We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I LOVE this restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Roses Cafe

Four Roses Cafe
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Plainwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a wonderful little restaurant that is sort of replacing another wonderful restaurant in Plainwell called Arie's Cafe. It is absolutely a wonderful new restaurant.
Constantine, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I LOVE this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend and I both love this restaurant. Everything I've had; has been great. We have to make ourselves try other restaurants, because we can't go here every week, but it's that good that we could go every week. My only issue is we go out the same day every week and 4 Roses menu seems to be the same on Wednesday every week, although I do know the other days have different menus, I just wish they varied the days. Just a great restaurant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    24
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive to Plainwell!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Four Roses Cafe has many things to offer. Their pizza, their specials, their regular menu and their desserts are all worth the drive to Plainwell. Their Guiness Beef, Whitefish Grenoble and Chili Flank Steak with Gorgonzola cream sauce are all favorites of mine. They have the best desserts in all of southwest Michigan. Don't miss the Sticky Toffee Pudding or Amaretto Coconut Cream Pie. Plan to share..these desserts are decadent!! My husband and I often leave other local restaurants and drive to Four Roses just for the desserts…once you have been there you will understand that rationale!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cathympinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our second time here and so delightful. Our waitress was excellent, friendly and knowledgeable. I had the grilled romaine salad again and - wow - it is sooo good. Followed up with tenderloin tips. Just excellent. Not too expensive for what you get.
Reservations only for large parties.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moeyshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Blackboard Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Have visited for dinner on 3 different occasions and all meals have been delicious. I like that they have a menu that changes constantly so there are no printed menus. I see it as an adventure. The only drawback to this is that during one visit I ordered one meal and a different meal was brought because they did not have what I ordered. Unfortunately I wasn't consulted in this substitution. I was with a large group so accepted the substitution and I admit it was very good. However, I would have appreciated being given a chance to choose.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
184 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We've been here several times for Dinner and have always had a good meal with great service. They've offered us tastes of several beers and foods for us to try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GroovyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Four Roses Cafe also viewed

Plainwell, Allegan County
Plainwell, Allegan County
 
Plainwell, Allegan County
Plainwell, Allegan County
 
Allegan, Allegan County
Plainwell, Allegan County
 

Been to Four Roses Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing