We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accomadations and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomadations and service.”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

New very clean accommodations. Riding my motorcycle came in on a rainy night and they had no problem with me leaving it under the front door canopy.They have Lemo service and offered it up as an alternative to us going back out in the rain on the bike for dinner.My wife had problems with the hair dryer in the morning and they quickly resolved it by providing an extension cord.My wife and I are very appreciative of their large area for breakfast and the quality of the breakfast offering.We were pleasantly surprised by the ceiling fan in our room like our own home bedroom.
Beautiful setting overlooking the Lake Michigan Harbor to the North and the rolling hills and forests to the West.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about Lemo service to casino and restaurants in the area that is not normally offere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDRider2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    105
    32
    19
    13
See reviews for
173
165
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
208 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I've stayed here several times for business trips and I am consistently impressed with the cleanliness, friendliness of the staff and the comfort of the rooms. There are a lot of available discounts if you like the casino or simply need a caw wash! I was in the process of closing on a house during my last trip and the front desk staff very graciously sent and received numerous faxes for me during my stay.

Room Tip: treat yourself to an upgraded room or suite with the valley view, great fall colors in October, in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK2012114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My stay was for business and I had stayed here before. The service was ok but nothing special for the price. I realize this is a tourist town but this hotel takes for granted they don't have much competition I guess. I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear C S,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the Presidential Suite over the Labor Day long weekend. The suite was perfect for 2 couples and had an amazing shower. Check in was great and we felt very welcome. The young man who checked us in explained where everything was and invited us to use the free limo shuttle! He also called the restaurant in Bay Harbour to ensure they would be serving dinner when we arrived!! The breakfast is great and has a wonderful view of the valley. Our room was always clean when we returned but beware of the astrotruf balcony; you may get a wet sock or 2. Cleaning the windshields was a nice touch, especially after the long drive north!! Overall, all hotels in this area are expensive but this staff always treated us with respect and the extras were great. I would highly recommend and thank you for a great get away!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choppy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for a combined business / vac trip as we've been at this hotel many times in the past. According to the desk clerk, the owners are new. Staff not really friendly at check in, seemed bothered by guests. Reservation got mixed up and we were given a regular room, indicating that the valley view which we reserved would be available the next night. The next day, it was not. The staff kept trying to constantly up-sell us to the suite rooms for, as they put it, "significantly more money". Pet fee is now $75 (due to other pets' damages) and we found that ridiculous for our small dog, which has stayed here many times without issue. Overall I think this hotel has gone down in service and value, esp for the Petoskey area. Sad, because it was a really nice place to stay before.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieClarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear LeslieClarence,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations this particular day. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our family of four stayed here for four nights on vacation. To summarize our stay, we found that service was very mediocre; no one at this hotel jumped out as being overly friendly; and the housekeeping was poor. We've staying at nicer Holiday Inns for better prices, and we had a corporate discount. There's a nice view of the valley from the restaurant, and an outdoor patio, but all of the smokers sit on the patio so non-smokers cannot enjoy it. Because this was nothing to write home about, we'll try elsewhere next time. For details...

We arrived at 4pm, and were told that our room wasn't ready yet, but we were processed so that as soon as we returned in "30 minutes", we could just pick up our keycards. Upon our return we had to wait in line all over again to receive the cards. Given that we had done this once already, we had expected that the person who checked us in would be on the look-out, and simply pass the keycards on, but instead we were made to wait. After being on the road all day with two little ones, this was frustrating.

Our first impression of our Executive Suite room was that it was ok. We found the furnishings and decor to be dated. So that we could all eat dinner at the pedastal table, we had to move two plastic chairs from outside into the room, and this required our washing of bugs/cobwebs.

We ate one meal daily in the room (dinner) and then always loaded and ran the dishwasher, then unloaded it ourselves. We don't feel that this is something that we *have* to do while paying for housekeeping services, but we don't mind, just like home. On the second day, there were no dishwasher pucks provided to us, so we couldn't run it. We figured that housekeeping would run the loaded dishwasher for us and supply more pucks. Instead we returned to a full and dirty dishwasher. We handwashed all dishes that night for dinner, then reloaded, and this time sought out pucks in the morning, and ran it first thing. We were surprised to return and find it hadn't been unloaded. Apparently, housekeeping found it fit to require guests to load, run, and unload the dishwasher themselves. When I'm paying close to $200 nightly, this service should be provided, and we wouldn't have noticed it was lacking had housekeeping kept up puck replenishment. We also had to leave a handwritten note on the third day to request additional coffee and microwave popcorn supplies, as these were not being replenished.

Next, we had some packages shipped to the hotel, and one didn't arrive. Staff looked and didn't see it, but that was it. We had to call down a few times to see if we would be charged for a toll-free call to the courier, then a local call to the post office, after we tried to find the number ourselves and figure out the location of the post office. With each call downstairs, staff answered with audible sighs and when I apologized for the bother, never received a "it's no problem"; or "how could I help you further?" Not a big deal, but when I read the reviews gushing about the service, I have to question whether these are staffers and their friends:
That same night we had to make an inquiry at the front desk and the frontdesk phone rang while we stood there; the female working looked, mentioned that it was a room calling, and said, "that's too bad...they're justing going to have to wait", and rolled her eyes. I couldn't help but think that's exactly what they were doing when we were calling trying to resolve our shipping issue.

The balconies are covered in astroturf and therefore were dirty, and after a rainfall take over 24 hours to dry, so be careful.

On the plus side, a staff member washed everyone's windows in the morning; we appreciated that and had never seen anything like it before.

Overall, this was average; housekeeping was not up to standard and customer helpfulness must have been on vacation.

Room Tip: Pool towels are available at the front desk, but are horribly small; you're better off to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetitSacconex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjaree F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests reviews and take them very seriously when we find someone had a less than satisfactory experience. We cannot apologize enough for the housekeeping issues you had, and we can ensure you that these concerns have been brought to the appropriate departments. We are a new hotel and every season we make new changes and continue to do new things to improve our property. We hope that you can come back and let us show you our customer service, and how we strive to be the best and to provide the best for all our guests.

Sincerely,
Marjaree F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland County, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in a suite with a king bed. The suite has a full kitchen complete with dishes, pots and pans, full fridge, microwave. it is roomy, new and very clean. There is a small balcony that opens out to the main road in front of the hotel. You can see the lake in the distance. The bed is very comfortable with flat screen TVs in both the living area and bedroom. There is also continental breakfast that is included. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the valley view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquikzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.9 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
1.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
715 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Petoskey
Super 8 Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Address: 1751 S US Highway 131, Petoskey, MI 49770-8374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#1 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Family Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Petoskey, MI Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near Little Traverse Bay.This new hotel is conveniently located off Hwy 131 and offers easy access to ski resorts, golf courses, casino, wineries and beautiful Petoskey beaches: home to Michigan's state gem, the Petoskey stone. Your family can enjoy a stay at our Petoskey accommodations with an ideal location near the Bay Harbor Marina, Kilwin's Quality Confections Tours, Raven Hill Discovery Center and Michigan's largest indoor water park, Avalanche Bay. Petoskey is also home to the Gaslight Shopping District and the Odawa Casino.Business travelers enjoy our hotel in Petoskey because of its convenient location near businesses such as Manthei, H&D, Wal-Mart and Northern Michigan Hospital. Several world-class golfing venues, like Crooked Tree and Bay Harbor, are within six miles of our hotel in Petoskey, MI. Free high-speed Internet access and faxing services are offered for your convenience.Our excellent Petoskey hotel facilities offer you upscale amenities including private balconies, a fitness center, a heated indoor pool, whirlpool & dry sauna and a free stretch-limousine shuttle from 3 - 11 PM, with service to all area attractions within a 10-minute radius. Wake up to the fabulous views of Bear River Valley and Little Traverse Bay. Book your stay in Petoskey, MI today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Petoskey
Holiday Inn Petoskey
Holiday Inn Express Petoskey
Petoskey Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing