We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way is this a 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Reviewed 29 November 2008

I wish my only problem with this hotel was its fraudulent claim of being a 3 star property. That takes a distant back seat to the fact that this hotel is making me lose days out of my life due to an allergy attack and asthma problems because the rooms are infused with a cigarette smell covered up by room deoderizer. This is supposed to be a non smoking hotel with a penalty for smoking. If customers are incurring penalties for smoking, that money isn't being spent to remove the smoke smell from the rooms.

For the healthy people who don't understand -- imagine being sick and not being able to do anything you planned - unexpectedly. For those of you who suffer from allergies and asthma as I do, I say avoid this hotel like a plague.

Now for the ratings misrepresentation. This hotel has powdered cream for coffee. A real 3 star property would have real creamers for the coffee. This property has a work station chair that tilts forward and can't be adjusted - that makes it impossible to get comfortable so you can work on your computer. Also, there is no lowered level so you can type comfortablely on your computer. The pillows are masses of packed, mis-shapen polyester. The toilet paper is scratchy. There is a pop bottle remover attached to the plastic vanity. You pull the tissue out of a hole in the plastic vanity. The heating unit is not thermostat controlled. It's a manually controlled box by the windows. It's loud and you can't hear the TV over it. The furniture is among the cheapest I've ever seen. It's press board with wood colored paper laminate. It's like something from a best western, 20 years ago.

But my first complaint is that this place stinks and it puts people like myself - allergy and asthma suffers - at risk.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MichiganBusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 149 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2007

We loved it here. Stayed after a Pistons game. The room was immaculate, the hottub was relaxing, and the people were excellent!!!! We will definately stay again!!!!!!!!!!!!! A wonderful getaway for a mom and dad of 3!!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOLTLOKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2005

This year for our annual shopping trip we stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott. We chose this location because of its proximity between the two shopping malls we were planning to visit: Great Lakes Crossing and Somerset Collection. Both malls were a short trip north or south on I-75 (more on that below).

We booked the reservation through visitdetroit.com because they offered a package deal at a great price.

The hotel is business-traveler focused. When we checked in, they had me sign a notice recognizing that this was a quiet hotel, and room-parties were not allowed. This was fine by us, but something to consider depending on the size of your group and the reason for the visit.

The room was clean and spacious, even with all of our shopping bags. They even had a business office downstairs with free internet access available. The pool was pretty good, but the concrete could use some touch-up work. The pool was usually filled with kids, but there was an adult-swim time set aside too.

Breakfast wasn’t included in the price, but they had a very good buffet in the lobby each morning for $8.95. There are several restaurants right around the hotel, too.

Overall, the hotel was great!

One slight problem we had was navigating the highway construction getting to the hotel from I-75. Southbound you can get there by following the traffic pylons, but the northbound exit from I-75 is completely closed.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank_from_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2005

This courtyard is above average for the business traveler. The area it is located in is quiet, with a few restaurants right beside it. Checkin/checkout was easy. No issues with any features here. They now have wired high speed internet in every room.

Only minus to me, was that there was no complimentary breakfast or happy hour.

A decent basic place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EricElliott1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: las habitaciones que dan al frente del hotel tienen mejor vista ya que dan al parque, las otras dan...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabi0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lookatstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontiac
0.1 mi away
Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
2.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 17 in Auburn Hills
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
645 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#3 of 17 in Auburn Hills
330 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills

Address: 3555 Centerpoint Pkwy, Pontiac, MI 48341-3158 (Formerly Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Bloomfield)
Region: United States > Michigan > Pontiac
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Price Range: £70 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Detroit Pontiac is just west of I-75 and convenient to the surrounding communities of Bloomfield Hills, Auburn Hills, Troy, Rochester Hills and Birmingham. If you're in town for business, the Courtyard Detroit Pontiac can serve as your home while visiting, Chrysler, Volkswagen, EDS/Hewlett Packard, and Oakland University. This Pontiac hotel is also just minutes from Alpine Valley and Pine Knob Ski Resorts, Great Lakes Crossing Mall, DTE Music Theater and numerous fine and casual dining venues. Guests at this Courtyard Detroit Pontiac can enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner, at the Courtyard Bistro, as well as a refreshing dip in the indoor pool. With five different room types, some with mini-fridges and microwaves, this Pontiac hotel is the perfect spot for all types of travelers. For kids, we offer the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program - a great way to help your little traveler enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Pontiac/Bloomfield Hotel Pontiac
Courtyard Pontiac
Pontiac Courtyard
Pontiac Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing