We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one very fine hotel”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
LaSalle Ontario
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“one very fine hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Our recent stay at the Royal Park was absolutely flawless. This is one of the finest hotels and stays that I have ever experienced. For a few dollars more than relatively generic hotels, you will receive so much more for your money. An stately and unique property with many ammenities, a lovely bar with fantastic entertainment, ( live Motown, R & B, and blues music ) first-rate food with impecable service served in classy dining areas, access to walking paths, and rooms as nice and well appointed as any hotel you are likely to stay in. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful words and kind comments you have mde about our hotel. I know our staff will be elated when I share them this week at our All Hands Meeting. We are so glad that you feel that the value was worthy of spending your time and your money with us. We know that there a lot of hotels that you could visit.

We are quite fortunate to be surrounded by trees, Paint Creek and the Paint Creek Trail which allow our guests wonderful access to nature during this beautiful time of the year.

We look forward to having you as our guest soon.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    82
    24
    8
    13
See reviews for
72
138
17
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at the Royal Park so that we would be in a conveniently located hotel to visit friends and family, and one that would be very comfortable. The rooms were very pretty, and the bathrooms were lovely and luxurious. The walk-in closet was a great room feature, as well as the room refrigerator (not the "honor bar", thank goodness) and in-room safe. Service from the bell staff and valets was also exceptional. The beds were comfortable, with great sheets. We did not like the down pillows as they were crunchy/crinkly (ie. very inexpensive feather pillows, with little down in them) and requested replacement with foam pillows, which they were happy to do. The terrace off our king room was enormous, with a pleasant view of the creek and many trees. The windows were very big, with windows that could be opened and blackout drapes. The servicing of the room was done very well, and on our schedule (we did not wake up until late morning each day). Breakfast downstairs wasn't ridiculously expensive, and the bar served delicious desserts, though the drinks weren't very exciting.

On to the few problems. (1) We had a problem with our shower not draining. We told the front desk staff a couple of times, and it was still not fixed. When I finally talked to the woman who was (I think) the customer relations manager, it was promptly taken care of, but I should not have had to ask more than once. (2) Also, several of our pillows were missing after a daily cleaning (we like to use a lot, and maybe we had too many?) and I had to keep asking for more towels (they would only give us enough for 2 each day, even though it was very clear that 4 of us were staying in the room). (3) It was very loud outside our room until 12:30PM on Saturday night. I realize that their main business is weddings, but trying to get the guests' kids to sleep has to be acknowledged, too. They were apologetic about the noise, but this should be noted by anyone in case they can give you a quieter room than we had (room 237).

And finally, just a few notes (in case someone from the hotel reads this): (1) It would be really nice to have more furniture out on the terrace, such as a small dining table and chairs, or at least a chaise lounge or two. It's certainly big enough. (2) Please tell your guests that there will be loud shouting and music until 12 or 1 AM on Saturdays. (3) Please tell your guests in advance (via email, since multiple confirmations are sent this way) that the main street into Rochester, Rochester Road, is completely torn up and has major (20 minutes+) traffic delays and it is difficult to get around town. (4) A pool would be a great addition to your hotel. It was really missed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notacamper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words that you offered to us regarding our hotel. It is appreciated. More important, though,we thank you for sharing your concerns. It is important for us to know how well we have done with every guest on every visit. I share every guest comment whether they are on-line such as TripAdvisor or all electronic responses with our staff so they are aware of what you are feeling while you are here. We ask our staff to be passionate and intuitive and to think like the guest - sharing comments helps achieve this objective.

I am disappointed that our team did not demonstrate the sense of urgency that we regularly practice. The drain issue should have been handled immediately for you. Anything less is unacceptable. I have also spoken to our Housekeeping leaders to insure the pillow and towel issues do not re-occur for future guests. Finally, it was a noisy weekend and our security team was quite active in speaking with guests about volume. We do appreciate your patience and understanding.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit with us again and look forward to the opportunity to meet you personally.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here for a wedding. The service was probably some of the best that I have experienced. Everyone I ran into was friendly and helpful. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and the location is great. The bed was one of the most comfortable that I have ever stayed in, I definitely did not feel like I was sleeping in a hotel. The only drawbacks, as someone mentioned, are that there is not a coffee maker in the room, although the hotel did offer the delivery of a French press. I did not utilize option this as I didn't want to wake up at a certain time just to receive the coffee delivery. Also, my room was a corner room and was smaller than my parents and brother's room, although we paid the same rate. Finally, the comforter was damp when we arrived, I didn't complain however, because I was pretty sure it was freshly laundered and that is why it was damp. Overall I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaDetroit_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments that you have made about our hotel, its comfort and, of course, our staff. I will ceratinly pass on your words to all.

It is so important to us that every guest has an enjoyable experience whenever they visit with us. Every one of our team members is hired because they are passionate about guest service and they hope that you leave us with every intention of making a return visit.

I am sorry that you were not able to partake of our French press coffee. Our weekend coffee program is designed to insure that you receive a fresh pot of our popular, freshly ground coffee when you want it. It is important to me and our staff that you get the best coffee possible.

I do hope that you will visit with us again and look forward to meeting you in person.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I've stayed here 3 times for business and each time I don't want to leave my room because the accommodations are so nice! The front desk staff are a little stuffy by gracious and helpful. The biggest complaint I have is that there is no coffee maker in the room so you have to go downstairs to a common area and get the free coffee. I hate that!
I've eaten at the restaurant a couple times and also had room service. The food is really quite good. But room service was delayed and since it had my first morning coffee, that was a bummer! Beds are very comfy and the bath is spa-like, but somewhat dark. The room rates and restaurant prices are very reasonable. Next time, I hope to actually walk up town to Main Street, but this trip it was torn up for construction!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for the kind words you have given about our hotel. I know that our team will be so appreciative when I share them this week.

I apologize that our In Room Dining team was late with your morning coffee. I know how much that first cup means every day. We have chosen not to offer coffee machines in the room because we cannot get a top quality product to offer to our guests. We truly feel that our freshly made coffee from our dining room area is second to none. To offer anything else would be less than acceptable.

I am so glad that you enjoy the food that we serve and that you have had the opportunity to use our restaurants and In Room Dining. I too am awaiting the completion of construction in our little downtown area. Not only is it a joy for so many of our guests, our team loves to get away and visit the shops, restaurants and bars.

I look forward to seeing you soon. Please feel free to ask for me on your next visit.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Royal Park while visiting family. The hotel exudes old world quality. You feel like you are staying at a country estate. The decor is impeccable and the rooms extremely comfortable. I especially liked the comfortable bed and the fact that the heat and air were extremely quiet. I loved the high end bath products.
Only surprise was no flat screen HD TV. I wonder why the hotel has not made this upgrade, which is almost standard in even lower cost hotels. I was very pleased to get a room with a bath since most rooms only have showers.
Finally I did feel the food was a bit over priced for the quality, but overall I loved staying there.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with a view of the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJLERC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
We are so appreciative of your kind words and the entire Royal Park family thanks you for them. We are pleased that you found us so comfortable and relaxing as that is one of the trademark experiences we strive to achieve on a daily basis.

Our flat screen TVs will be here next year as we are hoping to take advantage of new advances in the television world as well as the technology world to provide a 'home like' viewing experience.

The menus in all areas change on a regular basis as we want to present new food opportunities with traditional favorites.

I do hope we see you once again in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I have stayed a numerous hotels similar to this and this equalled a $129ish hotel not a $200 and up. No in room coffee, no bottled water, toilet kept running, very low water pressure, (have had more pressure in drought areas) No sitting area, when you check in first thing said was no parties in rooms! and sign this waiver! What!! if you have these problems deal with them but to say this at check in made me wonder is this some expressway hotel at prom time!. Went downstairs in the morning and got lukewarm coffee and they had run out of their rolls, I have got better breakfast at an enconomy hotel.They have employees everywhere to help you out but nothing to speak of for amenities I would never recommend this it is back to Troy Mariott for me

Room Tip: Go to Troy it is only a few miles away and much better value for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your comments. Please accept my apology that we were not to your liking. Every guest comment is important to us, allowing us to review any services, procedures and policies that will impact the guest experience every visit.

I will share your comments with our team this week at our All Manager Meeting so we can reflect upon how we can better serve our guests.

I do hope that you will re-consider your decision to visit elsewhere and give us a second chance to show you what we can do.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Park for 2 nights after our wedding. It could not have been better. We had a lovely room with a lot of space, robes, and a beautiful and large bathroom. It was very luxurious and comfortable. We ordered room service Champagne at 12:30am. It was quick and worth the money. We also did the breakfast in your room. You fill out your order from a menu in your room and place it on your door before a certain time and then in the morning it will be wheeled into your room on a beautiful table spread. It was fancy and delicious and not over priced in my opinion. We can't wait to stay there again for an anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Congratulations on your marriage! We are so pleased that you chose to share this special occasion with us. I am appreciative of your kind words regarding the room and your in-room dining experience. I will share these comments with our staff at our upcoming All Team Meeting.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
10.5 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
24.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
23.9 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Property: Royal Park Hotel
Address: 600 E University Dr, Rochester, MI 48307-2111
Region: United States > Michigan > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing