We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Congratulations Hilton, you restored a Grand Hotel and made it better. Great choice in Freighters. We stayed on the third floor with a view of both bridges, Freighters Restaurant and the Saint Clair River.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank alanmH3967QJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We are very proud of the hotel and the restaurant, Freighters! We look forward to welcoming you back with a warm DoubleTree cookie the next time that you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and some updates have been done. We had a new vanity but the tub and surround were old. Also we could hear people in the next room when in the bathroom.

The beds are comfortable and linens very clean. Down pillows and duvet was a nice touch.

Good excercise room. Larger pool and hot tub was a nice way to relax.

Only one elevator was working and took a long time. We took the stairs.

Overall a nice hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1211LANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! The hotel underwent a big transformation and we are very proud of the results. We will be replacing the tubs in the next year to year and a half. Our Sweet Dream beds are amazing and they allow guests to get a peaceful night of sleep! The fitness center has a great variety of equipment to use! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

In town with family for a funeral. They've done a nice job of revamping the outdated Thomas Edison Inn. Although I didn't get a chance to use amenities such as the exercise room or business center, this hotel seems like it would be a good choice for business and vacation travellers alike. I wouldn't call the hotel luxury or high-end, but the lobby is beautiful and the bed was comfortable. The rooms definitely need better lighting, but I was told that they will eventually be replacing all the lightbulbs with higher wattage bulbs. The hotel is close to downtown. Be sure to spend the extra money for a waterfront room. You can't beat the sight of the Bluewater Bridge lighted at night and freighters gliding past your window.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank lostvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! The owners put 11 million dollars into the property and the outcome is stunning! We have been working on improving our lighting in the room. We are very proud of the hotel and the changes have been amazing! Our water view rooms are breathtaking and I am glad that you enjoyed them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We loved our stay. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming. Breakfast buffet was great. Our room had a great view of the river with lots of boats to watch even in November!!! The staff always had time to speak to us and ask us how our day was. Thank you! We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank JanMCQWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton- Port Huron! I am thrilled that you enjoyed staying at the hotel! We pride ourselves on having great team members that engage with our guests! We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Hotel services great, rooms very clean, beds quite comfortable. Restaurant not so great, food merely adequate, service acceptable, ambiance directed at yuppies. Bar crowded and noisy, must transit bar to get to dining area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again with a warm DoubleTree cookie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Newly refurbished with all of the amenities. Friendly staff, good restaurant and very attractively priced. The hotel is located right on the St. Clair River and provides very nice views. The hotel was very quiet and we had an excellent dinner in the attached restaurant, The Freighter. The hotel also has a very nice gift shop with a wide variety of attractive and attractively priced merchandise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Paul Eugene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We are excited that you had an excellent stay at the hotel as well as having a delicious meal at Freighters! We hope that you will come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a beautiful hotel on the waterfront. It's very quiet and clean, in spite of being right under the international bridge. The front desk and housekeeping staff were very helpful. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast, but the restaurant is noisy at dinner. We will definitely return to this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for sharing your thoughts on your stay! A warm DoubleTree cookie will be waiting for you on your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Huron
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
531 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
5.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Port Huron
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron

Address: 800 Harker St, Port Huron, MI 48060-3011 (Formerly Thomas Edison Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Business Hotel in Port Huron
Price Range: £70 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron and you can enjoy spacious accommodations, modern amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Centrally located in Port Huron, Michigan, minutes from St. Clair County International Airport, this modern hotel is close to a number of Port Huron businesses including Domtar Paper Mill, Mueller Industries, Henkel and many companies related to the automobile industry. Enjoy easy access to Port Huron’s historic downtown area, with its specialty shops and waterfront eateries, the boardwalk and marina and the McMorran Place Sports & Entertainment Center.Each of the spacious guest rooms and suites at this Port Huron hotel feature modern amenities including; a 37-inch HDTV, a spacious work area, a microwave and mini-refrigerator, a comfortable Sweet Dreams bed, remote printing service and complimentary WiFi. Some guest rooms have balconies offering breathtaking views of The Blue Water Bridge and the St. Clair River. Wake up to a cooked-to-order breakfast every morning and enjoy classic American dishes in our relaxed hotel restaurant, Freighters. Maintain your exercise regime in the complimentary fitness center. Host a successful business or social event at this Port Huron, MI hotel with a variety flexible meeting spaces, including two spacious ballrooms, all offering complimentary WiFi and stay connected in the complimentary 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Edison Hotel Port Huron
Thomas Edison Port Huron
Thomas Edison Inn Port Huron Mi
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Port Huron Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing