We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite coffee shop and hopefully yours”
Review of Roast & Toast

Roast & Toast
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My favorite coffee shop and hopefully yours”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I love coming to the Petoskey area during the summers and vacation would not be vacation without stopping in at Roast and Toast for a morning coffee and a bite to eat. They have several varieties of coffees in carafes, which provides me the opportunity to try several types including Free Trade Sumatran, Burundi, Mexican, Costa Rican, and on. My wife likes Chai Latte's, which are very good, and they usually have great cinnamon rolls, bagels, and other goodies. They also have a self serve oatmeal where you have the opportunity to add dried cherries, raisins, brown sugar, etc. It is in an old building downtown which contributes to the eclectic decor. Look around the shop (up high) and you will see portraits of the various employees that were drawn by a regular guest. You can sit inside or out back on the deck, which has some views of the lake.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulsaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    119
    33
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Coffee lovers!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great cappuccino and caffe latte served at this establishment! They have a large menu for a little treat for breakfast or a big breakfast. It is very busy! They also serve lunch and dinner. Wonderful coffee!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberlyZ733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good Food, Unique People Watching”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Good lunch option for young and old alike, wide variety of sandwiches, soups, salads. Always busy but lines seems to move quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Uraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, not much atmosphere.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My family of four had lunch consisting of sandwiches, chips, and soup. All were great, but the lentil soup was outstanding! Coffee was delicious as well. Staff courteous and efficient. The seating area is a little dark and cold. When we were there, the outside temperature was about 70 yet the A/C was on and they had giant fans blowing on the patrons, not good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stopped for breakfast. It was 10, very busy, and stayed very busy the whole time we were there. It's just a little coffee shop but they offer lots of food choices for breakfast and lunch. I had a huge, heated cinnamon roll and my husband had one of their baked egg breakfast sandwiches. Both were good. You just stand in line and place you order and wait until called. No wait staff. We would stop again if in the area. It was slow but then it was packed too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roast & Toast also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Roast & Toast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing