We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay!”
other traveller has booked this property
OTHERS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OTHERS
OTHERS OTHERS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Santi Cosma e Damiano, Province of Latina, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
13LisaB13
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in August 2013

A group of five stayed during August. The owners were friendly and welcoming and the accommodation was lovely. It was a great find - allowing us to have relaxing days by the pool, play table tennis, amble round the surroundings and take trips to Rome and Pompeii. Not all of us ride but three of us took the opportunity to go on a hack and loved it! However, the accommodation is great for those who are looking for a riding holiday, for those who want a good base to be able to explore or for those who fancy a week relaxing by the pool. There are also lots of lovely villages around that would have been great to visit.

There are shops close by, and some little places to eat too. A great place to stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review for the Pony Ranch. The farmer Luigi and our agency are working a lot to offer the best service to our guests.
Yes the Pony Ranch is the perfect place to relax in a Mediterranean environment with the families and friends.
Hoping to welcome you a second time here in south Lazio.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodmanFa...
Gloucestershire, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good value accommodation with excellent pool and welcoming hosts!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked this accommodation for its location almost halfway between Rome and Naples, as we wanted to do the sights in Rome plus Pompeii, Vesuvius, Herculaneum etc near Naples.

Worked perfectly! Train to Rome just 15 minutes away - journey took 1 hour 40 mins; cost 14 Euros return including all metro and buses in Rome - MAKE SURE YOU PUT YOUR TICKET IN THE VALIDATION MACHINE AT THE STATION ON THE DAY YOU TRAVEL OTHERWISE YOU COULD RECEIVE LARGE FINE!

We drove to the sights around Naples - driving a bit scary - Italians have a completely different attitude to driving to us Brits!! Drive into Naples on a Sunday though and much calmer - we visited Herculaneum on a Sunday and even parked for free nearby!

Vesuvius and Pompeii a must - go to Vesuvius first and look down on the Bay of Naples - then drive on to Pompeii. Warning - it's huge - you'll need at least 4 hours. - take a small water bottle and you can keep filling it up as you go around.

Beaches nice but most have to pay for a sun lounger and umbrella - a bit regimented to out tastes. As it was so hot we often went down for a swim late afternoon. Water off Scauri not too good - much better towards Sperlonga , north of Gaeta. Circeo National Park definitely worth a day trip.

The Pony Ranch was a perfect base for a really good holiday. Exhausted from our long day trips we would spend days in between lounging by the wonderful pool, often times we had it to ourselves when other guests (only 6 apartments) were out and about.

Owners Luigi and Jenny very friendly.Luigi's English pretty good - definitely enough for non Italian-speaking Brits to get by. Jenny was very friendly even though her English not so good. They run a restaurant and will recommend food. Kitchen equipment in apartments limited - but can't blame them when you think they'd like you to eat at the restaurant. We only did twice but really good to have the facility on site.

Beds comfy; air conditioning available at 6 Euros per night - we managed without as spent virtually all our time outdoors in our private courtyard adjacent the pool. DO TAKE INSECT REPELLENT AND ANTI HISTAMINE TABLETS AND CREAM THOUGH - the mosquitoes are rampant!

All in all one of the best holidays we've ever had and for the price the accommodation was truly excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, private patio & great pool
Liked least: Mosquitoes!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thank you for the positive review.
The owners Luigi and Jenny, had worked hard during the whole winter to upgrade the apartments and the whole farm.
We are glad that her work and effort was remunerated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelongha...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location & Excellent Food”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a great place to stay as a base for day trips to both Rome and Naples, being about halfway in between the two.
There are apartments available if you are planning a family holiday, although we stayed in a double room, which was fine for just the two of us. There were two rooms available and on arrival we were offered the choice (as one room has a refrigerator) as both rooms were empty at the time.
Some may find the mattresses a little hard, but personally I quite like this.
Breakfast is extra but only 2.50 euros each. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that, but we had dinner several times during our stay and the food was always very good. The chef prepares everything fresh to order and the ingredients he uses are often home-grown. Their chilli oil is a must try, and fantastic with fresh bread. My husband also enjoyed their home-made wine. I don't drink myself but it certainly smelt very fruity!
The pool was lovely to cool down in after a hot days sightseeing - and if you don't want to go as far as Rome or Naples there are plenty of things to see in the area. The wi-fi is helpful to research what you want to do. There are also lots of nice beaches along the coast nearby though sunloungers seemed expensive (not sure if this is the case in all Italy but seemed to be 15 euros plus at most beaches).
Because the Agristurismo La Fattoria has horses/ponies and several dogs, there can be a lot of insects particularly mosquitoes around. If you're prone to being bitten you'll need to make doubly sure you have plenty of insect repellent (Italy is known for having mosquitos - so you'd probably need it anyway).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food served in the restaurant
Liked least: The insect bites :-(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDArms...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pool and very welcoming owners”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The Pony Ranch is conveniately located in the quietness of the Italian countryside but (with a car) remains close enough to beaches and local towns to not feel isolated, a nearby railway station also makes both Rome and Naples an easy day trip away.

The Owners.
Luigi and Jenny made us feel welcome from the outset and our chats became firm fixtures in our daily routine, always smiling, always helpful they were both a pleasure to be with. Both Luigi and Jenny try hard to speak English (as to our shame we speak no Italian!). Luigi manages to converse pretty well but by no means fluently, but isn't this the point of visiting a foreign country, to see the culture and to meet local people and to hear them speaking their local language. Luigi certainly speaks enough English to help his guests out and with a bit persistence a good and entertaining conversation can be had. Jenny's English is not so good but what she lacks in her language skills she makes up with bucket loads of smiles. We are glad we have met them and hope that we will get to see them again.

The Facilities.
Our apartment had been freshly painted on the outside and was neat, tidy and tastefully furnished inside, and while our apartment didn't have the luxury of air conditioning it seemed to stay pretty cool inside most times of the day and night (daily temperatures during our visit were between 32c - 35c). The apartment's cooking facilities were basic but sufficient with the bonus of a private built-in barbeque just outside the kitchen door. Of course if you don't want to have to cook for yourself the Pony Ranch does have it's own restaurant on site where Luigi's and Jenny's talented son will prepare tasty food for you. But be careful how many courses you order as portion sizes are larger than you'd expect to be given in the UK. Ask to try Luigi's homemade chilli oil (made with oil pressed from their own olive trees) and either drip it on to bread or sprinkle it on to your meal to add an interesting and flavoursome kick!

Swimming Pool and Other Areas/Facilities.
The pool was cleaned and treated daily by the staff which meant the water remained absolutely crystal clear at all times and was a pleasure to use to keep cool bearing in mind the temperatures we were experiencing during our stay. My 14yr old son and I also made good use of the Table tennis area on most days as it also offered an opportunity to escape direct sunlight during our breaks from the swimming pool at the hottest times of the day. Luigi installed WiFi for customers to use free of charge, of course this means your email, facebook and twitter accounts (among others) will remain a distraction while you're trying to enjoy the peacefulness of the Italian countryside.

The biggest downside of our stay at the Pony Ranch was that we suffered from being bitten by flies. Thankfully the apartment had great fly screens over all windows and doors so the inside of the apartment remained a fly-free zone.

We are not a horse riding family so we cannot comment on the Pony Ranch's facilities where this is concerned.

Overall the Pony Ranch was a great find, great value, with friendly owners located in the quiet of the Italian countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool and the owners.
Liked least: Being bitten by the flies.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mc109
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic place with a wonderful host”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks, renting 2 apartments, one with a kitchen and 2 bedroom, and one with 1 room and no kitchen for my father. Both apartments were clean and the kitchen was well equipped with all the basic utensils that you would need. In the bigger apartment there was a TV (don't think we even plugged it in) and a fridge freezer (perfect for ice-creams). The apartment with the kitchen also had a barbecue which we made good use of. The facilities on site were fantastic with a lovely pool and solarium surrounded by olive groves. As the whole site only has 6 apartments to pool never felt overcrowded and it was nice to mix with different families from throughout Europe. The kids also loved the table tennis and table football that were also on site. These were in an open area with a roof which was great to use when you needed a break from the sun. Just make sure you take mosquito repellent. The owner has also recently installed a washing machine and drying area which was an absolute bonus. There are local shops just a 10 minute walk away with all the essentials you could need. However, we often went into nearby Formia to the local shopping mall where there was a bigger supermarket.

The owner, Luigi and his family couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable. Luigi and his wife could both speak English very well and would chat everyday, recommending places to go in the local area. During our stay they would give us gifts of fruit from the farm and were always willing to help with any questions we had or provide us with anything we needed in the apartment.

During our stay we all participated in the horse riding. The instructors English was limited, however, he was able to communicate instructions to us fine. It was lovely going for a trek around the farm. Our family consists of experienced riders and complete beginners and they were able to accommodate the needs of everyone. There are a number of dogs around the farm who were very well behaved and friendly. My daughter particularly loved playing with them throughout our stay. However, the only down side was throughout the night the dogs at the farm and surrounding properties would bark to each other. My husband was able to fix this with a pair of earplugs so it may be an idea to take a pair if you're a light sleeper.

A car is essential if you are staying here. However, it was perfect as a central point for travelling to places. We were able to visit Rome twice as it is an hour and a half on the train from Formia. The railway carpark was 8 Euros for the day. The train ticket was 14 Euros but could also be used on all the trams, metro and buses in Rome (If you buy one remember to stamp it before boarding the train or you will be fined). An hour and a half in the other direction was Pompeii and Herculanium. Many of the Italian sites would allow children and over 65's in for free when a passport was shown and if you could prove your a teacher in the EU you get in for a reduced rate. Also in the area are Gaeta, Reggia di Caserta with its palace and fabulous gardens, grotte di Pastena, thermal baths and Monte Cassino abbey (beware you need to have knees and shoulders covered and the Abbey is closed to the public between 12.30 and 3.30). The beaches just north of Gaeta were beautiful.

Overall this was a fantastic holiday which had something for everyone and I would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful hosts
Liked least: Dogs barking at night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dissi_11
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely place to stay in stunning surroundings, perfect for families.”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I travelled with my partner and our 3 kids, ages 6, 9 and 11. All the amenities the pony ranch had to offer was perfect for kids. One thing to note the apartments are lovely and rustic but pretty compact and have limited facilities.

However that aside it is still excellant value for money and there is no need to spend time indoors much as the pool was fab and the surrounding scenery is lovely. There is a supermarket and fab bar/restaurant within walking distance but a car is recommended to make full use of the facilities in Scauri.

One small thing I would add is that the owners do not speak much english so it would be helpful to have some basic instructions available in the apartment such as the bin schedule and what amenities are available.

We would not hesitate to book again for next yeat but sadly the apartment was just a bit too small for us because of the ages of our kids.

Thanks for a fabulous holiday at such great value!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fantastic pool
Liked least: the horrible flies and ants
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
Thank you for your rewiew for the Pony Ranch and your suggestions. First of all, I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay on the farm.
Some good news for the next year: there will be a washing machine for all guests, further internet wi-fi in the restaurant. Regarding some inscructions I have spoken with the owner Luigi on Sunday. When the olive harvest is finished we will meet and write insctructions in english and german, so future guests can find information in the apartments. The kitchen is furnished only with the necessary for cooking, I will suggest to add something more. If your are searching something larger for the next year; I suggest to rent Casa Monte di Scauri in Scauri. With garden, only some walking minutes from the bay and the sandy beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIALR
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely owners, good restaurant, great pool with many horses, super value!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at this lovely farm as our 16 year old is a horse rider. Our other 2 children don't ride but enjoyed the pool and games at the farm. We also thought the location would be great for day trips to both Rome and the Amalfi coast.

Rome is a very relaxing and reasonable (14 euros) 1h40m train ride away and the Amalfi Coast is a similar drive away so both areas are doable but they do make for long days! We also made a day trip of Pompeii which was about 1h15m away and well worth the drive. I would recommend staying over in the Amalfi area to see Pompeii, the Coast, and maybe Capri or Ischia to avoid all the long days in the car.

The kitchen in apartment 1 is not well equipped and the master bedroom mattress needs replacement. Otherwise this small 2 bedroom unit was quite comfortable and clean. It easily sleeps 5 and can sleep 6 upon request of an additional bed. This is a 1 bedroom apartment with a loft which sleeps 3.

Horseback riding is easily arranged and reasonable however the instructor does not speak English. This is a real horse farm though with many rings for lessons including a very good sized jumping ring. I imagine trail rides in the lovely area could be arranged as well.

Many horses, dogs, a few cows, goats around the property. The generous pool was a wonderful spot surrounded by olive trees. There is also fuseball and ping pong tables which we made good use of.

A well stocked grocery store is very close very close. Beaches at Sperlonga were lovely but very busy!

I would recommend this lovely farm for good quality family time. It has the potential to be really perfect for young horse families with a complete set of new dishes, glassware, towels for washing and drying dishes. English instructions regarding garbage day pickups would be helpful as well as the garbage bins in the apartment are too small to last more than a few days.
A few nice to haves would include a tablecloth and maybe a flowering planter to spruce up the outdoor apartment area. Shared laundry facilities would be a nice addition as well for a farm property.

It is worth noting that this property does not have WiFi and in fact, a data signal is hard to obtain at all. This would have been helpful for us to plan our daily excursions.

Luigi and his wife are very lovely hosts who will do their best to accommodate your every wish. This property offers great value!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, horses and owners were all super.
Liked least: Horse flies.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing