We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at St. John's
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Detroit Livonia(Livonia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
159
62
17
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
62
17
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseconference centerbeautiful groundswedding receptionexecutive suitelazy rivergrand ballroombusiness meetingcatholic chapelhigh ceilingswedding venuehotel is beautifulvalentine's daycomfortable bedsbusiness hotelhotel roomdetroit area
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We had our wedding here and the service was great. However everyone that used their credit card at the hotel, golf course, or bar that weekend had there info stolen. Now our wedding is basically ruined because everyone just remembers how much of a hassle it was to get new credit cards. I spoke to a manager about this and they said they were a victim and they couldn't compensate in anyway. I am so frustrated that I saved for 2 years to have my wedding here in the grand ballroom and this happened. Obviously they do not care about people after they get paid. If they offered to compensate in some way I wouldnt be so frustrated but they basically said they can't do anything to try and make us happy. After talking to the manager I was even more upset because he was so rude when I questioned possible compensation. If they had a more secure system with latest software patches it should have prevented someone from being able to steal everyones credit card info. Do not trust these people with any credit cards!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdamC346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmjroj, Director of Sales at Inn at St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

In a time when technology is so integral to everyday interactions it is disheartening to think that certain individuals would prey upon the trust that exists between an establishment and their clientele, but the truth of the matter is that no one is immune to such acts as data breech credit fraud. Technology is forever advancing, and regrettably, The Inn at St. John’s and some of its customers fell victim to this reality last year. After launching an investigation with the Secret Service the source of the data breech was discovered and the appropriate actions taken to ensure the safety of all future transactions between merchant and customer. If a card issuer determines that an account was compromised, the card holder is not liable for unauthorized charges. We are pleased that all aspects of the wedding that were in our control, were positive and memorable for this couple. ~The Inn at St. John’s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We visited this property for a friends wedding. The venue was excellent, service was wonderful, food was delish, and the rooms were large, clean and well appointed. We had an issue with rooms mixed up at checkin but these things happen and the property managed to work it out. There was a weird situation where the bar closed during dinner at the wedding, (due to Michigan law?). However the lobby bar was fun and breakfast was ok. For Michigan this place is top notch, others in our party enjoyed the golf course as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYCadventure25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear NYCadventure25,

Thank you so much for your comments concerning your stay at The Inn at St. John's. We really appreciate it when guests take the time to review our property. We learn a great deal from guests who report that we need to improve in certain areas. We also enjoy it when guests recognize us for what we love to do...treat each person as an honored guest. I promise to work on the areas you sighted for improvement and continue to strive for excellence. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We went to a wedding here and the grounds and building are awesome. Once you get down to the details of the reception it went downhill fast. The dinner was almost 2 hours late, we had chicken fingers and fries which were cold and tasteless instead of the real chicken we ordered. The servers were slow, had attitudes, and complained to us when they dropped trays of food as if it was the guests fault. The place was so dark you could hardly see the plate in front of you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank dale123A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Dale123A,

Thank you for your comments concerning your experience at The Inn at St. John's. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. However, we value all feedback and attempt to learn from every guest's experience. You gave us a lot to think about and I promise that we will do better the next time you visit...which I hope will be very soon.

Best regards,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

5ive Restaurant is my go to place when I need to have a power lunch. Service is first rate and I never feel rushed. The food is always great. Wife and I come for dinner when we can.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The Inn is owned by the Archdiocese of Detroit, and still bears many of the characteristics from its time as a suburban Detroit retreat for clergy it was built as back in the 40s. The grounds and golf course are delightful, the restaurant was quite good and the staff generally friendly and attentive. We ate in the main restaurant, lounged in the bar and had an excellent lunch at the golf course restaurant. As we were there for a wedding, we enjoyed the banquet facilities (the Atrium room was very nice) and the nicely appointed guest rooms. Although we were there late summer, I'm sure the Inn is lovely in the fall, and would make a nice weekend headquarters for either a trip to Detroit, or a football weekend in Ann Arbor. Both are quite close. The town of Plymouth has many shopping and dining opportunities and worth an afternoon or evening of discovery. In short, although we were there for a wedding, we didn't experience any of the negative aspects of some of the earlier reviews, and would certainly concur that the dining experience at Five was better than to be expected from a hotel restaurant. We will likely go back next fall, bring our golf clubs and enjoy more of the Inn and Plymouth.

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise, ask for a room at the end of the hallway, away from the stairs and elevator, and one on the front side of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews