We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One the the finest KOA's we have stayed at.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petoskey KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petoskey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Petoskey KOA
Dowagiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“One the the finest KOA's we have stayed at.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stayed at the KOA over the Memorial Day weekend every year for the past 6 years and will keep going back. The grounds are beautiful and the staff goes the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay. They have all the amenities: pool, wi-fi, cable, cafe, gift shop and camping cabins. It is surrounded by trees and every site has something special to offer. It is located just north of Petoskey and so it is close to any other activities you may want. Check this place out, it is awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank blbuszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    19
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
51
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

A nights stay is $59 for 2 people with an additional $3 per person even if its a child. Are you kidding me? The site my 37 ft trailer was put onto was the size of a sardine can. All else was fine. Would I go back? Only if I really needed full-hookup. For 3-4 days I would be at the beautiful Petoskey State Park in a heartbeat

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfman090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This KOA is managed like a five star resort. The check in process is quick and efficient, staff friendly and helpful. The property is spotless, from the restrooms/showers to the fenced in dog park. An added bonus is their on site grill that offers burgers, snacks and ice cream at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I were privileged to spend a night at the Petoskey KOA in July,2013. We were in the area on a vacation and my 40th high school reunion was being held in southern Michigan. This is one of the best KOAS I've ever stayed at. One feature which I really like is the private toilet which also has a shower, a complete self contained unit. Also our tent site had a table which was covered with convenient electrical outlets. The breeze off Lake Michigan was very nice at night. I bought firewood and a very nice staff person delivered it to us. This is my second stay at this KOA and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JERRY U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were planning on spending a few days in Traverse City, Michigan in our motorhome, but while were in Wisconsin a fellow camper told us about the KOA in Petoskey and suggested we check it out. I'm so glad he did.

We're from Virginia and had never heard of Petoskey or Harbor Springs Michigan. It's a gem of a place.

The KOA campground was very clean and the staff were very friendly. They recommended things to do in the area and all the suggestions were great.

Our site was level and the hook-ups worked just fine. We had a fire pit and a grill and a very nice picnic table.

I liked the showers and the store was pretty well stocked.

If I had to point out the negatives of the campground, I'd have to say that the free wifi is pretty weak for a "resort" campground, and the pool is a bit small for the size of the campground. But neither issues were so bad that we wouldn't camp there again.

If you're thinking of checking out northern Michigan, this is a great place to stay. Nearby Petoskey State Park has a beautiful beach with amazing sunsets. It's about an hour or less to Mackinaw City, where you can catch a ferry to Mackinac Island for the day. Another hour north and you can check out Sault Ste. Marie and the locks. About 80 miles or so south is Traverse City and Sleeping Bear Dunes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank want2Bontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is our second stay at this KOA.We stayed for a month at the KOA. We had an excellent site and the grounds were maintained well. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My only criticism is they could have had activities and events planned on the weekends for adults other than Bingo. Most other campgrounds we have stayed in, of the same quality, have dances, events, etc. every weekend, and many other activities during the week.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ArbieEffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is our second time to this KOA. As KOA's go, it is one of the nicest and best kept. It is fully paved, including each site. Sites are level, with the service connections well maintained and convenient. The staff are all very nice and friendly and helpful. It's also very well staffed, so there is always someone riding around on one of the golf carts to assist if you need it. It is more expensive then most other KOA's, but it's also much nicer. This is definitely one of those times when "you get what you pay for" is true. They also have sites for every desire. If you want shade, they have it, you want partial sun, no problem. If you want to be out in full sun, there are plenty of spots for that as well. The pool and hot tub are well kept, and look like something you'd want to be in without being concerned you'll pick up something you'll take home with you. The camp store is nicely stocked with most items you'd want for a camping trip, if you forgot them. There is a pancake breakfast for five dollars on the summer weekends, which is exactly what you'd expect for a five dollar breakfast. It's not exceptional, but not vile either. I wouldn't do it again, but also didn't regret doing it. They also have a small cafe where you can get pizza and ice cream and some other things. Again, not the greatest of fare, but for a snack, it's nice to have and convenient, and not overwhelmingly priced. But then again, if you're going to a KOA thinking the food is going to be knock out , you should probably be somewhere else. If you do want great food however, there is a Mediterranean restaurant (Mims) across the street from the entrance that does have it, and is worth the stop. (Bret does a great job and is already TripAdvisor approved.)

Overall, this is a really nice campground. The first time we stopped, it was on the route and had no idea what to expect. The second trip was specifically to return to the KOA and Petoskey. The first trip, it ended up raining and we really didn't get to see much of Petoskey, so we wanted to go back and enjoy both the campground and Petoskey. It was worth the trip and we had a very nice time. And even if it does rain, this KOA doesn't turn into a mud-hole like most KOA's that aren't paved and don't have grass that is actually growing. This also makes it nice, even if the weather isn't. And if the weather doesn't end up being nice, there is always the Kilwin's Chocolate factory a mile down the street that you can tour and sample all kinds of REALLY good stuff. That by itself could make the trip completely worth it!

Room Tip: The 200 section is much better since it is off to the side, away from the main run of the entrance a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank UncTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
4.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.3 mi away
Super 8 Petoskey
Super 8 Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petoskey KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petoskey KOA

Property: Petoskey KOA
Address: 1800 N. U.S. Hwy. 31, Petoskey, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petoskey KOA is located minutes from the shoreline of beautiful Lake Michigan in an area that is known for canoeing, kayaking, hiking and biking. The campground offers a heated swimming pool, volleyball, horseshoes, small restaurant and planned activities for the children. We have full hookup RV sites along with tent sites and numerous types of cabins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing