We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful In Every Way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stafford's Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stafford's Bay View Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Petoskey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful In Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We have been travelling to the area for over 20 years and this was the first year we stayed at the Bayview Inn. The entire experience was excellent. If you appreciate the old world charm of a B&B from the era of the Bayview Inn you will not be disappointed. The veranda is a great place to unwind and the sunsets can be viewed from a wonderful garden setting just steps away. The food was exceptional and we would highly recommend their Sunday brunch. Every staff member we encountered could not have been more friendly and accommodating. We look forward to a return visit and would highly recommend this to anyone heading to the Petosky\Harbor Springs area. We also recommend the Pier restaurant in Harbor Springs.....owned by the same company.....they clearly know how to hire the right people, and pay attention to customer service.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JDeneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    40
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
40
136
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC Metro area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

For all of those reviewers who wrote that this place is old fashioned and needs updating, you totally missed the point of a 19th century inn! Saying this place is "charming" doesn't do it justice. It is a throw back to yesterday when times were simpler and all you wanted to do is sit in a wicker rocking chair, sipping coffee while looking over Little Traverse Bay who's bright blue coloring reminds you of tales you've heard from travelers to the Caribbean. No, it's not a Hilton but that's why it's fun. Sunday brunch is not to be missed and the cookies they leave you on your bed are delicious. My family has been coming to this area of Michigan for over half a century and would recommend the Bay view Inn to anyone looking to experience Northern Michigan in its finest.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Rotary Club of Petoskey meets here for its weekly meeting. Rotarians are supposed to attend the meeting of another club when they miss their own club meeting and my wife and I are both Rotarians and attended their meeting. The lunch was very good, the Inn is beautiful, and has a great view of the lake. The only downside was we asked the staff for directions to something less than a mile away and they had no idea where it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

If you want to hang around a place that has decorating like your great grandma, floors that are super uneven and creekity, bed blankets that smell like dirty feet, very little light in the bathrooms, an old elevator that may chop your fingers off when you close the iron door, no tv in rooms, no music in rooms, no ac except the wall unit that is noisy as hell, the breakfast room looks like an old folks home-this is your place to stay. The have a library that really is not a library. I did not see any one there below the age of 80. The staff is helpful though. The food is totally ordinary. I thought,the place was depressing and needs updating horribly. They can advertise HISTORICAL all they want but my hunch is, it's because they don't want to spend the money to upgrade anything. ugh! We left is hotel early because you cant sleep in a hot room with a wall AC -shshshsushing- all night long. They do have a great map they give you upon check with your hotel key in it- though that folds out and displays very nicely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVI1886, Manager at Stafford's Bay View Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Debra S
Thank you for being a guest at Stafford’s Bay View Inn and for taking the time to share your experience with the followers of Trip Advisor. We sincerely apologize that our Inn did not meet your expectations in several areas. Perhaps there was a lack of communication on our part or our marketing efforts did not present our property to you as you expected.
We often describe our property as a bit of “Grandma’s House” as you pointed out. We do have creaks and squeaks as one might expect to have at over 120 years old. We have intentionally kept this as part of our character as you might find in many comparable New England inns.
As one might imagine adding modern amenities to an 1886 building continues to present challenges. All of our dining and meeting rooms have air conditioning and all of our guestrooms have some form of air conditioning as well. Because there was not space to install a lot of duct work we use a lot of surface mounted units in the guest rooms and other spaces to keep them comfortable. We apologize that the unit in your particular room was noisy. We do not receive many complaints about this and we do our best to relocate guests when we can.
The elevator is more of a lift that allows our guests who are not able to use the stairs to have access to our guest room floors. It is not intended to be an elevator in the commercial sense of size and appearance.
It is true that many of our guests are more mature and many have returned to our inn for generations. The tone of your commentary seemed a bit put off by this while commenting on our second floor library. This room is more of a gathering area for our guests with a television and complementary beverage station. We find that our guests enjoy interacting with each other in these areas of the inn and couples tell us they have developed lifelong friendships from such meetings.
Once again we apologize that our inn was a disappointment to you and we wish you happy travels in the future.
Sincerely,
S. Reginald Smith, Vice President.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My family and I have stayed at Stafford's Bay View Inn for years when in Petoskey. We enjoy the old house, the cozy library space, the relatively quiet and relaxed pace, and the proximity to the garden and Little Petoskey Bay. The inn has bikes for guests to use, and a bike trail that runs for miles up the lakeshore is right next to the hotel. There is croquet, Adirondack chairs are strategically placed on the lawn, the porch is large and shady, and it too has a great view. The breakfasts are included in the room price and there is usually something for everyone available on the menu, which ranges from eggs Benedict to oatmeal. And, yes, they include huge chocolate chunk, cherry cookies in every room. There's even a bar--a rarity in the small Chautauqua type community of Bay View.

Our only quibbles would be relatively small. When we started coming, there were always interesting magazines about the place--which have now been largely replaced with the local tourist advertisement glossies. Not that anyone might miss the magazines in these days of electronic readers, but they did add to the homey feel of the place. Similarly, the library used to be stocked with books ranging from classics to more recent novels. On our most recent visit, none of the more interesting classic pieces remained. The only selection on the bookshelf now is rather poor fare, prompting those who want a good read to go find it at the nearby bookstores (and there are a couple of fine ones) downtown. Again, this comment is more about the general atmosphere than anything else--the satisfaction of having that copy of Willa Cather in your inn and at your fingertips is not for everyone. The library is often used these days for its television in any case. (There are no televisions, neither are there telephones, in the rooms.)

The place is generally clean, the staff helpful and congenial, and the experience smacks of upscale competence, if not quite inspiration. But as I've stated, I only quibble a bit because I have been coming here for so long, and have watched small changes occur here and there. The fact that I have returned time and again should, in and of itself, constitute my endorsement. Peaceful (especially on the higher priced lake side), restful, and convenient to Petoskey, Bay View, and Harbor Springs. If you come here, you can find cheaper, but you won't find the complete old-fashioned experience packaged quite so comprehensively, or done nearly so well.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms cost much more, but are probably worth it. Road side rooms can be nice in the off s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qipapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Loved this bed and breakfast, the best staff, great room with a view, incredible clean and spacious,and the best cookies ever provided to us each day.
Love this place so much I booked for next year already.
We have stayed here several times, it is always a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroeville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Mr. Stafford himself was carving ham and roast beef at the unbelievable breakfast buffet Sunday morning over the 4th of July holiday weekend at one of his 5 hotel/restaurant locations, The Stafford's Bay View Inn is an 18th century, beautifully maintained and in some cases updated building! It sits on the coast line of Lake Michigan in Petoskey Bay. The service is impeccable, warm, and very deliberate. Please check out their web site for pictures. The beds are amazingly soft, lux, and the view of the bay when your stationed in a room at the back side of the Inn are grand to say the least. You are greeted with two large home baked cookies in your room and antique furnishings and amenities through out. Stay, enjoy, and leave a big fan like we did! *We loved it so much on our first visit last Labor Day weekend we came back for the 4th and eloped!

Room Tip: Request facing the Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.4 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
2.9 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Bay View Inn

Property: Stafford's Bay View Inn
Address: 2011 Woodland Ave, Petoskey, MI 49770-5069
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Bay View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Bay View Inn offers guests the grace and romance of a bygone era, set against the exquisite views of Little Traverse Bay. Some of Northern Michigan's finest dining can be experienced in our Roselawn Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stafford's Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford`s Bay View Hotel Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing