We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Port Austin Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Austin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Austin Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Port Austin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here during mid october while deer hunting.Room was small but cheap and was within a short drive to my hunting area.Owner was very nice.Rooms are out dated like the 70"s but clean.I would probably get the bigger room next time. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Absolutely filthy, dirty and disgusting. I needed an alcohol/antiseptic shower after our stay there. To say the rooms are small would be a gross understatement. The location is nice, but factoring in the condition of the property, the cleanliness, and the size of the rooms, you would almost be better off camping. As a matter of fact, it was like we were camping. Absolutely gross. The extra money to stay somewhere else is totally worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I had my hesitations since you’re never quite sure what you’re going to get with the mom and pop hotels, but this one is definitely a keeper. It is an older motel but it has all the amenities (fridge, TV, high speed internet) and is very clean. It is located on a dead end street near downtown Port Austin. The beach and a beautiful sunset are just a short walk down the road. It has a friendly, quiet and laid back atmosphere, and unlike many motels, it is not uncommon for people to sit outside in the evenings and socialize, giving you a taste of small town America.

We stayed for just over a week and the owners made us feel right at home. We were high maintenance in that we were doing field work and had to continually ship and receive equipment. Throughout this, the owners were incredibly helpful and accommodating.

If I am ever back in the area, this is where I am going to stay.

Jen

PS for those of you who are environmentally minded, another bonus is that the owners recycle!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
6  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

wanted to say we had a lovely time here! it was close to town.. what 3 minutes? so your close to every thing and it is placed in a quiet area and the lake is a 3 or 4 min walk from room#7. now we broke down and at 10 pm we called mr ricou and he came right down and picked us up. in the morning he helped us get help for our truck and offered to drive us around.they were wonderful to chat with and ask them anything about the area and they have answers. i cant say enough about out time there and it is also the cheapest room up there and they said they take dogs for only 10.00 for your entire visit! well skillet is happy to know in two weeks were going back with her this time. may God bless you and port austin motel! p.s. they were 28.00 cheaper then the beach comber !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ray w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for one night to attend a friend's wedding in town. We booked this room because we were able to get one night on the weekend. Most of the hotels/motels/BBs in Port Austin have a two night minimum on the weekends. It was $100 for the night.

Positives: It is really close to the water. The owners are really friendly. There are some outdoor summer games available. There is a firepit. There are rooms with kitchens.

Negatives: The motel is rundown. The room was dark (there are very few lights). The carpet is worn and I would not walk on it without shoes. The walls are dirty with scuff marks and much wear and tear. The door is hard to open and unlock. The A/C is a window unit and it is loud. Also, it does not cool the second bedroom. The rooms smells very musty. It was overpowering. The bathroom is so small that an adult can touch the sink , tub and toilet with their legs standing almost normally.

Overall, I would not recommend this motel to other travelers. It was ok for us because we only needed a place to sleep. If there had been something else close-by and available, I would have not stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cleanhand13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Austin
15.6 mi away
Ameriway Inn and Suites
Ameriway Inn and Suites
#1 of 4 in Bad Axe
60 reviews
5.7 mi away
No photo provided
Whalens Grindstone Shores
#1 of 3 in Port Austin
1 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Motor Lodge
Lakeside Motor Lodge
#5 of 5 in Port Austin
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Harbor Beach Inn
Harbor Beach Inn
#1 of 1 in Harbor Beach
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Port Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Austin Motel

Address: 8761 Larned Rd, Port Austin, MI 48467
Region: United States > Michigan > Port Austin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Austin
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet side street between M25 and Lake Huron, the Port Austin Motel is your passport to a peaceful, relaxing getaway from the busy street yet just a few steps from the beach, one mile from the village center and within a few minutes drive to all local attractions. Enjoy our lush surroundings. Watch the many birds at the feeders and bird bath, read a book or just spend a lazy afternoon on our lawn furniture in the shade of huge spruce trees. Stroll to the end of the road and you will be on the beach where you can relax in the sand, play in the water, or simply watch an inspiring sunrise or a stunning, ever-changing sunset over Lake Huron. Charcoal grills and picnic tables invite you to have a family cookout or you may choose to visit any of the gourmet or family restaurants located throughout the Port Austin area. There is a book of menus in the office. At night sit around the fire, watch the dancing flames, roast a few marshmallows and gaze at the stars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing