We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, United States
1 review
“Relaxing Time”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

It's such a great location where you can sit on the balcony and watch the freighters come and go on the river. You also can watch all the traffic on the bridge going into Canada. Such a nice and relaxing evening.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We love to hear that you had a great time at our property. We hope to welcome you back soon with warm DoubleTree cookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    212
    62
    13
    8
See reviews for
197
334
26
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westpoint, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

If you stay during the workweek you will find very nice staff, the week-ends no. The rooms were clean and adequate. The views from the river rooms are gorgeous but not worth the extra money unless you plan on staying in your room the whole time. If you get breakfast at the attached restaurant, beware. There is wide variety but most of the hot stuff is cold.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. Our staff members work both the weekdays and the weekends and do a fantastic job for us. If you ever have any concerns about our staff members please feel free to reach out to me personally, as I want to make sure that you have a wonderful stay no matter if it is a weekday or weekend. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy the water view rooms as most folks appreciate the views of the water. We hope that the next time that you are in the area that you will come stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel was wonderful!!! Unfortunately, the food was not that good. They need to work on their food quality. But the hotel was great!! Wonderful views, clean, modern, up to date. Our housekeeper was wonderful also. Highly recommend the hotel, not the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 827heleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We greatly appreciate your review. The hotel offers clean rooms, friendly team members, and wonderful views. I apologize if you ran into any issues with the restaurant. Freighters is a great restaurant that cooks everything fresh and offers Michigan based food and drinks. We hope that the next time that you are in the area you will come and stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

1)Quite inadequate considering the rate 2) Safety issues in rm (specifically floor & tub areas)"slippery when wet". No exhaust fan Safety strips in tub inadequate. 3) Meal issues: Breakfast meats(bacon) under-cooked. Inadequate beverage served with evening banquet/buffet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. It was a great pleasure to host the Plymouth Car Club group but we are disappointed to hear that you had some issues with your stay. I wanted to address some of the problems that you ran into. The tubs have a liner in them to prevent them from being slippery, so I do apologize if you felt that they were. Also, there is an exhaust fan in the bathrooms. The breakfast foods should have been cooked all of the way and if you felt that they were not the breakfast servers could have gotten you some other bacon. We hope to welcome the group back soon and if you ever run into any issues please bring them to the attention of our team members as they strive hard to make sure that you leave here happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Beautiful view of the bridge, worth booking a view room. Clean, clean, clean! Great staff. Everyone friendly. Enjoyed pool. We live within an hour of Port Huron and like to do 1 night getaways. We will go back AGAIN. Very Affordable Sun. to Thurs. price. Weekends would be a little high for us!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We appreciate your review! It is great to hear that you came here for a getaway for a night as this is a fantastic location for nights where you just want to look at the water and have a peaceful night of sleep. We typically have lower rates on Sundays compared to the weekends and with living so close you have the flexibility to come on a Sunday night. We hope to welcome you back on your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Newly refurbished Classic Elegance at a fair price !! The Bar Freighters is Top Notch c/w a Gorgeous outdoor patio. You can Watch Canada Geese,and the Boat traffic And The Great Blue water Bridges!! The Rooms are Gorgeous,and Large well appointed with modern ,yet classic elegance!! Conveniently located at the end of the Interstate . If you like to Fish, its feet away. The pool is HUGE and WARM!! Exercise room Great!!

Room Tip: A river view is Best,but ALL rooms are Very good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for your wonderful review. We couldn’t agree more that the view is breath taking. This is a great location to come and relax. The pool and the exercise room are very spacious. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bluewater area-wonderful location. View of the bridges and river is good from any room balcony. Enjoyed being able to sit outside and enjoy the scenery. Hotel was first class with many amenities. Restaurant service and food was excellent. Enjoyed the pool facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We appreciate your review of the property and the wonderful recommendation that we received from you. This is a wonderful hotel with great features and a must stay hotel if you are traveling to the blue water area. We hope to welcome you back soon with warm DoubleTree cookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Huron
1.3 mi away
Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
5.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Port Huron
Fairfield Inn Port Huron
#4 of 10 in Port Huron
207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Huron
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Address: 800 Harker St, Port Huron, MI 48060-3011 (Formerly Thomas Edison Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Family Hotel in Port Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron and you can enjoy spacious accommodations, modern amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Centrally located in Port Huron, Michigan, minutes from St. Clair County International Airport, this modern hotel is close to a number of Port Huron businesses including Domtar Paper Mill, Mueller Industries, Henkel and many companies related to the automobile industry. Enjoy easy access to Port Huron’s historic downtown area, with its specialty shops and waterfront eateries, the boardwalk and marina and the McMorran Place Sports & Entertainment Center.Each of the spacious guest rooms and suites at this Port Huron hotel feature modern amenities including; a 37-inch HDTV, a spacious work area, a microwave and mini-refrigerator, a comfortable Sweet Dreams bed, remote printing service and complimentary WiFi. Some guest rooms have balconies offering breathtaking views of The Blue Water Bridge and the St. Clair River. Wake up to a cooked-to-order breakfast every morning and enjoy classic American dishes in our relaxed hotel restaurant, Freighters. Maintain your exercise regime in the complimentary fitness center. Host a successful business or social event at this Port Huron, MI hotel with a variety flexible meeting spaces, including two spacious ballrooms, all offering complimentary WiFi and stay connected in the complimentary 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Edison Hotel Port Huron
Thomas Edison Port Huron
Thomas Edison Inn Port Huron Mi
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Port Huron Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing