We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was skeptical of the place when my wife booked it and even when we arrived. But she got a good deal on it and I realized that we actually got a darned good deal. The room wasn't fancy but it was clean and decent. The bed was comfortable. And the biggest surprise was that the food I had in their free cafe was pretty darned good. And as my wife pointed out to me, when you combine the rate we paid and what we would have spent out at restaurants, it was a very good deal for the money. If you want fancy and romantic, go elsewhere... although the view towards the lake is nice. But if you plan on eating there, it's a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
There are newer reviews for @ Michigan Inn & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Poorly rehabed Days Inn. Carpets were nasty! Didnt take flip flops off the entire time. Light on nite stand didnt work (blown outlet) light over vanity was like a strobe and not what you need/want at 7am. Sadly, there was nothing good but the covered parking.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Noodle3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for a night and enjoyed it. Free food is offered in the office from 6AM to 10PM and is basic frozen heat it yourself type of food but is a nice touch and great for snacking. They also offer 99 cent movie rentals as well as free popcorn and cookies. Wifi is available - not the greatest but adequate. The bed was very comfortable. The view from the property is very pretty. Mini fridge and microwave are included in each room. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

When we booked the room a week in advance, I specified that we needed the room by 12:00. I was told no problem. When we arrived at 12 noon, it was a problem. We were told to come back in an hour and we would have a room. We came back at 1PM and was told the room would be ready any minute, please wait in the snack area and help yourself. After a 45 minute wait the manager came in and was very disrespectful. We are an elderly couple traveling with our 14yr old grandaughter and we were expected to be at a graduation party. The manager kept saying "check in time is 3PM". Like we were deaf or something. Then she said we had no business in the snack area. I tried to explain that the girl at the desk had let us in the snack area but I was cut off with: "Check in time is 3PM! That did it. My wife got up and said we are leaving and we are not paying a dime for the broken registration. I am a customer and I have never been treated with such disrespect. The girl at the desk took our side and tried to explain to her manager as we were leaving. We did get a room at the Holiday Inn express down the street and we were treated with respect. Again I must point out, the girl we dealt with at the desk was very nice and sincere but the manager needs a lesson on respect. Never again will I book at a Michigan Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stopped at this motel its location and the way it is situated on the hill over looking the bay appealed to us, we usually do not like a pet friendly motel but this one was very clean and our room was odor free, beds were very comfortable lots of pillows and towels, nice to have frig and microwave, having a little café to eat at was also great, we only had the breakfast lots to choose from and very good, staff was very friendly and helpful , the little girl in the morning done a great job working very hard making sure everything was clean and re filled in the breakfast area, great nights sleep, we go to Petoskey twice a year and will definitely stay here from now on, thank you to all staff for doing such a great job.

Room Tip: we chose one on the top floor over looking the bay
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I really was drawn to this place because of the cafe. Free food from morning till night is anyone's dream. It cut down on the cost of food, making more room for other exciting things to do. I will definitely stay here again in the future. Just had a couple critter (spider, and some other beetle looking thing) friends. But nothing horrible, since it is coming into summertime, bugs are to be expected. Did not hear neighbors which was also a great perk.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Deidre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a cool place to stay! The staff is very cheerful and friendly. The room was large with 2 queens and very clean! We stayed in room 313 which was right next to the nice dog run. The free cafe was a great perk, with lots of goodies to choose from. Had a filling breakfast to get us back on the road. Such a nice find that is also pet friendly. Will stay here again and highly recommend!
Great food at the Northwood in Oden, excellent perch!

Room Tip: We stayed in 313. End unit next to the nice dog run.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadtripaddict2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.7 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
458 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
733 reviews
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 15 in Petoskey
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ Michigan Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Address: 1420 S US Highway 131, (Spring St.), Petoskey, MI 49770-8731 (Formerly Days Inn Petoskey)
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#5 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range: £55 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — @ Michigan Inn & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the "World’s First Free Cyber Cafe." All you can eat” cafeteria style food from 6 am in the morning till 10 pm at night! Our new hair salon offers free haircuts to all of our registered guests. "Your restaurant and salon savings could pay for your stay!" We now the only hotel in the world with adjustable massaging beds in every room. Our Reverie adjustable massaging beds are arguably the finest beds made in the world! Enjoy parking near your room with our 72 free "first come first serve" carport parking spots. The carports are also great for motorcycles & small trailers. All 132 rooms include: Large wall-mounted TVs with over 60 HDTV cable channels and a WIFI enabled Blu-ray Player, Refrigerator, Microwave, Free Safe, Coffee/Tea Machine, Hairdryer, Iron/Board, and Clock Radios. Our WIFI enabled Sony Blu-ray players turn our large wall mounted LCD TVs into smart TVs. We have two vending rooms with Pop, Ice, and Guest Laundry Machines. Our vending prices are low and we allow you to fill a cooler with free ice. Our WIFI service is throughout the property and is free. We have two large HP Laptops in our lobby which you may use at no additional charge. If you find you have some free time we also offer 99 cent new release movies with all the popcorn and cookies you can eat! Still looking for more to do? Try our new free championship horseshoe pits. "Come hungry and with long hair, that's what we recommend!" Our hotel is at the top of the Spring Street hill with a beautiful view of the bay. Get a Free Bay View Split King upgrade based on availability at arrival. We are centrally located near the casino, restaurants, shopping, parks, the hospital, the Gaslight District, ski resorts, and the Petoskey theater is across the street. Also for your convenience we offer Odawa Shuttle Service to the Odawa Casino. Centrally located, Free Meals, Free Haircuts, Adjustable Massaging Beds, and great discounts, that's why we feel we are the best value in Petoskey and one of the most unique hotels in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your @ Michigan Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Petoskey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing