We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but pricey!”

Chandler's A Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Chandler's A Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 101 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Petoskey, Chandler's - A Restaurant is a cozy and inviting place nestled behind Symons General Store. Chef Tommy creatively crafts seasonal menus and daily specials which offer a delightful selection of local fare, fresh fish, sushi and entrees prepared to perfection. We also proudly feature an extensive wine list and fun and unique cocktails such as the "Howard Street Punch" and "Awesome Coffee", that is sure to please any palate. For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in our Wine Cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both Chandler's and Symons General Store. Our Wine Cellar seats up to 54 guests and is available for private parties and special events. Enjoy live music every Friday and Saturday evening and in the summertime, dine on our outdoor patio and enjoy evening, live music every night of the week.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice but pricey!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

After bypassing the $60 steak, we both had small plates - me the Farmer's Plate sampling pate, sausage, olives and more, Delicious! Also very good calimare. YUM. Lovely outdoor atmosphere, but quite expensive. Don't take the kids.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank msucarole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    76
    25
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Called ahead for a reservation which was a good idea as they were busy. Great food and service. Kinda cramped in a cozy sort of way on the inside. Outside dining was available also.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great to be back to Chandler's. I love the ambiance: intimate, hip, energetic. We were there for dinner, but my appetite was a bit off, so I just had the foie gras and a cheese platter. The foie gras was great and the cheese platter was killer. Our waiter was young and not particularly experienced, but couldn't have been nicer and more willing to please. The vino was great and a good time was had by all. Certainly will go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amigodecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad experience”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Calamari was tough inside and soggy outside, flavorless salmon sushi roll with too much mayo, weight staff was inattentive and rude, tablecloth was very wrinkled, too loud to have a conversation, tables way too crowded. We spend our summers in Petoskey and always disappointed. Overpriced and poor quality!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another real good time at Chandlers”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stopped for lunch again and were even able to get an outside table without a wait. This place if very popular and not very large. We ordered soup and split a sandwich. The soup was incorrect but quickly changed to the right one. As always the food and service were very good and the atmosphere gives you that feeling of being in a little bistro. You should try this place when shopping downtown Petoskey.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chandler's A Restaurant also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Chandler's A Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing