay again, but think we would go for one of the cabins. A housekeeper was kind enough to show us one she was cleaning in the morning when we were checking out and it appeared to be more updated than our room and had a picture window view out to the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCautious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Peoria, IL
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have mixed feelings about Curley's because the people are very nice, the location right on Whitefish Bay of Lake Superior is AWESOME and, therefore, worth the down side of this motel. We fed gulls, had a big fire in the firepit with other guests and had a WONDERFUL time with the perfect location/view here till late evening. This is an older motel that needs TLC & updating as well as better housekeeping/cleaning. Killed a few spiders in the room, cigarette burns in blankets, cobweb/spiderwebs in window sills, broken blinds...there you go...that's the down side. I'm not a "camper" so that was kind of roughin' it for me. However, the location-you MUST stay on the Lake side of this motel to appreciate it-is just about perfection. I enjoyed our night here so very much that I want to overlook what Curley's lacks. When you're this far north in the UP very close to Whitefish Point ... you do have very limited choices on places to stay and eat. You're there for the "experience" ... remember that, folks!

Room Tip: If you're staying at Curley's ... be SURE you get a room on the LAKE SUPERIOR/Whitefish Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Curley's Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curley's Paradise Motel

Property: Curley's Paradise Motel
Address: M-123 at Whitefish Point Rd, Paradise, MI 49768
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paradise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Curley`s Paradise Hotel Paradise
Curleys Paradise Hotel
Curleys Hotel Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing