We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fried chicken, great service, pure Americana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palms Krystal Bar & Grill

Palms Krystal Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 84 Restaurants in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In 1936 Beverly and Rubye Osborne were driving west from Oklahoma to California. They had no reason to be joyful. They were middle aged and the Depression had wiped out their savings. On this particular afternoon it seemed that everyone in the state was attempting to escape the famine of the Oklahoma dust bowl. With not much more than their meager belongings and a basket of fried chicken, Beverly Osborne coaxed his Ford pickup across the barren prairie. Suddenly, a bump in the rutted road scattered the chicken and basket. Picking it up, Rubye complained "this is really Chicken in the Rough®." With that chance remark, a fortune was born. Beverly turned his truck around and headed back home. A man who, on instinct, had made a modest fortune and lost it - Beverly reasoned that "fingers were made before forks" and that chicken could be a cheap source of food at a time when incomes were sparse. Beverly learned from his previous business experience and failures that every business must provide customer satisfaction by identifying customers' needs and how to satisfy those needs better than anyone else. Soon, with the money he had received from the sale of his wife's wedding ring, he had an operation serving fried chicken with shoestring potatoes, hot biscuits and honey. That was the delectable meal that started "Fast Food - Fried Chicken Franchising" - long before McDonald's or Kentucky Fried Chicken.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great fried chicken, great service, pure Americana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you are in the Port Huron area you must stop at Palms and try the fried chicken. It is fabulous and the service is great. Don't be in a rush, because it takes about 20 minutes to receive your made to order entree. But don't worry, there is plenty of cold beer served by the pitcher to keep you satisfied while waiting on your chicken. The restaurant interior looks as if it hasn't changed since the 1950's. I love it! This is a great throw-back dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HotDogChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    58
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Morris, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“"If You LOVE Fried Chicken"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Then you must stop here! Chicken is cooked fresh as it is ordered. If you want to be in and out in 5-10 minutes, then you need to call ahead, because no chicken is precooked. The batter is not thick and crunchy, but lightly battered, seasoned and cooked to perfection. So good in fact, that we ordered a dozen more pieces to take home! Service was good and restaurant had a quaint atmosphere. Not very many people there while we visited, but the "Take Out Window" had several people waiting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GranteBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I've driven by this place MANY times over the years but never stopped in. Finally, last week we stopped and had dinner. The sign says "world famous chicken" so of course I'm going to have to see.... It was THE best chicken I have ever had. SO good. I can't wait to go back! Their "bloody Cesar" is their take on the Bloody Mary. Was incredible! Have I mentioned that I can't wait to go back yet? The inside is awesome. They have a 50s diner vibe going that I really liked. If you happen to be passing thru Port Huron, stop in and give it a shot!

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better Fried Chicken than "Down South"!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

It was indeed a very pleasant surprise to discover and revisit this rustic, simple restaurant in Port Huron. The menu changes and is diner friendly with its fried chicken mainstay. Palm Krystal Bar is a 1950s style area complete with a fairly sophisticated beverage menu and nostalgic stools. The service is swift and friendly. We have eaten in many Down South restaurants whom have touted excellent fried chicken, its usually already fried and reheated and too SALTY!! But @ Chicken in the Rough its made fresh, enjoy sharing the wonderful Traverse Cherry chicken salad
while waiting for your main course. We always order more than we can consume and enjoy it at a late time/date. What a find, can't wait to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed, just an average place to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We're disappointed, the reviews we read gave us the impression it was a great place, I had the pastrami ( Montreal smoked meat ), one bit and that's all I had, won't be in a hurray to return, been there before, the chicken is better but just average, the place in general is getting quite tired, definitely seen better days.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zymelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palms Krystal Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Palms Krystal Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing