We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night for a wedding. We had stayed here before when it was the Thomas Edison Inn. What a great job refurbishing the hotel. Rooms was model, clean and comfortable with higher than normal ceilings which give the illusion of more space.. Added bonus was the small fridge and microwave. What a pleasure to sit on the balcony and watch the river and all the boats and ships. Can't beat the view!! Shortly after we checked in the front desk called to make sure everything was satisfactory. Nice touch! Bed was very comfortable and the towels were very good. Nicely quipped gym with lots of windows and an indoor pool. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a water-view room!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leagle49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton- Port Huron. We appreciate your review and are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our property. We always enjoy hearing that guests that stayed at the Thomas Edison Inn appreciate the renovations that have been done. We hope to welcome you back soon with warm DoubleTree cookies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Beautified update of the Edison Inn along the river.While it is more upscale than it was in the past, the improvements make it all the more worthwhile. Happy Hour prices in the lounge are worth the trip alone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We appreciate your review of the property. We love when we have folks that used to stay at the Thomas Edison Inn and return to see the wonderful renovation of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

In the morning they need Coffee in the lobby as the restaurant is a long walk. On the room balcony they need cushions on the metal chairs. The bright light on the flag needs to be adjusted as its annoying on looking to the north.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for your review. We appreciate your suggestion about having coffee in the lobby and we feel that would be a great addition to our property and will definitely be something that we look further into. Also, the idea about cushions on the metal chair would make sitting and watching the water more enjoyable. I am glad you brought up the idea that light on the flag needs to be adjusted as I will be sure to share this with our maintenance team members. Thank you again for stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton-Port Huron, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

On the first morning there was nothing hot (bacon,sausage,eggs,french toast)available.20 minute wait for coffee is not acceptable.The buffett was excellent the next morning as everything was available.They may not have had enough staff on the first morning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton-Port Huron. We are truly disappointed to hear that your breakfast on the first morning was not held to a very high standard. We understand the importance of ensure that your morning is started off on the right foot. We will bring this up to the management team at Freighters and we will ensure that this does not happen in the future. We hope that the next time that you are in the Port Huron area that you will come stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton-Port Huron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay. Bed are very comfortable and rooms were clean. No lids on the toilet seat - that bothered us very much and no place close to the shower to hang your towels except the back of the toilet - with no lids. Would stay again for sure. Great restaurant - the food was great and the service was good. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We appreciate your reviews and are glad to hear that you had a great time at the property. We appreciate your recommendation about the property as we believe that this is a great hotel. We value your suggestion about the toilet seat covers and this could be a great feature in our bathrooms to help make guests feel more at home. We hope to welcome you back soon with warm DoubleTree cookies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The recent upgrades to the hotel have been finished and everything was great. Friendly, helpful staff and a great view. The rooms were big and comfortable. Pillows were a little soft, but a minor thing really. Access to shopping, golf or sightseeing was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton-Port Huron! We are honored to hear that you are pleased with the updates. The property is centrally located to downtown, the north end, golfing, and shopping, making it very easy to accomplish everything that you wanted to. We are so glad that you stayed with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The service and amenities at the hotel were excellant, no complaints. The warm cookies upon arrival was an excellent touch. However the info in the room said we could buy a tin of the cookies in the gift shop but that was not the case. We sure would have bought a tin. The restaurant however the food was good but the service from our waitress was disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Gayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton-Port Huron! We appreciate your 5 star review but we are disappointed to hear that you did not have great service at Freighters. Our property is very focused on ensuring that guests leave the hotel planning their next trip to the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron because they had such a fantastic time. The next time that you are at the hotel be sure to ask the Front Desk for a tin of cookies because they are able to order them! We cannot wait to welcome you back with warm DoubleTree cookies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Huron
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Huron
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron

Address: 800 Harker St, Port Huron, MI 48060-3011 (Formerly Thomas Edison Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Business Hotel in Port Huron
Price Range: £74 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron and you can enjoy spacious accommodations, modern amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Centrally located in Port Huron, Michigan, minutes from St. Clair County International Airport, this modern hotel is close to a number of Port Huron businesses including Domtar Paper Mill, Mueller Industries, Henkel and many companies related to the automobile industry. Enjoy easy access to Port Huron’s historic downtown area, with its specialty shops and waterfront eateries, the boardwalk and marina and the McMorran Place Sports & Entertainment Center.Each of the spacious guest rooms and suites at this Port Huron hotel feature modern amenities including; a 37-inch HDTV, a spacious work area, a microwave and mini-refrigerator, a comfortable Sweet Dreams bed, remote printing service and complimentary WiFi. Some guest rooms have balconies offering breathtaking views of The Blue Water Bridge and the St. Clair River. Wake up to a cooked-to-order breakfast every morning and enjoy classic American dishes in our relaxed hotel restaurant, Freighters. Maintain your exercise regime in the complimentary fitness center. Host a successful business or social event at this Port Huron, MI hotel with a variety flexible meeting spaces, including two spacious ballrooms, all offering complimentary WiFi and stay connected in the complimentary 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Edison Hotel Port Huron
Thomas Edison Port Huron
Thomas Edison Inn Port Huron Mi
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Port Huron Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing