We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and free food...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good location and free food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

The room was what you would expect from a Day's Inn; a clean room and comfortable bed. It did also come with eight pillows which may be great for some. Some rooms are bay view although the bay is still several blocks away (hotel sits up on a hill). When we went for breakfast we noticed they also had food for all meals. There were deli sandwiches, frozen dinners, hot dogs, soups and more available from 6am to 11pm at no cost. Ice cream and Little Debbie snacks were also offered as long as you did not take anything to go.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmtripsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    230
    101
    28
    38
See reviews for
217
277
39
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

The rooms were dirty
The Management was not profressional
The Cafe was full of salty fattening food
The soups were old and gross
The only positive thing was the landscaping - If they spent as much time managing the motel as they did on the landscaping it might be better

I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kvanhuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

The room was very small and very crowded. There was an odor in the room so we ran out to the 24 hr Walmart for a scented candle. One nice thing about the room was that it had a DVD player. There is lots of free food, fruit, cookies, chips, Hostess and lil' Debbie stuff, Hot pockets, pop tarts, yogurt, muffins, bread, cereals, and orange juice. Also use of lap tops just outside the eating area. Free coffee (and food all day). Good for a hungry student road-trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MmWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
can
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

First off, I will say that we had a smoking room, and that was the excuse we were given when we gave our opinion of our stay upon check out. I will note though that it wasn't the smell of cigarettes that was offensive in the room, it was the smell of filth, and we did not pay any less for this room, considering it appears that you are supposed to accept a below par experience when you book smoking.

With that said, the room was very small, we are not overly large statured people and we had to shuffle around the room. The internet connection was weak and constantly disconnected. The room was dirty, we found a used napkin in our bed and our feet stuck to the carpet. Everything was old, the bathroom door wouldn't close, you had to climb into the tub to push it shut. Breakfast consisted of twinkies and other pre-packaged delicacies and you needed your room key to get into the dining room and were then forbidden from taking your well-balanced breakfast back to your fabulous room to enjoy in private.

So, after sharing our dismay with Days Inn staff upon check out, the answer was "well you booked a smoking room". Trust me, there are plenty of other places in Petoskey to stay in for the same price, better yet, head over to Traverse City and stay in the Days Inn there. It is 100 times better and the same price.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank canadiangirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, MI
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

Basically, if you need a place to crash and are not spending any time in your room other than to clean up and sleep, you'll be fine here. The rooms with two beds are especially cramped.

Best part is they have a 24 hour all you can eat snack bar that has decent food. That made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellobiafra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

I hope that no one else may experience what we went though on our recent visit to Petoskey.

A little over two weeks ago on February 23rd, 2009 we decided to take a break in our stressful work schedule and try one day of skiing at Boyne Mountain in Northern Michigan. The trip was long, about three and a half hours from Allegan, Michigan but it was a pretty drive in the early morning hours. The skiing was fun and we decided to stay at the Days Inn Petoskey rather than drive all the way home that night. We made a hotel reservation online, following good reviews we read. We checked in to the hotel at about 5:00pm and then headed out for some local food. Even at 11 degrees, downtown Petoskey is charming; we got a pizza at Mighty Fine Pizza and visited the Grain Train co-op next door and then headed back to the hotel.

Back at the hotel we noticed the main lamp was missing a bulb so we contacted the office. Once the bulb arrived and we screwed it in we quickly discovered that the lamp was damaged and it was indeed missing a switch to operate it. No big deal, we brushed this off.

Around 7pm we pulled back the covers of the bed to discover the sheets were dirty and had not been changed; crumbs were found and hairs from two different people were discovered (with only the sheets pulled back a slight bit, we dared not look further). We made a decision that with how exhausted we were we would just sleep on top of the covers, not to make a fuss (too tired). Strike two.

Then, at some point in the evening a semi trailer truck arrived at our hotel. The truck parked parallel to all the hotel rooms (just 50 feet from our balcony window and door), taking up 8 vehicle spaces in the process. The engine was left on, rumbling and idling. At the time, I commented to my fiancé, that I hoped it wasn't going to stay there running all night as the low rumble was clearly audible, especially with the television turned off.

At about 10pm, as we attempted to get some sleep (atop the dirty linens) we notices that the truck was still parked outside our window and still running. I want to remind you that the trip up from Allegan was three and a half hours – starting at about 5:00am - the day of skiing had exhausted us, and now we found ourselves at 10:00pm unable to sleep with the rumbling coming through our door and window.

Around 10:15 we called the front desk and asked what was up with the truck outside. The front desk clerk, Brian, told us he would attempt to contact the owner and have him move the truck. Brian told us (more than once) that he didn't know what he could do or where the owner – apparently also a guest at the hotel – would park his running 18 wheeler.

At 12:00am and unable to sleep, my fiance headed down to the front office where he told Brian that the noise was unacceptable and that he (Brian) needed to figure out how to get the truck moved, the engine turned off or we were going to demand a refund and/or go online and document the experience. By 12:45am we were still unable to sleep and had no update from Brian. The truck continued running outside our window. We had enough. We packed our belongings and decided to leave the hotel. When we stopped by the office, Brian’s brother Kevin had apparently now taken over.

After once again fully explaining our situation, now to Kevin, we were packed up and in the process of leaving; Kevin finally offered us another room. By close to 1:00am we had enough. Kevin informed us that it was normal procedure at this Days Inn to have this particular 18-wheeler (owned by a "contractor") running in the parking lot all night. Frustrated, fully awake and thoroughly fatigued we drove back three and a half hours straight to Allegan. We lost our next business day (Tuesday) completely from sleep depravation and the stress from our disaster of a hotel stay the evening prior.

By Thursday I had talked to three different front desk employees and left several messages for the owner, Mitch Osier. I tried to leave a message on his voicemail on Thursday and was disconnected midsentence. Friday I left another message, and was told that Mr. Osier was out sick. After yet another phone call on Monday Mr. Osier finally called me back, and while he agreed we were due a refund he said it was impossible to issue it because the reservation had been made through the online website (hotels.com, in turn told us the refund could only come from the hotel itself). Mr. Osier agreed to deal with the online booking site and figure out how to refund our money. It's now been two weeks since our visit and we've heard nothing.

Now I have nothing against truckers but I can't imagine that the parking lot at the Petoskey Days Inn is zoned for tractor trailers. I’m also all about supporting local businesses and the families who run them. Unfortunately, our comfort, hard earned money and peace of mind were apparently of no value to Mr. Osier and the Petoskey Days Inn. Our visit to this hotel turned what was a fun getaway to Northern Michigan into a disaster.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inmotion_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West
Level Contributor
349 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

Our room, while small, was comfortable. We had a basic room which still came with safe, micro, fridge, ironing board, iron, and hairdryer. The room was a bit dated as far as furnishings but it was clean enough. The beds were comfortable (firm) and came with four pillows each which is a nice plus.
The 24 hour cafe is something to behold. Some reviewers said it was nothing but junk food. They weren't looking far enough. While you can definitely get everything a teenager would love, you can also find some fairly healthy choices. My husband had cereal, yogurt, a bagel, fresh fruit, OJ, and milk. He was set until dinner. I tried their biscuits and gravy which were actually quite good. I also had to try the waffle machine which made a tasty waffle in 2 minutes. In the evening I went down to see if the choices had changed. There were either 4 or 6 different soups, all of which looked hearty and good. It would take too long to list all the choices but if you can't find something you like here, you can't be pleased. This would be a definite perk if traveling with hungry teenagers or simply to save money on expensive meals out.
The rate we paid was the same as about four other comparable choices but the 24 hour Cafe sealed the deal for us. It was a good choice and we will stay again when in the area.

  • Liked — The pillows and the Cafe
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank guavagirlKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.6 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Petoskey
Days Inn Petoskey
#11 of 15 in Petoskey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ Michigan Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Property: @ Michigan Inn & Lodge
Address: 1420 S US Highway 131, (Spring St.), Petoskey, MI 49770-8731 (Formerly Days Inn Petoskey)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#5 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — @ Michigan Inn & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the "World’s First Free Cyber Cafe." All you can eat” cafeteria style food from 6 am in the morning till 10 pm at night! Our new hair salon offers free haircuts to all of our registered guests. "Your restaurant and salon savings could pay for your stay!" We now the only hotel in the world with adjustable massaging beds in every room. Our Reverie adjustable massaging beds are arguably the finest beds made in the world! Enjoy parking near your room with our 72 free "first come first serve" carport parking spots. The carports are also great for motorcycles & small trailers. All 132 rooms include: Large wall-mounted TVs with over 60 HDTV cable channels and a WIFI enabled Blu-ray Player, Refrigerator, Microwave, Free Safe, Coffee/Tea Machine, Hairdryer, Iron/Board, and Clock Radios. Our WIFI enabled Sony Blu-ray players turn our large wall mounted LCD TVs into smart TVs. We have two vending rooms with Pop, Ice, and Guest Laundry Machines. Our vending prices are low and we allow you to fill a cooler with free ice. Our WIFI service is throughout the property and is free. We have two large HP Laptops in our lobby which you may use at no additional charge. If you find you have some free time we also offer 99 cent new release movies with all the popcorn and cookies you can eat! Still looking for more to do? Try our new free championship horseshoe pits. "Come hungry and with long hair, that's what we recommend!" Our hotel is at the top of the Spring Street hill with a beautiful view of the bay. Get a Free Bay View Split King upgrade based on availability at arrival. We are centrally located near the casino, restaurants, shopping, parks, the hospital, the Gaslight District, ski resorts, and the Petoskey theater is across the street. Also for your convenience we offer Odawa Shuttle Service to the Odawa Casino. Centrally located, Free Meals, Free Haircuts, Adjustable Massaging Beds, and great discounts, that's why we feel we are the best value in Petoskey and one of the most unique hotels in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your @ Michigan Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Petoskey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing