We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Built in 1899, rich in history within a quaint up north town, and beautifully preserved. A bit pricy, but with friendly staff, good food, and a wonderful large porch for "rocking" with a drink and view of downtown. Out back is a flower filled garden, views of the lake, and sunset. What could be better...the beds, linens and pillows.

Room Tip: Downtown view cheaper than water view. All rooms have nice bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is the last of the old hotels in Petoskey. In fact, Ernest Hemingway stayed here at a room rate of 75 cents. It is a beautiful older property and that is why I chose it. It's a great location, right in town. Downside - no pool. Upside - near fun restaurants and shops. Go expecting to enjoy an older property. The room was large. Housekeeping excellent. Service excellent.

Room Tip: On weekends, there could be a wedding. Ask for a room not overlooking the wedding patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Perry Hotel is a nicely appointed, well located spot in Petoskey, Michigan.
The front desk is one flight down from the main lobby. It's off the parking lot, while the lobby leads in from the wrap around porch.
The feel of the hotel is like a nice place in the Adirondacks or Maine coast; friendly, antique style furnishings and even a small game room on the 3rd (and top) floor. The rooms are clean, comfortable and seem recently re-done. Most, if not all, have a balcony, many with chairs.
The hotel desk area has a small gift shop and around the corner a bar (which has different specials during the week).
On the lobby level, the dining room is very attractive with different seating areas outside, inside and a large picture window showing off the beautiful water view. Included in our room price was a $25 per day breakfast voucher. Each day my wife, my son and I went over the voucher amount, but you are eating in a spot above the level of a diner or IHOP. I wasn't impressed with the food, but I'm not a breakfast food person.
The parking could be a bit tight in the evening or when there are events like a wedding, but we where able to find spots in the bottom lot by the gallery/ museum.
All in all, it's a very nice place at.

Room Tip: consider asking for a room with seating on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thimotyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a king room with a balony and view of the bay. Very peaceful setting. It was great to be away from the tourist traffic. Shops and resturants were 1 block away and the a short 3-4 block walk to the bay. The hotel may be a little worn but it was very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The place has charm with small rooms, no real amenities (how about a coffee maker? not even in room with a kitchen?), small rooms, air conditioning that you cannot control - (we had 3 rooms, some were hot with NO air flowing and windows didn't open others were way too cold), very dated (especially the carpeting). Small TV's, bad pillows and who has double beds these days?, staff so-so. I was in one of the way too cold rooms, could hardly use the bathroom for even a minute it was so cold. Wedding that I was not there for was going on in the outdoor area (Veranda), made it very uncomfortable to use unless one was there to attend the wedding. Would not stay again, ever.

Room Tip: Check the view from your room.... ours overlooked a roof with an air conditioner on it. The HOT roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you want a hotel in the middle of town (gaslight district) this is a good choice and maybe your only one. The other hotels are on the water or near the strip malls. That being said this is a full service establishment - you can get breakfast lunch dinner, there's a bar here and room service. The rooms are on the small side, but are clean and relatively updated. Closet was tiny and furniture and decor very traditional. The small LCD tv had poor reception but the free wifi was good. Great for a night or two but might feel cramped if you're staying longer. Rates were better than nearby chains and had good availability. Workout room ok but only a few machines. Spa not working. I'd stay here anytime for business. Very convenient. Love to be able to walk around town.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook Lake Michigan. Fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatienceWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a very small room w a tiny tv. A small room can be fine but the room was dated and was reminiscent of some hostels I stayed in post-college. The room was only accessible by going up the back stairs and walking past the kitchen and maid carts. Room included a $25 breakfast credit - food was fine. There is a pub downstairs w fine food and live entertainment on some nights. I would not stay here again - I'm sure there are nicer accommodations in the area or a better value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
468 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
690 reviews
1.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
760 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Perry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Perry Hotel

Address: 100 Lewis St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range: £102 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Perry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petoskey's only downtown lodging establishment is a charming, full service, boutique hotel that has been welcoming travelers since 1899. 75 individually designed guestrooms and suites, many of which are newly remodeled with individual climate controls, tiled showers and in room refrigerators. Larger suites and ADA accommodations are additional new offerings. Overnight stays at the Perry Hotel include vouchers for a full service cooked to order breakfast in the H.O. Rose Dining Room overlooking Little Traverse Bay or seasonal dining outside on the Lewis Street Porch. Evening activities include craft cocktails, local brews and pub fare in the Noggin Room pub. Downtown Petoskey is just steps away and features outstanding restaurants and unique shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Stafford's Perry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffords Perry Hotel Petoskey
Staffords Perry Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing