We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite perfect, but good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent five nights at the Hampton Inn. The location was convenient to downtown. Our room was clean and we had plenty of thick towels. When one of the neighboring rooms turned on their bathroom air vent, it was loud and our floor vibrated noticeably. We were offered another room, but chose to stay. The next to the last morning I was awakened before 6 am with a sanitation truck emptying the dumpster right outside of our window. One would think that there would be a more acceptable time to do this. We would have liked to have had a refrigerator in the room. And yes, the one elevator is slow and the pool had too much chlorine.

We found the hotel clean. There was coffee and tea available all day and cookies in the late afternoon. Snacks and drinks were sold in the lobby. The hot breakfast was good. We found the staff friendly and helpful from the front desk to the kitchen. In spite of the negatives mentioned above, we would definitely stay here again. We would however ask for a bayside room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank patriciabA2753PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our family visited this area to go to Mackinaw Island and Whitefish Point, MI. We booked a family suite which had bunk beds and a bigger room. My son had a hard time sleeping on the bunk bed because he said he keep feeling the bed move. We finally figured out that you can hear and feel walking down the halls, sinks, and toilets being flushed from other rooms. We had a room that was on the 4th floor towards the west side of the hotel. Every morning at 6AM a few recycling trucks come to dump their loads in the dumpsters right in front of our room. This woke us up each day!:( We had to change rooms on the third night to a King Suite on the east side of the hotel and did not hear the trucks on that side of the hotel. Each suite was cleaned, but not to my standards. The second room had a ton of black hair in the shower and on the bathroom floor. After cleaning up, I would find another piece and was grossed out. The towels in these rooms are described to be "fluffy" but our were thin and worn. These need replaced for sure! The woman that takes care of the breakfast has many opinions about how much food you take. She told my son, " taking another plate!?" He was making a plate of food for his parent that was still getting ready in the morning, so we were not pleased with this comment to say the least!! The pool has way too much chlorine and the area is not too clean either. One thing that really annoyed me was the elevator carpet floor was very filthy along with the entry carpet to the hotel. For $225 per night, these should be cleaned on a daily basis. We were there four days and they were never touched. There aren't that many places in the area to stay, but we plan to look at other options if we go back in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd or 4th floor room on the EAST SIDE to avoid the 6AM recycling dumpster trucks that wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennellemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently returned from a short road trip up to Petoskey. We stayed at the Hampton Inn because we always have had wonderful service with Hampton Inns. This time it was exceptional. After a long day of sightseeing and relaxing at the beach we got back to our hotel in the late evening. We turned on the TV and for some reason it would not work. We informed the front desk the next morning and the wonderful desk clerk we dealt with told us that our whole nights stay was free since the TV was not working and the Hilton hotels have a "100%" guarantee!! You can image our surprise and delight!! Also all the staff we encountered were great!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank LLP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family stayed at the Hampton Inn for 4 nights. We had a queen family suite - 2 queen beds and a set of bunk beds, which my son loved. We had a nice view of the bay - sure the hotel looked out onto the roof of the strip mall next door, but we were on the 3rd floor and if you ignore that and look just a little further - beautiful view, especially of the sunset. We had a balcony as well, just perfect. The room was larger than others we stayed at - had a small fridge and microwave, which was nice - we were able to eat a few meals in the room. The breakfast was not as good as other hotels, but it was adequate. They always had yogurt, fruit, bread/muffins/bagels, cereal, and always had a hot dish - like scrambled eggs, etc.. The eggs were pretty descent considering they have to cook large amounts and that doesn't always equate into good flavor or texture. The pool was average - not too big, but my son and husband used it 4 of the 5 days we were here. There is a hot tub and the pool room has many windows and some views of the bay as well. The location is minutes to downtown and was very convenient. The lobby was nice, free coffee all day long, and it was very clean and staff were friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ebaysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On a trip from Bayfield, WI, over to Port Austin, MI, we stayed at Petoskey for one night. It's a nice little town and we knew the Hampton Inn from a previous trip. Not the cheapest place, but a very good hotel with an excellent breakfast! Can be recommended with no restrictions!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Otto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went up to Petoskey for a golfing weekend. This hotel was in a great location, right on 31 & 131. The room was quite clean and comfortable. The hot breakfast every morning was delicious, and had a great variety. The staff was very helpful with directions to get around town so we could go check out the downtown shopping district, brewery and golf courses too. This is a great place to stay! You won't be sorry if you choose to stay here!

Room Tip: Pick an even number room on the 3rd or 4th floor for a view of Little Traverse Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sportmom1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Hampton Inn Petoskey and the hotel is typical Hampton fare, which is a good thing. Clean, comfortable well appointed rooms. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices. The hotel is unique in that you enter the hotel on the second floor due to it being built on the side of a hill. If you get a first floor room you have to go down a flight. One side of the hotel has great views of Lake Michigan.

We stayed two nights but since we were on a motorcycle trip exploring the area we checked out and as we traveled the next day decided to return. We had a couple of issues but each was handled promptly and courteously. The second night we called late checking on a room and Johnathon went out of his way to take care of us.

Room Tip: Bayview rooms above the first floor are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kahuna51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
0.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
465 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
207 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
688 reviews
0.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey

Address: 920 Spring St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2855
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#4 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range: £70 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful bay views from the Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey hotel, located near Little Traverse Bay in Petoskey, MI. Stroll around the historic gaslight district, explore the marina or Bayfront Park and discover more than 95 unique shops and boutiques in the downtown area. Visit the Crooked Tree Arts Center or if you’re here in winter, if you're here in winter, make sure to stop by Nub’s Nob Ski Area, just eight miles from this Petoskey hotel. Nub’s Nob boasts 53 ski slopes and trails on three peaks.You’ll always get the complete package of amenities at the Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey hotel - from the clean and fresh Hampton bed® in each guestroom to free high-speed internet access, great leisure facilities, and friendly service with a smile. Each morning, enjoy a tasty Hampton Free Hot Breakfast or if you’re in a rush, pick up Hampton on the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday. And it’s all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Hampton Inn And Suites Petoskey
Hampton Inn Petoskey
Petoskey Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing