We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favorite”

Nagoya Chinese & Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 102 Restaurants in Petoskey
Restaurant details
Michigans Upper Peninsula
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Favorite”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Passing thru Petosky near dinnertime and were headed for the local asian buffet resturant on the north side of town when we spotted Nagora on the main drag near the hospital. What the heck, try something new: good decision! Evidently recently opened, the menu has an extensive sushi selection, which, altho I'm not a fan, looked good. Spring roll appetizer was good and freshly made, and our dinners were excellent with large portions. Attentive service, moderate prices, freshly prepared and well presented tasty food, what's not to like? I still habituate asian buffets, but you just can't beat the quality of the food when it's made to order with quality ingredients.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yooper011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Not even close to authentic....”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I'm stunned by the positive reviews of Nagoya. The food tastes like it was pre-packaged and heated up in a microwave. We were astounded not only at the poor food quality, but the inattentive service. Water glasses never re-filled, server almost non-verbal. If you want good Asian food, there are several alternatives in Harbor Springs, Petoskey and Charlevoix. I'm surprised they haven't closed down yet. Every time we go by there are very few cars in the parking lot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, Pleasant Service, a little Pricey.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Being plant-based folks we tend to visit Asian restaurants more than others. At Nagoya we found some nice meals that fit our program and they were very good...one might even say, delicious. One rather strange thing was that our meals came out several minutes apart. As we looked around we noticed that the same thing was happening to the other diners. Says something about the kitchen system. Odd. We went away not comfortable with the value. One thing for sure, the wine is a short pour and a tall price. We probably will visit again but we'll forget the wine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PetoskeyKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PETOSKEY
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good food but very small portions”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I loved the idea of a new Asian restaurant in Petoskey. I did like the sushi but I was very disappointed in the portions for the price that I paid. Only 6 pieces of Tempura vegetables for about $12!!! crazy. I can not see this place lasting long unless they change a few things.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lbingamanPetoskey_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I am so glad Nagoya came to Petoskey! Food is great, big portions, very reasonable prices. We eat her at least 2 times a month.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank destiny_isle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nagoya Chinese & Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Nagoya Chinese & Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing