We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, good food”
Review of The Stone Lodge

The Stone Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Port Sanilac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dundee, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place, good food”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were up in the area for Valentine's weekend and wanted to come back here for dinner. We made sure that we had a reservation this time.

We arrived about 15 minutes early so we expected to wait for our table. While we were waiting the barmaid came and asked us if we needed anything to drink and took our order. Another staff member came along a few minutes later to ensure we were being taken care of. Before the barmaid could make the Valentine's special for my wife, they had a table ready for us.

The food was great (Salmon and walleye) and more than enough. We both took home our leftovers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    42
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clawson, Michigan
2 reviews
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Got the surf turf and earth, steak was good, service was good. Had sauteed frog legs as appetizer with a vodka martini, reasonable prices. Service was very good. No wait, we went on a saturday night. Overall great place. Lot of gluten free options, which was important to us!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fegpa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We have been going here for years and it just keeps getting better. Have not had a bad meal here yet. The fish and chips are a favorite. Ask for sweet potatoe fries

Helpful?
Thank Irisgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

There is a lovely restaurant in Port Sanilac called the Stone Lodge. It is just 10 minutes north of Lexington, MI and the drive makes for a really nice day away. It is an extremely cozy atmosphere done in warm wood tones and has a real northern Michigan flair. My husband and I have gone there several times and always had such a nice meal. I recently had their mushroom soup and had to send rave reviews to the Chef, best I ever had. We usually order off the sandwich side of the menu and find the food to be very good, very reasonable prices and always had a server with a smile and kind word. Enjoyed wine from the Traverse City and other Michigan wineries. We keep going back and definately say it is worth the drive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeLynn1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Good Place To Eat”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

And it is a good place to eat. Have been here several times in the past and we ate here on both Friday and Saturday. We have never been disappointed. It is a bit noisy ,especially on the week-end night but not that loud that you can not have a conversation. The waitstaff is friendly and knowledgeable. The prices are reasonable. The mango and lime chicken was excellent, the burgers are always good. I love the sweet potato fries. The steak tidbits appetizer along with a salad are a meal in itself. The fish dishes are very good as well--and all of the servings are generous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stone Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Stone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing