We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were quite excited to open the door to our room and see that we had a full view of the lake with a balcony. The room was clean and spacious. Lobby also had great big windows with a beautiful view. There was a little private beach - too cold to swim, but peaceful setting with lawn chairs and soft sand. This is a great place to stay when planning to visit White Fish Point and the marine museum the next day, as these points of interest are just a few miles to the north.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and share it here on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide everyone with a great experience here at the Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise no matter what your interests are. But first and foremost, we guarantee all of our guests a clean, comfortable, relaxing, quiet place to stay while visiting the Paradise area. After a long day out visiting our beautiful attraction s, it is nice to be able to come back to the hotel and rest and relax for the next day’s events. That is most important to us here!

Again, on behalf of myself and my staff, I want to thank you again for all the nice things you have said about us and we hope to see you again soon!

Have a great day!
Laurie, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    103
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
126
153
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
clinton twp michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed on this property from 7/7 -7/10 and our stay was awesome. The front desk is friendly, helpful and very accomodating. The hotel itself is super clean and nicely decorated. We had a mini suite room with a frig and mircowave oven. Our room was a second floor on the lake and the view was unbelievable. The breakfast served in the morning was very good and the staff was awesome at keeping everything available right up to closing time. They also provide free coffee all day which was nice on the cool evenings. Contrary to other reviews we thought the Red Flannel bar/restraurant was very good. The food was like home cooked and the prices were reasonable. Certainly the location (just across the parking lot) was a nice surprise. The little ice cream shop was also pleasant. We would definitly stay again. Thanks for the great visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and share it here on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide everyone with a great experience here at the Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise no matter what your interests are. But first and foremost, we guarantee all of our guests a clean, comfortable, relaxing, quiet place to stay while visiting the Paradise area. After a long day out visiting our beautiful attraction s, it is nice to be able to come back to the hotel and rest and relax for the next day’s events. That is most important to us here!

Again, on behalf of myself and my staff, I want to thank you again for all the nice things you have said about us and we hope to see you again soon!

Have a great day!
Laurie, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Me, my wife, two girls and our disabled son stay two nights. We been coming to the area for many years. The staff was awesome, very friendly, very helpful from the desk staff to housekeeping. The room that we had was on the parking lot side which was fine by us. The beds were very comfortable, clean, warm sheets and comforters. The breakfast was very good. The pool, hot tub and sauna was very large. We loved that we could go to Whitefish Point, The Shipwreck Museum then ate at the Red Flannel Saloon. My family will be back hopefully in the fall to enjoy the colors. My wife got a great picture of the sun rise coming up over Whitefish bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and share it here on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide everyone with a great experience here at the Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise no matter what your interests are. But first and foremost, we guarantee all of our guests a clean, comfortable, relaxing, quiet place to stay while visiting the Paradise area. After a long day out visiting our beautiful attraction s, it is nice to be able to come back to the hotel and rest and relax for the next day’s events. That is most important to us here!

We are so thrilled that you and your family are return guests as that is the best compliment we can ever get. To know that you love coming here year after year tells us that you are always happy with your stay and expect the consistency you have always experienced.

Again, on behalf of myself and my staff, I want to thank you again for all the nice things you have said about us and we hope to see you again soon!

Have a great day!
Laurie, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauseon, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

It's the third time we've stayed at the Magnuson Hotel and we love it. The hotel has a nice pool, hot tub and sauna, which is nice after returning to the hotel after a days of adventuring. They have a great breakfast each morning including scrambled eggs, pancakes and sausage. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Shirley at the front desk is very helpful and always has a smile to share. She has been working there for years so she has great recommendations as far as where to eat and what to do. This was the first year we were there for the Fireworks and they were AWESOME... We thought they were better than Mackinaw Cities. We can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and share it here on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide everyone with a great experience here at the Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise no matter what your interests are. But first and foremost, we guarantee all of our guests a clean, comfortable, relaxing, quiet place to stay while visiting the Paradise area. After a long day out visiting our beautiful attraction s, it is nice to be able to come back to the hotel and rest and relax for the next day’s events. That is most important to us here!

I'm so happy you were able to see our fireworks! We love to spread the word about them as they are so great for such a little town to host. We have had many of our guests come back after seeing them for the first time with these jaw dropping expressions on their faces! I will also pass on to Shirley the wonderful things you said about her and I thank you for that!

Again, on behalf of myself and my staff, I want to thank you again for all the nice things you have said about us and we hope to see you again soon!

Have a great day!
Laurie, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very good hotel, and certainly the best in the little town of Paradise, MI. Lake view rooms are good, but be sure to specify that you want one with a BALCONY on either the 2nd or 3rd floor, otherwise people can walk by on the lawn and look into your room (and they did, but it was mostly little kids and their parents jumped on them, so no big deal). The sound deadening isn't all that good between floors, so the higher the better in all likelihood. Our stay on the 1st floor had some noise from above. Desk staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. Pool, hot tub, and sauna were all up to spec. Good breakfast! Overall, a good place that could be made a bit better with some attention to little details (some fresh paint in the rooms and halls, mow the grass a little more often, be more clear about what views are expected from each room by floor).

Room Tip: Get the highest lakeside room available - 3rd floor is best, 2nd is OK, 1st is on the grass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigDaddyEureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and share it here on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide everyone with a great experience here at the Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise no matter what your interests are. But first and foremost, we guarantee all of our guests a clean, comfortable, relaxing, quiet place to stay while visiting the Paradise area. After a long day out visiting our beautiful attraction s, it is nice to be able to come back to the hotel and rest and relax for the next day’s events. That is most important to us here!

I have read your remarks regarding the needed improvements you noticed and will discuss this with the owners and maintenance. We welcome any and all suggestions our guests have.

Again, on behalf of myself and my staff, I want to thank you again for all the nice things you have said about us and we hope to see you again soon!

Have a great day!
Laurie, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The location cannot be beat, I'll give you that. Located close to the state park and the shipwreck museum as well as directly on the lake providing an awesome view for lake front rooms. However, the bugs were unbelievable in the UP. Honestly, we could not leave our room to be outside without being swarmed. The patio would have been nice had we been able to sit out there without the bugs. A little maintenance was needed with the carpet outside that did not bother us, but the staff responded appropriately when notified at check out. Their breakfast was pretty tasty and had a nice variety of pastries.The linens were nice and soft, and the rooms were cleaned well. If staying in the area overnight, I assume this truly is the best option as far as hotels go.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and share it here on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide everyone with a great experience here at the Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise no matter what your interests are. But first and foremost, we guarantee all of our guests a clean, comfortable, relaxing, quiet place to stay while visiting the Paradise area. After a long day out visiting our beautiful attraction s, it is nice to be able to come back to the hotel and rest and relax for the next day’s events. That is most important to us here!

Unfortunately, we can do anything about the mosquitoes. I wish we could! Early summer is always the time when we see more of them and by now, July 21, they have decreased in numbers significantly. I hope you can come again and keep in mind that the later in the summer you can come the better as far as the mosquitoes go. We would love to know that you can come again when you will be able to enjoy our balconies.

Again, on behalf of myself and my staff, I want to thank you again for all the nice things you have said about us and we hope to see you again soon!

Have a great day!
Laurie, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was a great place to stay in a land of few opportunities. It was clean, up to date, and the pool and hot tub area were what we needed after a cool, damp day exploring. Breakfast was substantial enough to get us on our way. The staff was helpful in provided guidance and directions to dinner as the restaurant out front was closed the day we visited. They take pride in their property and it shows!

Room Tip: The lake views were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and share it here on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide everyone with a great experience here at the Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise no matter what your interests are. But first and foremost, we guarantee all of our guests a clean, comfortable, relaxing, quiet place to stay while visiting the Paradise area. After a long day out visiting our beautiful attraction s, it is nice to be able to come back to the hotel and rest and relax for the next day’s events. That is most important to us here!

Again, on behalf of myself and my staff, I want to thank you again for all the nice things you have said about us and we hope to see you again soon!

Have a great day!
Laurie, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise

Property: Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
Address: 8112 N M 123, Paradise, MI 49768-9800
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise! Enjoy convenient access to Tahquamenon Falls, Lake Superior and Whitefish Point Lighthouse while staying at this Paradise, Michigan hotel. Welcome to this lakefront Magnuson Grand Hotel where guests will receive exceptional customer service, unbeatable amenities and a fabulous location all for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy well-appointed guest rooms, some with balconies and water views, featuring satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Every morning guests are treated to a complimentary hot breakfast while looking out at a magnificent view of Whitefish Bay. To make traveling even easier, this Paradise, Michigan hotel comes equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, and sauna. Guest will especially enjoy the sandy beach located right on the hotel grounds plus convenient parking for large trucks and snowmobile trailers. We are also a Biker Friendly Hotel! The Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise is located close to where travelers want to be while visiting Paradise. Nestled on Lake Superior's Whitefish Bay, and with direct snowmobile trail access from their parking lot, guests will appreciate the location of this Paradise Magnuson Grand hotel while enjoying a variety of activities including snowmobiling, canoeing, kayaking, fishing, hiking, cross skiing, snow shoeing, and bird watching. No visit to Paradise is complete without visiting our famous local attractions such as Tahquamenon Falls, Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum, Whitefish Point Lighthouse, and the Whitefish Point Bird Observatory. What's more, we will often host guests in town attending our annual Blueberry Festival, 2 annual winter festivals or to participate in the Tahquamenon Trail Run, or the Tahquamenon Wilderness Canoe. The friendly, knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Paradise, Michigan. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paradise
Paradise Best Western
Best Western Lakefront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing