We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most excellent lunch!”
Review of American Spoon

American Spoon
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“A most excellent lunch!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

On Day #10 of our Lake Michigan Circle Tour brought us to Petoskey where our choice for lunch was again based on Internet research. It proved to be an excellent one.

It appears to not be very old with an interesting exterior and nicely designed interior. It might be properly called an “upscale” eatery; the word yuppie comes to mind. My wife ordered a chicken sandwich. It was open faced and made with rye bread tartine with radish, spring onion, fava beans, crispy skin buttermilk & tarragon. (The “copy & paste” feature sure is handy, isn’t it?). Her sandwich came with glazed green beans.

I had a sandwich called "Salumi", made with proscuitto, capicola, soppresata, provolone, chili jam and kale. The chili jam made it a bit messy but the toasted, crusty bread did not get soggy. In a word, my sandwich was awesome - very likely the best I have had in my entire life. My side was a somewhat unusual presentation of potato salad - a bit different but very tasty.

We each had a two-flavored gelato for dessert. My wife picked chocolate almond and something called zabagalione. I chose banana creme caramel and toasted marshmellow.

While a bit more expensive than a lot of places, the quality of the food, and its presentation was first rate (the food described above plus lemonade and ginger ale cost 42 bucks, including tax and gratuity). We would not hesitate to eat here again should we happen by this place in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joan&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    45
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant find for lunch”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Out side seating was charming as it is next to a small shady park with lovely walnut trees. Iced coffee was delicious on a hot day. Burger was yummy (how can you miss with tasty bun, cheddar and bacon, apple and onion chutney). Every thing was fresh.Service was a little spotty....we never did get a glass of water we requested, which was strange as the waitress with a water pitcher asked us twice but we had no glasses!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Visiting Petoskey, MI is always fun and bring us great memories. In July we stopped in the American Spoon Cafe. We have always known American Spoon for their great cherries and fruit but had not stopped in for their food. Our lunch consisted of two sandwiches-the white fish and the turkey. The Whitefish was fresh and flavorful and came with a great cucumber dill salad. Turkey sandwich actually tasted like turkey. The staff told us it was from a turkey roasted that morning ! It too was very good.
The restaurant had a very nice selection of wines, all reasonably priced. And the service was outstanding. The restaurant lives up to their motto "Home grown and Hand crafted." This is a must go when you are in Petoskey. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnrkesslerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great White North
Level Contributor
95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delightful, Terrific Service, But/And, Eclectic”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What do you care about my blather? I'm kinda gettin' bored of myself. But I'm fixated on not getting ripped off by overpriced restaurants with average food, and love it when people direct me to really good places. This is a REALLY GOOD PLACE, not 5 star but a solid 4. A very limited but sufficient menu, everything very tasty, stiff prices, but hey!, it's the GWN (Great White North, aka, middle of no place, so so much has to be brought in vast distances, possible today, no problemo, but $$$$. Full but/and limited bar, no Dewars but 12 year old Balvenie, single malt, decent pour, NOT overpriced. They have one other more expensive singler, why bother?

Having earlier in the day gorged on other GWN delicacies (whitefish) we just had $$$$ entrees - tortellini, ok, nothin' to write home about but very good, and the beef of the day was Short Ribs, like no short ribs I've ever had, yes, they were fatty (they're short ribs!) but it was easy to trim away the fat if you don't like it (I don't) and what was left was ABSOLUTE HEAVEN, so tender and fragrant and yummily. Our frienz had a terrific salad, split, and a terrific Lake Trout. THE LOAF OF BREAD IS NOT TO BE BELIEVED IT IS SO GOOD, and the butter is farm fresh and augmented with just a taste of sea salt (not as good as in Paris, but very fine).

Here we were at American Spoon's wonderous gelato bar and skipped on dessert, but we get cones and cups often enough to justify this move. So about that service? Essex of Wessex is over 65 and has NEVER seen this happen before: our server approached the table with the bottle of Balvenie Scotch, unrequested; he said,there's so little left in the bottle, did we want it, gratis, with the restaurant's compliments? Huh? It IS 2013, right? Nobody's really very nice these days, are they? But our server and ASFC, they ARE! So here's what we did - we told him to enjoy the spirits and let us take the cool bottle home, which (1) IS what happened, and (2) the bottle is now on our bar, filled with Dewars. Who's gonna tell? Better yet, who's gonna know, or even better, care? We gave the server an extra $5 for his spirit, his service was always way way better than average.

Can't guarantee any deals for you, but you will have a wonderful, fun, informal, elegant, delicious meal, and if you've been good to your waistline all day, you'll love the gelato!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank essexofwessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in northern Michigan”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

This is by far my favorite restaurant in northern Michigan. The smoked whitefish appetizer is to die for - I actually had it as my entree. The chicpee fritters are a must. Great cocktails and the best gelato on this side of the Atlantic. Add the picturesque setting overlooking a park and you've got a perfect evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieRGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Spoon also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to American Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing