We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views nice dinner”
Review of Palette Bistro

Palette Bistro
Ranked #1 of 102 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views nice dinner”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped in with our two young daughters on a Saturday night. We got outdoor seating on the patio. The staff was very nice and accommodating. We had excellent salads and our small plates were delicious. An amazing chocolate desert that was like a molten lava cake. This place is well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chays77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    95
    34
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Fine Evening”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This is my third time at this Bistro. Our first visit was excellent on every level. Second visit was marred by a truly bad paella. This time--the first with our adult kids being with us--things were all on track. We had a nice table with a bay view on a pretty Saturday evening. Appetizers of polenta with sausage and toast points with tomato jam were good. My wife and son got the tenderloin and were treated to a generous cut of meltingly tender beef served with a rich and deep Demi-glacé sauce. My daughter had the coconut shrimp pasta but found it a bit too sweet even as the shrimp in question were the tiny rock shrimp that were not very numerous. I tried the paella again and this time it was spot on. Palette definitely knows how to cook even though reviews here on Trip Advisor and my own experience tells me that consistency on the cooking line is where perhaps a bit of work is needed. But I would give this place a try anytime I could!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Customer Service SUPREME,”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

While visiting the Harbor Springs, MI area during last week of July-2014, Stopped in the Palette Bistro in Petoskey, MI without reservations for early dinner and were greeted and seated with the most gracious attention. After being seated we spotted a table with a better view of the bay (Little Traverse Bay) and requested it. Although the table we requested had been reserved for another party that was due to arrive in 90 minutes we were cheerfully seated without delay.
We ordered some beers from the various local microbreweries on the menu with knowledgeable and patient assistance from our server/waiter.
I ordered the Paella and found it to be slightly undercooked. I was told it was not under cooked a matter of taste or preference. I "went along" with the explanation and it was promptly taken back to be cooked some more. The recipe was a little short on saffron and the mussels under cooked. It was "ok".
IN GENERAL- My companions were very satisfied as we dined and drank with a great view of the bay.
I recommend that anyone visiting for dinner request a reservation at the table with the best view of the bay that would add an additional treat to a very nice dining experience.
Enjoy - Buen Provecho.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad service.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We got here Monday at 18:50 ish. The hostess told us that we have to wait about 30 min. So we put our name than come back 30 min later. They have other couple infront of us. She told them 30min waiting. When I aproched her she told me another 30min waiting???come on!! She does not know how to read a time or she may think we are not qualified for that restaurant. She could have just told us they have a long waiting list or three people is not a good number.. Something honest is better customer service.
By the way there are a couple of empty tables were available on the patio the entire time we ate right next door at a different restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xraygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not going back !”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

4 friends and myself went for dinner Aug 1st. Drinks were delicious. Appetizers, fine. Dinner was a nightmare. My meal was fantastic, the special of bbq rubbed pork. But the rest of my friends, horrible. They all ordered different meals that had risotto in it. One friends was so overly cooked that the starch melted in a disgustingly manner in our mouths (we all tried it) The 2 other meals, I did not sample since there was seafood in it. But they both said it was awful and un edible. One friend ordered just shrimp and they were the size of a nickle. The 3 meals were taken care of. What a total disapointment !!!! All of us agreed that will never be a repeat custome,r if we head up to that area for vacation again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanies210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palette Bistro also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Palette Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing