We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Suites
Ranked #3 of 11 Pentwater B&B and Inns
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Look somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel needs a lot of "work." The staff wasn't very pleasant, didn't make us feel welcome, give us information about breakfast, etc. When the family members we were traveling with asked if they could move to another room (due to outside noise) they were told the hotel was full. However, when we went to get something out of our car after midnight, the parking lot wasn't even half full. We were pretty sure she just didn't want to make the effort to move them. Breakfast was good, food-wise, but the room lacked any kind of atmosphere. The tables were like the tables used at a reception and the food serving area was set up poorly. All in all, I would highly recommend looking elsewhere-not a good value at all for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    47
    33
    23
    11
See reviews for
75
60
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have been going to this hotel for several years and it continually progresses down the ladder. The local residents use the pool for an exercise class, leaving paying guests waiting for over an hour to use it in the morning, then the pool not cleaned afterwards. The gym equipment in rusted and not useable. The grounds are covered with goose droppings so you can't even walk on the grass around the pond or chip golf balls. About 20 geese inhabit the grounds. All this during prime Michigan vacation time. Real bad experience. PASS THIS HOTEL BY. Good money wasted. Clerk Sara was sympathetic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noalen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pentwater hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

The good news was, there were no ants in our room. That's probably because of the GIANT ANT TRAP that greeted us upon entering our room.

Pros: the staff here is incredibly friendly. Can't say enough about how pleasant they were during our stay.

Cons: this is an older hotel with very basic ammenities. The walls are paper thin so don't expect to get much rest. Lots of college age kids staying here for the beach. Also lots of annebriated college kids roaming the halls at night.

As long as you don't have high expectations and don't mind basic amenities, this hotel is probably fine for a night or two. Don't expect any services or things to do at the hotel because there aren't any.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I recently traveled to Pentwater for a relatives wedding. Our room and the hotels public areas were very clean. We enjoyed the free wifi, and worked great and was plenty fast. The TV in our room was an older tube TV but the picture was great and it worked without a hitch. The bathroom was a good size, the shower had good water pressure. The extra vanity sink just outside the bathroom was an unexpected nice touch. Beds were comfortable and the AC worked well in our room. The only complaint i have with this property is that the pool and hot tub were overran with unsupervised children every day we were there. I had planned to enjoy the hot tub and exercise facility while we stayed here but it never happened due to the 15+ loud unruly kids running amok every time I tried to enter. Overall a nice stay and i would stay here again on a return trip to beautiful Pentwater.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here on a recent Sunday evening, and it is clean, comfortable, and the location is nice. Just off the highway, but far enough off to be quiet. The check in was quick, though not terribly friendly, however, that seems to be a Michigan trait at the hotels we have stayed in in this state. As a Gold level member of the Choice loyalty club we got a HUGE upgrade to the room. That was very nice. In fact, we had a whirlpool suite that was possibly the largest hotel room we have ever had.
My one complaint is that the internet says full hot breakfast, and if you are lucky, you may get something to eat. We got down to breakfast about 8am. There was no coffee to be had. Some of the other travelers had eggs and sausage on their plates, but there were none left. I thought I'd have cereal, but there was no milk left in the carafes. The gravy for biscuits was empty as well, but no biscuits either. There was no attendant, so no attempt being made to ensure food was available. I did find a small cup of yogurt. Breakfast is a nice feature when provided by a hotel, but I would rather they just say "breakfast on your own", so we'd know to plan to eat elaswhere. There were not many guests, so it seemed they could have kept up.
Should we be in the area again, we would stay here, but skip breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seniorcoupleluvtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Very clean and affordable hotel. Our hockey group stayed for a weekend hockey tournament in nearby Ludington. I requested some extra hot water as I had planned a hot chocolate bar for the boys after a game. As requested, the ladies had put out pots of hot water. When we ran low, they filled us up again. Not a problem giving us 3 room keys as some other hotels. One for the kids and one for each parent. The breakfast had waffle maker, eggs, biscuits and gravy. A bit more than most free hotel breakfasts. We would love to stay here again for any more Ludington tournaments and will look into staying this summer with just the family.
A special thank you to Jessica for waiting on us. The boys had a great time.

Room Tip: The suites are very, very roomy and not much more on price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbill97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Located near the Michigan shore and Ludington, this is an older Comfort Inn that could use an update. Rooms are large and comfortable, with dated decor and old bedspreads that saw their best days years ago. A free basic continental breakfast and free Wifi are adequate for a short stay.

There is a pool and hot tub, although the hot tub was out of order when I was there. Be aware that the hotel rents the pool out to local residents for pool exercise classes in the morning, and you'll be kicked out. Staff were sympathetic to complaints about the pool situation, but stated that they were powerless to remedy it and had complained to the manager about it themselves.

This is an ok hotel with indifferent service in a convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blanker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentwater
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
9.3 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
10.3 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Suites

Property: Days Inn Suites
Address: 7576 S Pere Marquette Hwy, Pentwater, MI 49449-8787 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Pentwater)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Pentwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pentwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Pentwater
Comfort Inn & Suites Pentwater Hotel Pentwater
Best Western Pentwater
Pentwater Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing