We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great Michigan craft beers and excellent service”

Freighters Eatery & Taproom
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Freighters is a culinary destination situated on the St. Clair River, overlooking the serene Blue Water Bridge, giving each guest a truly unique dining experience. Freighters' Dine-In and Banquet Menus feature locally sourced menu options, which are specially created by our Corporate Executive Chef. Freighters is owned and operated by Meritage Hospitality Group, headquartered in Grand Rapids, Michigan. All Meritage restaurants invest in the growth and sustainability of this great state. Our Chef and Culinary Team work with local farmers, vendors and suppliers to provide the freshest, most flavorful menu options to our guests, while also supporting our local economy. Wake Up Double Tree Breakfast Buffet for $9.95. Start your day with our signature bountiful buffet offering fresh seasonal fruit, refreshing juice, granola & low-fat yogurt, hot scrambled eggs, breakfast meats and potatoes, house specialty hot entrees, assorted muffins, pastries, sweet breads, hot steel-cut oatmeal and an assortment of cold cereals.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great Michigan craft beers and excellent service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Ate there twice over Father's Day weekend and had two excellent experiences! Love the food and enjoy the many great Michigan craft beer options. The view of the Blue Water Bridge and passing freighters is amazing! Really enjoyed the music being piped in - great selection of tunes. Cheese cake with marshmallow toping was incredible way to top off a great meal. We'll be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cabbageguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHospitality, General Manager at Freighters Eatery & Taproom, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks for the amazing review! We hope to see you in again soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    137
    68
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Service is what makes or breaks restaurants, and the service we received in Freighters was abysmal. When we walked in there were several tables still covered in dishes and glasses from previous diners, and no one was making much of an effort to clear those off. We finally got sick of waiting for one, so I cleared a table myself to get us a place to sit.

After we finally sat down, it took over 10 minutes for someone to notice us enough to bring menus, and another 15 minutes before a waitress actually managed to come take our orders. Even after we ordered, actually getting the food and drinks was a chore - I don't believe the words "prompt" or "efficient" exist in the staff's vocabulary, "good service" certainly does not.

It is a large place, but inside the ambience and decor are very "meh", neither terribly inviting nor comfortable. The deck, with its view of the bridge and the river, has a view that is hard to beat.

We had drinks and appetizers - the beer selection was small, but did have some good craft brews to choose from. The menu was pretty typical sports-bar/pub fare, and the prices are definitely fair and competitive with the rest of the places in town. They do run a late-night happy hour (after 10:00pm) where drinks are $2 and appetizers are $3, and that is a great deal.

The food itself was not bad, although the quesadilla we had was extremely bland and tasteless. Probably the best appetizer was the hot wings, which had good flavor and were a nice bit of food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluelineAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHospitality, General Manager at Freighters Eatery & Taproom, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I wanted to reach out to you regarding your review detailing your experience at Freighters. My name is Dave Wilson, and I am the General Manager of Freighters. First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. Guests like you afford us the opportunity to get better. As it is our goal to serve Simply Impeccable Food & Drinks with Uncommon Hospitality, we clearly missed the mark.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you in person. I would first like to apologize to you, and secondly I would like to invite you back in to Freighters. I know we can do a better job, and we owe you that. If you are interested in talking, please send me a number and time that is convenient to talk, and I will gladly give you a call.

Cheers!
Dave Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, great view!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Freighter's Restaurant is located in the old Thomas Edison Inn. Freighter's has completely transformed what was a stodgy restaurant into a fun place with great food and an incredible view of the Blue Water Bridge and the St. Clair River.
We both ordered salads and I must say they were incredibly delicious with fresh ingredients. Can't wait to return. The restaurant celebrates Michigan made products and incorporates them into most of their dishes. Great idea.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilenemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewell, Iowa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“4 different meals but all great:”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife, college grandson, his girlfriend and I ate at Freighter's in Port Huron Friday, May 30. Besides being a new eatery in Port Huron and some construction still underway, the "tip of our hat" for a wonderful evening. My Lake Superior Whitefish, au dente vegetables, and rice were each flavorful in their own rite. My wife's steak and mashed potatoes: perfect. Our grandson's fish taco's were absolutely tops with a mixed garnish to crave while his girlfriend's mac, cheese and chicken was sharp with flavor. When we return to Port Huron there will not be a question but a return visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHospitality, General Manager at Freighters Eatery & Taproom, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We can't wait to have you back! Commit to the Mitt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch while watching the freighters go by!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were staying at the Doubletree by Hilton visiting family. Decided to try
The restaurant for lunch. Our server was fantastic (sorry can't remember his name but he has curly hair) and he knew the menu well. We ordered the nacho's, then a salad, Reuben, and chicken club. All were very tasty and beautifully presented.

Next time we're in Port Huron, we will definitely eat here.

Nice place!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHospitality, General Manager at Freighters Eatery & Taproom, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Mary,

Thank you for the awesome review of Freighters Eatery and Taproom! We hope you visit family again soon so you can stop back in!


Cheers!

Dave Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freighters Eatery & Taproom also viewed

 

Been to Freighters Eatery & Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing