We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lillac Lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 8 Petoskey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lillac Lovers”
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We did not have reservations at the Terrace Inn. My husband grew up in Petoskey, Michigan and took me to see where he stayed as a child. The woman at the front desk was more than helpful and she even gave us a tour. We were shown a number of rooms but we absolutly fell in love with room number 203, the Lillac Lovers room. The room was lovely, and it was exactly what we needed for our trip to the States. We only stayed one night, but we will definately be back for a much longer stay!

  • Liked — The helpful employees, and our beautiful room
  • Disliked — Everything was great!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pohluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    81
    20
    15
    9
See reviews for
51
167
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chelsea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2008

What a delight to spend a little time in a quaint hotel nestled in the Bayview community. We enjoyed the charm of a bygone era, with the lovely decor, delicious dining room and warm, friendly people. Plans to return next year are on the drawing board!

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsea073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We saw TI online and it looked nice but we were weary, as we've been to other "restored" accommodations only to find cheap cosmetic jobs and shabby chic. Sure enough, using the literal definition of restored, they either stopped when they ran out of money or they don't know what the trade definition of restored means. This place is shabby chic, period. As a shabby chic hotel it works just fine. It is clean, staff are friendly. Electric fireplaces from Menard's/Home Depot does not make for restoration. Neither does Home Depot fixtures, sheet vinyl flooring, old furniture painted purple, etc. Just be forthright and state you're shabby chic on the website, that's all. Then there were the small annyances that went beyond chic and were just shabby. broken shades on windows, wimdows with missing parts (so flies got in), the faucet han dle that falls off in your hand, the floor so slanted they has to re-cut the doors, the buckled paneling, etc etc. That said, there were plenty of happy folks in the lobby and porch. If you have high standards and you assume it will be a truely restored, stop at the dining room. I suspect they did a good job there, saw how much it cost, and then went shabby chic on the rooms. It'd be more tolerable if it were budget priced to reflect what it really is. Also, spalled/broken bricks on the front chimney painted over....um, not restoration...more shab chic. Just be up front on the website....the site with the carefully selected photos of rooms to give the appearance of being something it is not. Now I have to go kill some more flies.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank throatwobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terracePetoskey, owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 November 2008
After finding this review by chance..I discussed it with all staff..checked the room, and reviewed every page of our website. Staff had no idea that these gentlemen were unhappy during their 3 night stay.and had they known they would have addressed their concerns by 1. letting them move to another available room 2. give them a discount 3. fixed the problems they could in the room and/communicated with us (the owners) so we could. They could have cancelled their last night stay within our policy in fact. We are just sorry they didn't speak up..because we are all very approachable and happy to accommodate our guests. Our guests happiness is our priority. Since that review..we've fixed the legitimate complaints in the room, i.e. the sink faucett, the blinds, and the windows need new ropes which are scheduled for repair this month. These are original and require a specialist to repair with knowledge of historic architecture. The Inn was never meant to be Victorian, formal, fancy, but in 1911 a summer cottage style resort..relaxed and comfortable. The antiques are simple mission-style ..and many are painted. I don't know about shabby chic, it is not new furniture "made" to look old...it's original. As finances allow we will continue updating with quality lighting that fits with the style, the slanted floors and adaptation to the building as it settles will not change, but we will continue taking care of it the best we can. As far as the website goes..there are photos of all the rooms available..we did not select photos of just certain rooms...it is as accurate as we can be in describing such a unique place. Thanks and we are sorry these guests left unhappy
Patty and Mo and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Terrace for a long weekend in early July. The Inn has great character... It is a beautiful old place that is well-maintained and appointed with antiques from its time period. We had a third floor room with plenty of light on the NE corner. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was large. Breakfasts are good and dining on the terrace is wonderful.

The Inn is in a neighborhood of historic homes. Definitely take a walk around the neighborhood with a map provided by the Inn. The history of this "development:" is interesting and the buildings are architecturally significant.

We also had dinner at the Terrace' on Friday night. The ,meal was outstanding -- worth making a reservation!

And a final word about the staff: Mo (the owner with his wife, Patty) is a terrific host. He attends to the details of the Terrace and is extremely knowledgeable about things to see and do in the area. We had a number of great conversations with him! And he and Patty even have an "artist-in-residence" program at the Inn where they invite an artist to stay for free while also displaying the artist's work in the lobby. (The halls are also adorned with the original works of many local artists.) The entire feel of the place is warm and inviting.

As far as activities, the area is terrific for cycling. If you have questions about nice rides in the area, stop in and see Chet at Revolution Cycle in Charlevoix. Chet is another nice guy who is only too happy to offer maps, tips and directions to some of the nicest bike riding you'll find. Special highlight: the "Tunnel of Trees" ride...

  • Liked — The staff and the historic structure
  • Disliked — Climbing the stairs. It was a good workout!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PN_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mishawaka,in
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Our stay at the Terrace Inn was pleasant and relaxing. The inn has retained the charm of its 1915 construction. Patty and Mo were gracious hosts ready and willing to accommodate. Perry the chef prepared such wonderful meals that made it a difficult decision to dine anywhere else. The inn is nestled in Bay View. This settlement of nicely landscaped and decorated Victorian homes made our morning and evening walks scenic and interesting. Looking forward to our next stay.

Dennis & Linda Demers

  • Liked — Relaxing location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms were small
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishawakatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2008

I love staying at the Terrace Inn. This is the third year I've stayed there. I had visited the Inn for dinner when the previous owners were managing it. The improvement is very apparent. The atmosphere is comfortable, the staff is friendly and courteous, the food is outstanding. I recommend the Chicken Hemingway.
Yes, there are glitches every now and then but the ambiance more than makes up for it. If you are looking for the thoroughly modern hotel/motel you won't like it but if you're looking for atmosphere... it's there in spades.

  • Liked — the ambiance
  • Disliked — There isn't anything I didn't like about it
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lizingrandhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicoleo13
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2008

The Terrace Inn was definitely the best choice of stay that I could have made. I felt at home in a nice, cozy atmosphere. The service and cleanliness was outstanding. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — great service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoleo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petoskey
2.0 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
687 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
738 reviews
3.6 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
115 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant

Property: Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant
Address: 1549 Glendale Ave, P. O. Box 266, Petoskey, MI 49770-5021
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant is located in the Bay View Association near Petoskey, Michigan near Lake Michigan and Little Traverse Bay. The Inn has been in continuous operation since 1911 with a restaurant on site and more recently a full bar. Bay View is a Summer Chautauqua and part of the National Movement that began in the late 1800's when culture and a holistic approach and bringing it to the people was as important then as it is now. Transportation was by railroad and ferry as cars were not popularly utilized until the 1930's in this area. The Inn has 38 rooms on four stories. The main floor has 5 rooms, the second and third floor 19 rooms and the lower level tea room was converted to a pet friendly apartment in 2014. The Inn must maintain historic preservation guidelines..therefore all windows/glass is original with ropes, dressers are 1910 and original, many iron bed frames are authentic and air conditioners are in the windows except the dining room which has a mini-split unit. Rooms have electric heaters built in the walls and some suites were created from 2 rooms joined together. Wifi has been updated, small LCD TV's added and private bathrooms in all room. Suites have jetted tubs, mini-frig, microwave, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing