We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accessible Room, Terrific Management”
Review of AmericInn Petoskey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Petoskey
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Accessible Room, Terrific Management”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Nice hotel overall, but an exceptionally nice accessible room. Large bathroom with roll-in shower and reclining chair with electric lift to assist getting out of chair (see pictures).

Friendly staff, complimentary coffee and fruit at front desk all day. Nice pool and spa. Large, well-staffed breakfast room with good presentation. Very good Wi-Fi. I almost gave this a 4 rating because the mattress was starting to show its age and there was only a tiny awning protecting the entrance from the rainy downpour at my arrival.

Everyone seems to be working hard to make this one of the best Super 8’s in the chain. When I complimented one of the housekeeping staff she told me it was a team effort. Very good hands-on management.

Debby and Dan were both very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    192
    56
    19
    25
See reviews for
285
190
53
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Have never stayed at a Super 8 but this one was Super! Great view, very clean,very quiet , comfortable beds and great rate for this area. So glad we stayed there and probably will again. Asked for a room with a view and got it. Second floor but no elevator which was not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCCGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I was on a motorcycle camping trip through Northwest Michigan. It started to rain so I had to find better shelter for the night. I found this Super 8 on TripAdvisor and it was highly rated so I made a reservation on my cell phone.
I was extremely pleased to find a really nice room with a reclining chair, quiet a/c and super clean everything. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and welcoming. The best thing was that they offered a nice buffet breakfast that was really pretty good. Previously I had always chosen Holiday Inn Express because of the free breakfast. But they are starting to get expensive. This Super 8 was just as nice, maybe even better, but I paid less than $100 for a single room.
I would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: They do have many handicap rooms, and they gave me one of those even though I am not handicapped. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were here for a wedding and this is where the wedding had a block of rooms, so we stayed here. I can't believe we paid OVER $120 as the SPECIAL RATE at an old poop-hole like this! Don't bother. There are so many cool privately owned places in the area that are so much nicer and less smelly.

Room Tip: Keep your expectations very low
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank amandahugnkiss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynard, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed here while in Petosky for a wedding at nearby Bay Harbor Village. My room was very clean, which is always a major concern of mine. The staff was incredibly friendly and always made sure to say hello and ask if I needed anything when I passed them in the halls and the lobby. The quality of the continental breakfast was a welcome surprise. When I hear the phrase "continental breakfast" I've come to expect nothing more than dry muffins, cereal, and fruit that's passed its prime. The breakfast at the Super 8 Petosky, however, included hot fresh waffles, hot oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy alongside bagels, cereal, juice, and coffee. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

For the life of me I can't understand why this property gets good reviews. I was so expecting much more. Lobby decorated in very old decor and didn't appear clean. The room had not had the air conditioner on (it was 102 degrees outside) and the room smelled very stale and musty. I will have to say that the front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fair but appreciated

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kovendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I chose Super 8 Petoskey based on its location in relationship to our trip plan. It was a very pleasant surprise. The front desk staff at night and in the morning were both very friendly and helpful. Cookies and snacks were offered free at the front desk. The breakfast was definitively a PLUS, and the breakfast staff was great. I went in for more coffee after closing and she actually asked if I wanted anything else. The pool and hot tub were both larger than most and very pleasant. It is an older facility, but it is clean and well maintained. Ask for a parking lot view. It also gives you a beautiful (obstructed) view of the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a parking lot view. It also gives you a beautiful (obstructed) view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.4 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
685 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Petoskey

Property: AmericInn Petoskey
Address: 2645 Charlevoix Ave, Petoskey, MI 49770-8524
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Petoskey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#2 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Petoskey 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AmericInn Petoskey hotel has lake-view rooms, and is a great home-base for exploring regional attractions. We are close to Odawa Casino and the shopping center. Whether you are our guest for just one night or an extended stay, we offer comfortable accommodations at a great price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Petoskey
Super Eight Petoskey
Petoskey Super Eight
Petoskey Super 8
Super 8 Hotel Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing