We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot recommend this hotel”
Review of AmericInn Petoskey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Petoskey
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I cannot recommend this hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent two nights; loved the town. I write a lot of reviews and let the petty stuff go, however, the manager, Dan, is unprofessional.
It's your typical Super 8 motel. They use outdated bed spreads that I hope are cleaned between customers. The television in old fashioned. I have read reviews where the rooms have been updated but our room did not appear to be updated.
We arrived late the first night and were assigned a room on the second floor; there is no elevator so we had to drag our suitcases up a flight of stairs; I can get over that. There was another family checking in the same time we did on the second floor; father was on crutches and struggled to get up the stairs (we helped his daughter get their suitcases up the stairs).
I didn't sleep well because you can hear doors slamming, people in the hallway, and people in the room next door.
I went down for breakfast early and asked what time it ended, the man at the desk (whom i did not realize at the time was Dan) said, "8:00, so we can save on food costs." I could not tell if he was joking but I thought it was a strange comment. Breakfast ends at 10:00.

We left after breakfast and the house keeping staff was right outside our room.
However, when we returned from a day at the bay and beaches at 6:00, we wanted to take showers and go out for dinner. Our room hadn't been cleaned and there were no clean towels. I called the front desk.
At 6:27, I received a call from manager Dan. He wouldn't even let me talk. He asked if I could just wait 5 minutes for towels. I told him that I had already been waiting for 30 minutes. He proceeded to tell me that his grandson just got in the states, his medical concerns, and that he lives 45 minutes away. He told me that he "didn't give a **** about my **** towels". [**** = It is pretty bad when I cannot even repeat the profanity that the manager said to me on tripadvisor.]
We got towels and toiletries but our room was never cleaned. fyi, each room is assigned four little pool towels so there weren't any additional towels in the pool area. The four towels in the room are also small and not very absorbent and since we had already taken showers the night before, they were still wet.
The next morning, I met Dan when checking out. I asked to have our room checked so there would be no additional fees (after reading other reviews). He told me that he was insulted, refused to go upstairs and check my room, and stated there would be no additional fees. (There are signs posted in the room that there is a $12 charge for towels, sign posted in breakfast room for $7.50 to fill your thermos, and smoking charge). He accused me of "yelling at staff in front of a lobby full of people." I tried to tell him that I did not do that since I had called down to the front desk but once again he wouldn't let me talk, turned around and went into his office.

When I made reservations, this hotel was ranked #2; I use tripadviser all the time and find the reviews spot on. However; the reviews appear over inflated for this hotel; probably because they have cards printed up at the front desk requesting comments on tripadviser with instructions.

However, the lady who checked us in and the breakfast staff lady were very friendly.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor. There isn't an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MidMoMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    192
    56
    19
    25
See reviews for
285
190
53
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I normally do not stay at super 8s, however this super 8 exceeded my expectations. The rooms are comfortable and updated. I did think it was a littly pricey for the quality. The breakfast was what I had expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oogma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very unprofessional management by Dan Grangood!! He felt it necessary to let it be known in front of other customers that he did not agree with the hospital room rate we and other family members were given.The rooms were reserved in advance and when we checked in our room rate was more than we were quoted. Also we were going to be charged extra for our 14 year son because according to Mr. Grangood "children this age eat like adults at the breakfast that is offered". No where is this extra charge for a child disclosed on their web site or when a room is reserved by phone. We were made to feel by Mr. Grangood that he was doing us a "big favor" by giving us the room rate we were quoted and not charging us extra for our son. We have never been made to feel so unwelcomed at a hotel/motel before. We had reserved a second night but due the the way our family was treated we took our business elsewhere. The experience was even worse for our oldest son and his family!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel/motel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Horrible management by Dan Grangood. Disrespected my entire family that booked rooms ahead of time to be there for our newborn child. He changed prices, was extremely argumentative, and to boot called police to escort me, my 9 month pregnant wife ( c-section scheduled for 715 next morning) and two young children off the property at 12am because we complained to much ie.(price change, scissors left on bed when we walked in, disrespectful staff, no ironing board in room, and family not able to check in due to reservation issues) and "distressed" him. Also treats his staff terrible as we'll. By far the worst hotel experience I have had.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JHFrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice view of the bay. Found the hotel to be immaculate, and the staff very friendly and informative. While this hotel is obviously not "new", all of the amenities were there, fridge, microwave, pool. They have a great breakfast and free coffee, cookies and fruit in the lobby.

Room Tip: 2nd story has better views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel is clean and staff were very nice and accommodating. The beds were hard, however, and not very comfortable; it was also difficult to regulate the temperature in the room. The hotel is on Hwy 31 and thus very noisy, which made it difficult to get any sleep. The breakfast area was fine and the attendant very accommodating as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawas City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Full, beautiful view of the bay on the second floor. Friendly staff and extremely clean rooms, hallways, and common areas. Very quiet, too! Comfortable beds and pillows! Great pool area! My favorite part was the breakfast room: very large room where there were plenty of tables with many choices of food. I will stay there again - definitely. Clean parking lot and a short drive into the touristy areas. Very reasonable rates!

Room Tip: Second floor away from the pool were extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.4 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
681 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Petoskey

Property: AmericInn Petoskey
Address: 2645 Charlevoix Ave, Petoskey, MI 49770-8524
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Petoskey
#2 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Petoskey 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AmericInn Petoskey hotel has lake-view rooms, and is a great home-base for exploring regional attractions. We are close to Odawa Casino and the shopping center. Whether you are our guest for just one night or an extended stay, we offer comfortable accommodations at a great price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Petoskey
Super Eight Petoskey
Petoskey Super Eight
Petoskey Super 8
Super 8 Hotel Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing