We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with all meals - beat that!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, Mi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hotel with all meals - beat that!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I hadn't read their website first, so I was surprised upon arriving to learn they offer meals not only for breakfast, but from 6am - 10pm! You can choose between several soups, cottage cheese, fruits, vegetables, yogurts, puddings, frozen pizzas, the list is quite long. This is a wonderful addition to the Days Inn - it can save customers a lot of money! Our room including the bathroom was very clean, although I swear the showerhead was built for someone only 5' tall - it could definitely be higher! The walls and floors were quite thin - you could hear people talking in the room next door, and feel people walking on the floors. Nice place to stay, but I guess a lot depends on what you've paid for your room. I've read recent reviews where people paid $135 a night, I didn't pay that much but I'm sure a lot depends on the room size, how many people in the room, the night of the week, etc. We paid $85 plus tax booking 24 hrs in advance - 2 people with two double beds. Not an ideal bed size for a couple, but then again, I only paid $85... I'll stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    231
    102
    28
    39
See reviews for
217
281
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
By the lake in Indiana
Level Contributor
217 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We just needed a place to crash overnight on our way to Mackinac Island and we picked this from prior reviews. We wanted the Apple Tree Inn, but their prices were too high just to stay a quick overnight, so we tried Days Inn. We were not disappointed. It was clean, comfortable, easy check in and check out. The desk people were friendly, they offer ALL kinds of food in their cafeteria, all free - dinners, snacks, breakfast, you name it. There was a huge crowd there - must have been a high school tourney or something in the area so the cafeteria was crowded. It's an older hotel you can tell they have tried to update - it's not anything fancy, but clean and very comfortable, very conveniently located and easy to find.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antiquelover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

To be fair, it was a suite and the last room available. We had stayed at a Days Inn the previous night in Sault Ste.Marie Mi., and after an enjoyable experience there, decided to do another Days Inn. As I stated, the room was pricey at $135, but the thing is, there is only outside access to all of the rooms and the office.It was quite cool that night, around 50*F, 3 days after August ended, and I was wearing shorts and neither my wife nor I had a jacket. I can only imagine what this place is like during the cold seasons! Also, the breakfast was very poor and crowded! We won't be back to this one, but we will in Sault Ste.Marie.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor sice there is only outside room access. You'll stay warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-n-Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The property was clean, convienent to town, and the free food cafe gets 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kershMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

First the good... This hotel has very friendly staff, was extremely clean, has free parking and a nice view of the bay from certain rooms. The free breakfast/lunch/dinner "cafeteria" was a nice addition. We only used it for breakfast, but I can see how it would be a real money saver for a family. I really like the fresh "make your own" waffles.

The hotel is close to the casino and a short drive to the beach or downtown Petoskey.

Upon check-in, we asked for the advertised "free upgrade" to a King room - however none were available in the right category. However, for only $10 additional per night they upgraded us to a "premium king". When I asked what made it premium, the response was "newer room, better linens, desk & chair, bigger TV, bay view." Fine - we took it and indeed it was a decent room with a view of the bay. Worth the money.

The bad - the walls are thin and you can hear every door slam both in the hotel and in the adjacent parking lot. Also, in our room near the stairs, we could hear each and every footstep on the stairs as they reverberated throughout the building. Weird - I've never experienced anything quite like it -- and very annoying. Since there' s no elevator to the second floor (only a two story hotel) everyone took the stairs and made the noise.

Overall, this hotel is a good value in a great vacation town and fine if you're on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for the Premium King with the Bay View - 2nd floor on the "lower" building is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S4Snowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were on a motorcycle trip around Lake Michigan and arrived in Petoskey just before sundown. Not wanting to travel after dark we looked for a clean inexpensive hotel for the night. The Days Inn fit the bill. We asked for a king room and being on a motorcycle we received a 20% sportsman discount and an upgrade to the preferred king room. The room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. In addition, this hotel has a serve yourself cafe that is included with your stay that is open 6:00am to 10:00pm that provides a large variety of foods that are hot, cold and microwaveable. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel and restaurant, this probably in not for you, but if you want an overnight stay that is a great value with clean rooms and meals at a modest price, you'ld be wrong in passing this place up.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trocket3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
230 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

It’s tough to find a good deal in Petoskey. This might be one to remember. They were offering free upgrades to bay view rooms, when available (none available when I was there) but the bay is pretty far away so the view can’t be that great.

There was a slight musty smell in my room, probably due to the leaky toilet. But the rest of the accommodations were okay plus. Fridge and microwave in room. Wi-fi was somewhat slow, but at least it stayed up. I got a really good deal with a RoomSaver coupon.

They have free food from 6am to 10pm. Lots of variety, from hotdogs, frozen pizza, and generic Hot Pockets, to microwavable scrambled eggs, French toast, muffins, potato salad, etc. Several pots of soup, chili, and stew. The beef stew and broccoli cheese soup were actually pretty good. The rest was only so-so, but tastes a lot better when you remember it’s free.

If you’re on a budget, this is the place to stay. Find a good rate and save money on food, although you’ll be missing some of what the town has to offer hungry tourists. Next time I’m in Petoskey I may stay here for the good rate, but not just for the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a complimentary upgrade to a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.7 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Petoskey
Super 8 Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ Michigan Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Property: @ Michigan Inn & Lodge
Address: 1420 S US Highway 131, (Spring St.), Petoskey, MI 49770-8731 (Formerly Days Inn Petoskey)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#5 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — @ Michigan Inn & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the "World’s First Free Cyber Cafe." All you can eat” cafeteria style food from 6 am in the morning till 10 pm at night! Our new hair salon offers free haircuts to all of our registered guests. "Your restaurant and salon savings could pay for your stay!" We now the only hotel in the world with adjustable massaging beds in every room. Our Reverie adjustable massaging beds are arguably the finest beds made in the world! Enjoy parking near your room with our 72 free "first come first serve" carport parking spots. The carports are also great for motorcycles & small trailers. All 132 rooms include: Large wall-mounted TVs with over 60 HDTV cable channels and a WIFI enabled Blu-ray Player, Refrigerator, Microwave, Free Safe, Coffee/Tea Machine, Hairdryer, Iron/Board, and Clock Radios. Our WIFI enabled Sony Blu-ray players turn our large wall mounted LCD TVs into smart TVs. We have two vending rooms with Pop, Ice, and Guest Laundry Machines. Our vending prices are low and we allow you to fill a cooler with free ice. Our WIFI service is throughout the property and is free. We have two large HP Laptops in our lobby which you may use at no additional charge. If you find you have some free time we also offer 99 cent new release movies with all the popcorn and cookies you can eat! Still looking for more to do? Try our new free championship horseshoe pits. "Come hungry and with long hair, that's what we recommend!" Our hotel is at the top of the Spring Street hill with a beautiful view of the bay. Get a Free Bay View Split King upgrade based on availability at arrival. We are centrally located near the casino, restaurants, shopping, parks, the hospital, the Gaslight District, ski resorts, and the Petoskey theater is across the street. Also for your convenience we offer Odawa Shuttle Service to the Odawa Casino. Centrally located, Free Meals, Free Haircuts, Adjustable Massaging Beds, and great discounts, that's why we feel we are the best value in Petoskey and one of the most unique hotels in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your @ Michigan Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Petoskey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing