We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, just an average place to eat”

Palms Krystal Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 90 Restaurants in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In 1936 Beverly and Rubye Osborne were driving west from Oklahoma to California. They had no reason to be joyful. They were middle aged and the Depression had wiped out their savings. On this particular afternoon it seemed that everyone in the state was attempting to escape the famine of the Oklahoma dust bowl. With not much more than their meager belongings and a basket of fried chicken, Beverly Osborne coaxed his Ford pickup across the barren prairie. Suddenly, a bump in the rutted road scattered the chicken and basket. Picking it up, Rubye complained "this is really Chicken in the Rough®." With that chance remark, a fortune was born. Beverly turned his truck around and headed back home. A man who, on instinct, had made a modest fortune and lost it - Beverly reasoned that "fingers were made before forks" and that chicken could be a cheap source of food at a time when incomes were sparse. Beverly learned from his previous business experience and failures that every business must provide customer satisfaction by identifying customers' needs and how to satisfy those needs better than anyone else. Soon, with the money he had received from the sale of his wife's wedding ring, he had an operation serving fried chicken with shoestring potatoes, hot biscuits and honey. That was the delectable meal that started "Fast Food - Fried Chicken Franchising" - long before McDonald's or Kentucky Fried Chicken.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed, just an average place to eat”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We're disappointed, the reviews we read gave us the impression it was a great place, I had the pastrami ( Montreal smoked meat ), one bit and that's all I had, won't be in a hurray to return, been there before, the chicken is better but just average, the place in general is getting quite tired, definitely seen better days.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zymelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    73
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great diner experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were meeting a friend for lunch and had no idea where to meet. The sign for chicken caught our eye.
Perfect old diner. Staff are very friendly food was as a diners food should be fried, nice sized portions (not overly large)
Parking put back, dark and smallish interior but if you like Diners this is a great spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterlooGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food and Service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The food has been excellent and service is expedient and friendly. The facility is a bar/restaurant combination that is darker as most bar type restaurants seem to be. Most people go there for the chicken as it is their specialty.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This is where you go to eat chicken in Port Huron”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The place has a tacky (in a good way) interior that seems to suit the restaurant perfectly for some reason. The menu is pretty simple and nothing fancy, but that is because they are a place that specializes in one thing. When you eat somewhere that focuses heavily on one thing, you expect them to get it right. Chicken on the rough does not disappoint. They know how to fry up some fresh poultry like nobody's business.

The place is very affordable and worth checking out if in the area. For those that appreciate parts of the animal with a deep flavor, they know their way around a Gizzard and Liver as well. They give those parts the respect they deserve.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not great but pretty darn good”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I look forward to returning but I think all the hype left me expecting something a little more. The service was really good and the food too but I was expecting something to knock my socks off. I really like the atmosphere also.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palms Krystal Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Palms Krystal Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing