We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice mom and pop place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Austin Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Austin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Austin Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Port Austin B&B and Inns
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice mom and pop place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The owners of this establishment are very friendly and helpful. It is obvious that they enjoy what they do. The rooms are small but very clean and well appointed. Yes, they are dated but that goes with the comfy feeling and the value given. It is only a short walk to a beautiful beach overlooking Lake Huron which we thoroughly enjoyed. We met some repeat guests at the bonfire and they also have enjoyed their times at Port Austin Motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was a very outdated Mom and Pop motel, but very clean and had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. We really enjoyed our stay here. On the first night, we had a nice bonfire in the fire pit on the grounds and met some other guests that were very nice. Pets are welcome so they were at the fire with us also, which was nice because I had left my dog at home, so it was nice to see pets there. The owners were very nice and it is in a quiet area. We walked down the road and saw Lake Huron with two eagles perched on rocks. Very nice stay and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 395Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel R, Owner at Port Austin Motel, responded to this review, 24 June 2016
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The owners were very friendly and helpful with suggestions for things to do/see in the area. The room was clean. The problems we had was that we stayed there at a really hot weekend in July, and the small A/C had a hard time keeping up. It was pretty warm and humid in the room but fine at night. We loved that Lake Huron was just two houses down the street. The downtown of Port Austin is close by. Overall, the motel is a bit dated but clean and we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The couple who run this motel were very friendly and helpful. The room was small but adequate. We enjoyed being able to have coffee in the room in the evening. We enjoyed the walk down to the end of the road to see Lake Huron. It is located near the entrance to the town and down a quiet lane. Internet worked great!

Room Tip: Some rooms are cheaper than others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was a nice place to stay....The room was small...but clean...the staff was friendly....we took our puppy and everyone was very kind to her....It can be hard to find a nice place that will allow our puppy but we don't travel without her and they were kind to her...It was a nice clean place to stay....near a nice beach and close to downtown....had an awesome 2 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyndi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel park,mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here during mid october while deer hunting.Room was small but cheap and was within a short drive to my hunting area.Owner was very nice.Rooms are out dated like the 70"s but clean.I would probably get the bigger room next time. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Absolutely filthy, dirty and disgusting. I needed an alcohol/antiseptic shower after our stay there. To say the rooms are small would be a gross understatement. The location is nice, but factoring in the condition of the property, the cleanliness, and the size of the rooms, you would almost be better off camping. As a matter of fact, it was like we were camping. Absolutely gross. The extra money to stay somewhere else is totally worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Austin
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Motor Lodge
Lakeside Motor Lodge
#5 of 5 in Port Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Austin Motel

Property: Port Austin Motel
Address: 8761 Larned Rd., Port Austin, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Port Austin
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Austin
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing