We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and lax on housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our family of four stayed here for four nights on vacation. To summarize our stay, we found that service was very mediocre; no one at this hotel jumped out as being overly friendly; and the housekeeping was poor. We've staying at nicer Holiday Inns for better prices, and we had a corporate discount. There's a nice view of the valley from the restaurant, and an outdoor patio, but all of the smokers sit on the patio so non-smokers cannot enjoy it. Because this was nothing to write home about, we'll try elsewhere next time. For details...

We arrived at 4pm, and were told that our room wasn't ready yet, but we were processed so that as soon as we returned in "30 minutes", we could just pick up our keycards. Upon our return we had to wait in line all over again to receive the cards. Given that we had done this once already, we had expected that the person who checked us in would be on the look-out, and simply pass the keycards on, but instead we were made to wait. After being on the road all day with two little ones, this was frustrating.

Our first impression of our Executive Suite room was that it was ok. We found the furnishings and decor to be dated. So that we could all eat dinner at the pedastal table, we had to move two plastic chairs from outside into the room, and this required our washing of bugs/cobwebs.

We ate one meal daily in the room (dinner) and then always loaded and ran the dishwasher, then unloaded it ourselves. We don't feel that this is something that we *have* to do while paying for housekeeping services, but we don't mind, just like home. On the second day, there were no dishwasher pucks provided to us, so we couldn't run it. We figured that housekeeping would run the loaded dishwasher for us and supply more pucks. Instead we returned to a full and dirty dishwasher. We handwashed all dishes that night for dinner, then reloaded, and this time sought out pucks in the morning, and ran it first thing. We were surprised to return and find it hadn't been unloaded. Apparently, housekeeping found it fit to require guests to load, run, and unload the dishwasher themselves. When I'm paying close to $200 nightly, this service should be provided, and we wouldn't have noticed it was lacking had housekeeping kept up puck replenishment. We also had to leave a handwritten note on the third day to request additional coffee and microwave popcorn supplies, as these were not being replenished.

Next, we had some packages shipped to the hotel, and one didn't arrive. Staff looked and didn't see it, but that was it. We had to call down a few times to see if we would be charged for a toll-free call to the courier, then a local call to the post office, after we tried to find the number ourselves and figure out the location of the post office. With each call downstairs, staff answered with audible sighs and when I apologized for the bother, never received a "it's no problem"; or "how could I help you further?" Not a big deal, but when I read the reviews gushing about the service, I have to question whether these are staffers and their friends:
That same night we had to make an inquiry at the front desk and the frontdesk phone rang while we stood there; the female working looked, mentioned that it was a room calling, and said, "that's too bad...they're justing going to have to wait", and rolled her eyes. I couldn't help but think that's exactly what they were doing when we were calling trying to resolve our shipping issue.

The balconies are covered in astroturf and therefore were dirty, and after a rainfall take over 24 hours to dry, so be careful.

On the plus side, a staff member washed everyone's windows in the morning; we appreciated that and had never seen anything like it before.

Overall, this was average; housekeeping was not up to standard and customer helpfulness must have been on vacation.

Room Tip: Pool towels are available at the front desk, but are horribly small; you're better off to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetitSacconex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjaree F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests reviews and take them very seriously when we find someone had a less than satisfactory experience. We cannot apologize enough for the housekeeping issues you had, and we can ensure you that these concerns have been brought to the appropriate departments. We are a new hotel and every season we make new changes and continue to do new things to improve our property. We hope that you can come back and let us show you our customer service, and how we strive to be the best and to provide the best for all our guests.

Sincerely,
Marjaree F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in a suite with a king bed. The suite has a full kitchen complete with dishes, pots and pans, full fridge, microwave. it is roomy, new and very clean. There is a small balcony that opens out to the main road in front of the hotel. You can see the lake in the distance. The bed is very comfortable with flat screen TVs in both the living area and bedroom. There is also continental breakfast that is included. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the valley view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquikzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

On a busy weekend in Petoskey, we got the last available room at this hotel. A nice, clean large king room with seating. The staff was very friendly and the property maintenance impeccable. A really net feature is the courtesy stretch limousine that will take you shopping, dining, etc and pick you up. Neat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cte39794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here on prior occasions and always had an pleasent and event free stay. Great customer service is the norm here from all the employees. The hotel is spotless and rooms are very nice. The back patio and breakfast room offer spectacular sun rises over the valley. I highly recommend choosing here for your Petoskey stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went to Petoskey with our two children and had a blast. We had a king room with a pull out couch on the valley view side which was an awesome view. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was really good too. We really enjoyed the complimentary limo service, that alone is worth coming back for (I thinks it's only for the summer season though). I liked this hotel also because they pay attention to the little things, like they actually have some one who goes around and cleans the windshield of your car; which is really nice because by the time you get to Petoskey it's pretty covered with bugs. We will go back here again for sure! :)

Room Tip: We did need a roll-a- way bed for our room which did make it a bit cramped, but it was doable in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We took a trip to Mackinac Island to celebrate our 10th anniversary, and Petoskey served as a great place to stay on the way there and back home. We were immediately greeted with bottled water, a granola bar, and mints. We were blown away by the free limo service from the hotel to the local restaurants, shops, etc. We had our vehicle with us, but it was fun to be treated like royalty! A quick phone call from our cell phone, and the limo driver was back downtown to pick us up and take us back to the hotel. As usual, I did not finish my dinner and had leftovers to take with me. It was so nice to have a complimentary mini fridge in the room for my leftovers. The showers are large with a curved curtain rod, and the shower head provided a soothing massage-type water pressure. The shower head did make some squeaky noises, but nothing too terrible. I enjoyed the Bath & Body Works shower products. Bath & Body Works is one of my favorite stores! Complimentary breakfast in the morning was great, and the patio view was superb! There is a cool pancake machine that you must check out. The scrambled eggs on the buffet the first morning were a little dry and old, but they were perfect the next day, and the restaurant redeemed itself. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A group of a bride and 4 bridesmaids stayed in a presidential suite the night before the wedding. The suite has 2 bdrms with king beds and fireplaces and a small living area w/ a pull-out couch, fireplace and kitchenette. There is a full bath off the living area and a HUGE bath off one of the bedrooms. There is a jetted tub, bidet, and a large shower w/ seating and 5 water spray points. The shower was amazing, but a little dark, since we couldn't figure out how to turn the overhead light on. The hotel had cookies out when we checked in and there is citrus water and coffee available 24hrs. The continental breakfast is hearty w/ eggs and meat in addition to bagels/pastries and fruit. The breakfast room looks out on a beautiful scene of rolling hills, but our room faced the parking lot. We weren't in the room very long, so it wasn't a problem for us. Def a nice experience, but I can't evaluate value, since I was one of the bridesmaids and I didn't pay. Would consider if I was traveling here again.

Room Tip: Ask to face the back, as opposed to the front which faces the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.9 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
464 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
754 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey

Address: 1751 S US Highway 131, Petoskey, MI 49770-8374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Family Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range: £74 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Petoskey, MI Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near Little Traverse Bay.This new hotel is conveniently located off Hwy 131 and offers easy access to ski resorts, golf courses, casino, wineries and beautiful Petoskey beaches: home to Michigan's state gem, the Petoskey stone. Your family can enjoy a stay at our Petoskey accommodations with an ideal location near the Bay Harbor Marina, Kilwin's Quality Confections Tours, Raven Hill Discovery Center and Michigan's largest indoor water park, Avalanche Bay. Petoskey is also home to the Gaslight Shopping District and the Odawa Casino.Business travelers enjoy our hotel in Petoskey because of its convenient location near businesses such as Manthei, H&D, Wal-Mart and Northern Michigan Hospital. Several world-class golfing venues, like Crooked Tree and Bay Harbor, are within six miles of our hotel in Petoskey, MI. Free high-speed Internet access and faxing services are offered for your convenience.Our excellent Petoskey hotel facilities offer you upscale amenities including private balconies, a fitness center, a heated indoor pool, whirlpool & dry sauna and a free stretch-limousine shuttle from 3 - 11 PM, with service to all area attractions within a 10-minute radius. Wake up to the fabulous views of Bear River Valley and Little Traverse Bay. Book your stay in Petoskey, MI today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Petoskey
Holiday Inn Petoskey
Holiday Inn Express Petoskey
Petoskey Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing