We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is a must stay! This is an old hotel, but you can tell that it is well taken care of. It was very clean. I was a little worried about the door to my room as you could see light through it, but I had a great night sleep. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The location of this hotel is great and was able to walk through downtown and enjoy the town without having to get in my car. I will definitely stay here again if I find myself in Petoskey again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redheadedyooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    148
    40
    23
    13
See reviews for
115
304
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
509 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

A classic hotel with wonderful common areas. This is what hotels with character should be. It is really nice and in a great location in downtown Petoskey.

The rooms are large and classically designed. The front desk and hotel staff were very friendly.

Highly recommend a stay at this historic spot. Really cool.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BHartMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
158 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent a night at the Perry while in town for a basketball tournament with our disabled son. The hotel is very well kept, and the check-in went very smooth. When we arrived at our room it was quite small and had two double beds. Our son, would not have done well in the room and we returned to the desk where the clerk immediately moved us to a larger room with two queen beds which worked much better for us without an upcharge. The only issue we had with the room is that it just didn't get warm. The thermostats didn't appear to work and we did contact the front desk once but it didn't really get any warmer. The bathroom had been renovated recently and was well appointed. Water pressure was good which with older properties you don't always get. Bed was comfortable, WiFi worked fine, had a flat screen TV and was clean. We had dinner in the Noggin room after the game and even though the kitchen was closing we were able to get what we wanted and it was all very good. The pizza was really good and I enjoyed their spaghetti while others had sandwiches and salad. No complaints. We didn't really use the spa or exercise area due to time. Part of the group had breakfast and said it was good but expensive (if you book on-line it's not included) and the server had an edge when she learned we booked on-line for some reason. The hallways reminded me of the Overlook Hotel in The Shining, and I suspect there could be a ghost or two roaming the hallways but for me that was a fun part of the experience. We are planning a getaway this summer and think that the Perry will be high on our list of options.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We live in mid-Michigan, and have stayed at the Perry regularly over the past 10 years. It is lovely historic hotel, with nicely appointed rooms. The view is fabulous, the service is outstanding, and the room have unique charm. We especially enjoy the common sitting area near the fireplace, and the wraparound porch when the weather permits. The Stafford is walking distance to several wonderful downtown Petoskey restaurants, and the bar on the lower level of the hotel usually has live entertainment which is a great way to end a day. This is one of our favorite "go-to" places to unwind.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I spent a weekend in the middle of a great ski season at this well-known old hotel. it is about a half-hour from Boyne Highland, where I skied. The hotel has lots of charming furniture, ornaments, and atmosphere. The front lobby abutting the dining area is beautiful. The rooms were nice and I felt comfortable. My room had a gas fireplace, a nice touch.

The room prices were OK, and I was able to get an upgrade for my room without paying more.

I used the workout room, which was OK, though it was a little dark and somewhat cold.

The staff were both helpful and flexible, which I find to be particularly important when I travel. For instance, they were able to prepare a breakfast for me to take with me when I left very early in the morning to catch my flight (i.e., I left the hotel before breakfast started).

One thing I did not like was that the rooms do not have individual climate control, because of the age of the hotel. After skiing, I like to warm up by cranking up the temperature but this was not possible.

Room Tip: For an extra $5 per night, you can get a refrigerator in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ddan7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Stafford’s Perry hotel is a block in from the bay with some rooms having an unobstructed view of the bay. This property has history all over inside of it. The lobby area is very well kept and to say nice would be an understatement. All of the rooms feature a story to go with. Once inside the room you may find them to be small in size, ours, room 322, certainty was. Though small, the room is well maintained and clean. Ours had two beds that did not offer the best comfort, but also did not leave me complaining in the morning. The TV, if that is important was very small (less than 20”). Hotel has a small workout area and small hot tub. I would stay again, Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmtripsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I recently stayed at The Perry hotel in Petoskey, Michigan. My family and I traveled to northern Michigan to get in a few days of skiing at Nub's Nob. As it was the weekend before Christmas, the hotel as well as the city were pleasantly active but not crowded with the post Christmas rush.
We purchased their Holiday Shopping package, which probably (for us) wasn't the most cost effective way to go. I misunderstood the terms of the package and was left with useless vouchers at the end of the stay. All in all, the room was historic and pleasant with plenty of room to accommodate our gear. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The location is terrific for winter sports (Nub's easy 5 mile drive). I probably won't stay here again, however, as I welcome some of the amenities found in newer properties (coffee makers, etc.). For a historical property in a lovely town , the Perry does a great job.

Room Tip: The staff was very helpful in helping us select the right room for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lughsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Petoskey
Super 8 Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Perry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Perry Hotel

Property: Stafford's Perry Hotel
Address: 100 Lewis St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Perry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petoskey's only downtown lodging establishment is a charming, full service, boutique hotel that has been welcoming travelers since 1899. 75 individually designed guestrooms and suits, many of which are newly remodeled with individual climate controls, tiled showers and in room refrigerators. Larger suites and ADA accommodations are additional new offerings. Overnight stays at the Perry Hotel include vouchers for a full service cooked to order breakfast in the H.O. Rose Dining Room overlooking Little Traverse Bay or seasonal dining outside on the Lewis Street Porch. Evening activities include craft cocktails, local brews and pub fare in the Noggin Room pub. Downtown Petoskey is just steps away and features outstanding restaurants and unique shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Stafford's Perry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffords Perry Hotel Petoskey
Staffords Perry Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing