We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible slow waitresses” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freighters Eatery & Taproom

Freighters Eatery & Taproom
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in Port Huron
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Freighters is a culinary destination situated on the St. Clair River, overlooking the serene Blue Water Bridge, giving each guest a truly unique dining experience. Freighters' Dine-In and Banquet Menus feature locally sourced menu options, which are specially created by our Corporate Executive Chef. Freighters is owned and operated by Meritage Hospitality Group, headquartered in Grand Rapids, Michigan. All Meritage restaurants invest in the growth and sustainability of this great state. Our Chef and Culinary Team work with local farmers, vendors and suppliers to provide the freshest, most flavorful menu options to our guests, while also supporting our local economy. Wake Up Double Tree Breakfast Buffet for $9.95. Start your day with our signature bountiful buffet offering fresh seasonal fruit, refreshing juice, granola & low-fat yogurt, hot scrambled eggs, breakfast meats and potatoes, house specialty hot entrees, assorted muffins, pastries, sweet breads, hot steel-cut oatmeal and an assortment of cold cereals.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Terrible slow waitresses”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Two days in a row we ate breakfast here. Both times, the waitress was slow as molasses on a cold summers night. Very forgetful also. We would NOT recommend this to anyone. Eat somewhere else if possible. They are pricey also.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 25YearCelebraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHospitality, General Manager at Freighters Eatery & Taproom, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Let me start off by apologizing for your two recent breakfast experiences at Freighters. My name is Dave Wilson, and I am the General Manager at Freighters. Our team takes your feedback very seriously, and I assure you they will work to improve on this. It is guests like you that give us that chance, by taking the time to let us know when we miss the mark.

I would like the opportunity to speak to you personally. First to apologize and secondly to invite you back in. I know we can do better, and we owe you that. If you are interested in speaking with me, please send me a number and time that is convenient for you to talk, and I will gladly reach out.

Dave Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    123
    68
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, fl.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Location is amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Have dined here 3 times now and enjoyed each time. The restaurant is located near the mouth of the St. Clair River, with spectacular views of the giant ships navigating the sharp river bend around Pt. Edward.This Michigan based franchise prides itself on using Michigan ingredients when possible.Try the Twisted House Salad, it,s fantastic as is the creamed mushroom bisque.I definitely will visit often.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHospitality, General Manager at Freighters Eatery & Taproom, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you, Ken! Commit to the Mitt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were traveling through town on our motorcycles and wanted to find a unique place to eat at. We found it here! The food was suburb! Our waiter was a great guy. And the fried pickles, they are a must try!! We have already decided that a trip up that way will be planned again and this will be where our group stops to eat!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harleychick75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We've come here a few times. Always had great service and great food. If you're in Port Huron for the day, definitely worth a stop!

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHospitality, General Manager at Freighters Eatery & Taproom, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Mark, how exciting to be on your list of places to stop in Port Huron! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice family place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I went here with my son, sister, and parents after the Sandfest! We just stumbled upon it driving towards downtown, hoping to find a nice local eatery. This place went way beyond our expectations! It was reasonably priced as well. Five of us with alcohol, our bill was about one hundred dollars. They are being affiliated with the Twisted Rooster in Chesterfield, which is also super yummy! It's so refreshing to find a place that is concerned with the local economy which serves fresh food; its main concern not being the bottom line.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freighters Eatery & Taproom also viewed

 

Been to Freighters Eatery & Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing