We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic USA hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Basic USA hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at the Staffords Perry recently,What can i say ,the staff are friendly and it's clean but It suffers from a lack of character, it's typical of a wedding hotel everything is basic, not somewhere you would want to spend a special evening, It's ok it works but everything has a sort of a motel feel to it,the location is good ,the outside is painted a horrible yellow colour the inside is old fashoned.
So if your passing through for one night it's bareable but I wouldn't want to be there any longer than that
Petowski is a nice small town but I'd again choose a B&B next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandVivid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    160
    44
    23
    16
See reviews for
137
357
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,IL
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was recently in Petoskey to attend a wedding. Part of the celebration weekend was held at the Stafford's Perry Hotel and I must say we were all more than pleased with this wonderful spot in downtown Petoskey. The food and service was great we had a beautiful surf & turf, a generous filet served alongside a very nice salmon filet. The wine selection was excellent in fact one of my favorites Meoimi Pinot Noir was served. Room was quite elegant and a great time was had by all.

Room Tip: I can't help as I only ate there, but the food was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birch Run, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Perry's was close to everything we wanted to do....the brewery and winery right around the corner, a couple blocks to the museum, and close enough to nap midday when we got exhausted. Rooms were very clean! Staff even cleaned up after us between nights, like...got a luggage rack and put our suitcase on that instead of the floor. Breakfast was ok...they stop service between breakfast and lunch, apparently people in Petoskey don't believe in brunch, as no other restaurant opened until 11:00 11:30.

Room Tip: I named my own price on pipeline, saved at least $74
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a great stay at the hotel - there for a wedding. They did a lovely job for that. Food very good. This is an old hotel with a beautiful main floor. Breakfast was overlooking the lake. Food was good in the restaurant. The rooms were ok. Clean, but basic. Expected more for what we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedgeredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Built in 1899, rich in history within a quaint up north town, and beautifully preserved. A bit pricy, but with friendly staff, good food, and a wonderful large porch for "rocking" with a drink and view of downtown. Out back is a flower filled garden, views of the lake, and sunset. What could be better...the beds, linens and pillows.

Room Tip: Downtown view cheaper than water view. All rooms have nice bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is the last of the old hotels in Petoskey. In fact, Ernest Hemingway stayed here at a room rate of 75 cents. It is a beautiful older property and that is why I chose it. It's a great location, right in town. Downside - no pool. Upside - near fun restaurants and shops. Go expecting to enjoy an older property. The room was large. Housekeeping excellent. Service excellent.

Room Tip: On weekends, there could be a wedding. Ask for a room not overlooking the wedding patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Perry Hotel is a nicely appointed, well located spot in Petoskey, Michigan.
The front desk is one flight down from the main lobby. It's off the parking lot, while the lobby leads in from the wrap around porch.
The feel of the hotel is like a nice place in the Adirondacks or Maine coast; friendly, antique style furnishings and even a small game room on the 3rd (and top) floor. The rooms are clean, comfortable and seem recently re-done. Most, if not all, have a balcony, many with chairs.
The hotel desk area has a small gift shop and around the corner a bar (which has different specials during the week).
On the lobby level, the dining room is very attractive with different seating areas outside, inside and a large picture window showing off the beautiful water view. Included in our room price was a $25 per day breakfast voucher. Each day my wife, my son and I went over the voucher amount, but you are eating in a spot above the level of a diner or IHOP. I wasn't impressed with the food, but I'm not a breakfast food person.
The parking could be a bit tight in the evening or when there are events like a wedding, but we where able to find spots in the bottom lot by the gallery/ museum.
All in all, it's a very nice place at.

Room Tip: consider asking for a room with seating on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thimotyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petoskey
1.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
1.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
738 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Perry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Perry Hotel

Property: Stafford's Perry Hotel
Address: 100 Lewis St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Perry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petoskey's only downtown lodging establishment is a charming, full service, boutique hotel that has been welcoming travelers since 1899. 75 individually designed guestrooms and suits, many of which are newly remodeled with individual climate controls, tiled showers and in room refrigerators. Larger suites and ADA accommodations are additional new offerings. Overnight stays at the Perry Hotel include vouchers for a full service cooked to order breakfast in the H.O. Rose Dining Room overlooking Little Traverse Bay or seasonal dining outside on the Lewis Street Porch. Evening activities include craft cocktails, local brews and pub fare in the Noggin Room pub. Downtown Petoskey is just steps away and features outstanding restaurants and unique shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Stafford's Perry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffords Perry Hotel Petoskey
Staffords Perry Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing