We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of El Jimador - CLOSED

El Jimador
Restaurant details
Portage, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is one of your favorite places to eat. Just off Shaver and Center..Food is great and prices are good. You get alot of food..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jumbo portions”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

If you like to eat like a pig and don't care much about what you are eating, this is the place for you.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Real Mexican food”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Love this place, real mexican food, not overly americanized. Atmosphere is typical, service is good. But LOVE the food.

Favorites have to be the tamale and the Acapulco with Chicken.
I take the salsa home by the pint.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bkm401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galesburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“By far the VERY best Mexican food in Kalamazoo”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The food is authentic and just the very best Mexican food I have EVER had. Friendly staff and management, very fast-from the time I placed my order to it coming to the table was about 10 minutes. They give you huge servings of everything. The pricing is very good-and a great value.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank jody w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service, Price. Never a bad meal”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We've been going to El Jimador for a while now and have always had a positive experience. The food is delicious, and the service is Fast. Our last visit we were greeted, seated, had drinks and chips and (wonderful) salsa order taken and our entrees in less than 5 minutes. (or at least it seemed) Some of our family favorites include... Burritos Topico's, Chicken Wet Burrito, Fish Taco's, Quesadilla Jimador and the Fajitas are HUGE... I find it hard to believe that anyone would have a bad experience here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IceMelted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Jimador also viewed

 
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 
Portage, Kalamazoo County
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing