We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice pet friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plainwell
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice pet friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is immaculate and furnishings are up-to-date and nicer than most hotels at this price level. The front desk clerk was very friendly and gladly changed our room from the second floor to the first at our request when we found out there is no elevator. We were travelling with our dog and preferred to be on the ground floor. The indoor pool area is beautiful and we enjoyed both the pool and the hot tub. The mattress was a little more firm than we are used to, but othen than that, the bed was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was also nicer than most and included scrambled eggs and sausage along with all the usual offerings. We enjoyed everything about this hotel and would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem for you, be aware there is no elevator, so request a room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_and_J_in_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    35
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
17
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Central Indiana
Level Contributor
261 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here while skiing at Bittersweet. It is a relatively new hotel with a nice pohitachi tub and lobby. The breakfast was nice and typical. It is located next to a Big Boy restaurant with other dining options just a mile down the road.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierDady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, IL
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed for two nights in February 2012. We had two small dogs and were charged $15 per night per dog which I thought was a little excessive. I knew about the charge from my web research but I thought it was notable that it was not mentioned when I made reservations or when I checked in, even though I told them I had pets. The room was comfortable and clean - had a nice flat screen tv and lots of outlets. The breakfast (complimentary) was much better than the average hotel breakfast. Had hardboiled eggs, yogurt, many breads, pastries, cereals, scrambled eggs (powdered) and sausage, juice, and some EXCELLENT make-you-own waffles. The cinnamon flavor was so good it did not need syrup. Complimentary USA Today papers. Adequate pool and jacuzzi. Small but surprisingly nice fitness center and business center with free printing up to 20 pages. Free wifi throughout property which was fast enough. Only place in town! Next to Big Boy, close to Walmart.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annmarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I've stayed here two times while working in the area and have had no complaints at all. I would definitely stay there again and would also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaruinsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed last week. Rooms were nice and breakfast was good.

Night clerk, Crystal, didn't even make eye contact or say thank you when we checked in. I'm spending $85 I expect a little friendlier service. Felt as if we were interupting her solitaire game or something.

Morning clerk was friendly, however.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixguy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was a very nice hotel, very convenient to Route 131, and near shopping & restaurants. The rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was the typical Comfort Inn continental breakfast. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I were visiting family in the area and after checking Trip Adviser reviews, settled on the Comfort Inn in Plainwell. By the layout of the exterior, this is an older hotel. The lobby was nice, as most hotel lobbies are, but too often the rooms are disappointing. Check-in was easy and a first floor room as requested was provided. I had also requested a room free of pets. I have nothing against animals, I just don't care to sleep in the same room which they have occupied. Our room was very newly re-decorated and there was no evidence of pet smell. We had two queen size beds. The linens were fresh and the beds firm and very comfortable. It was quiet and we both got a great nights sleep. The bathroom was spotless (an absolute MUST for any hotel.) The bars of bath soap though, could have been larger.

Breakfast was self-serve and offered an excellent variety to suit any taste. Seating was in the lobby and limited. I noticed some guests sitting in lounge chairs with no table on which to place their breakfast items.

I have stayed at many Comfort Inns across the country and this ranks as one of the best. Booking your stay here is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Apparently there is no elevator, so if stairs are a problem, request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emlpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainwell
11.6 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
14.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
11.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#17 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 622 Allegan St, Plainwell, MI 49080-1211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Plainwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plainwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Plainwell
Plainwell Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing