We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy hotel close to restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Classy hotel close to restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Royal Park was recommended to me by a colleague who lives in the area, mainly since it is walking distance to a cute main street with many restaurants and shops. We didn't end up eating at any of them, and the street has some construction going on right now, but did enjoy the hotel. It is not cookie-cutter, but has a lot of beautiful classic woodwork and a lovely atrium.

The bathroom was all marble, light grey. There was only a shower in the room, no tub. The bed was comfortable and the hotel quiet.

I did use the workout room, which had plenty up high-end equipment. There is no pool. Breakfast was fine, with good service. The buffet was a bit sparse, but meant for those in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and the Rochester area. We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful Main Street area for our guests and look forward to the completion of its makeover for many years to come.

I do hope that we have an opportunity to meet when you visit the next time.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    82
    24
    7
    12
See reviews for
69
136
17
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at the Royal Park Hotel this past weekend for a wedding. It was immaculate in every aspect! Each and every person we came in contact with provided exceptional customer service.We had dinner there on Friday evening and the food was very good! The lounge was comfortable and each server we came in contact with, in both the restaurant and the bar, was pleasant and most efficient. Valet service was always quick. Our TV remote needed batteries and a new remote came immediately. I would recommend a stay there to anyone looking for a pristine and relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for the wonderful words you have offered regarding your visit to our hotel. I will share this with our entire team so they can see how important you felt every moment of guest contact was. I cannot emphasize enough how happy I am that our people were timely and exhibited a sense of urgency when you needed assistance. It is somethng we discuss daily.

As always, I am pleased that our food and service was enjoyable to you.

I do hope that you will visit us again. Please feel free to lookme up when you return.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathroy, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Absolutely loved it. The hotel is clean and inviting, the staff friendly and professional and the room was beautiful and clean. My husband and I felt pampered. We had lunch in the lounge and the food was great. Service exceptional. Dinner was at the Hotels Brookshire Restaurant. Service, the food and the food presentation was all exceptional. A truly enjoyable experience all around. After dinner we had a drink in the lounge and enjoyed live entertainment consisting of a woman who had the voice of Whitney Houston along with a keyboard player. Complimentary French pressed coffee was delivered to our at the time of our choosing in the morning. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
We are so pleased that you experienced your best Michigan vacation ever while staying at our hotel. I know that our team will be elated with your comments about the visit.

I am so glad that you enjoyed the French Press coffee - it is a new program for us that we are quite high on and your comments only support this. I also know that our restaurant and lounge team will be pleased to see your food and service comments.

I hope to meet you the next time you are here. Please look me up.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Royal Park on several occasions. I travel often and I always look forward to my stay here because I know I will get great service, a comfortable bed, several amenities including an outstanding bar and restaurant.

You can walk to several great restaurants and bars in downtown Rochester as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhook1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. In just a few sentences, you say what we truly believe to be the best of our hotel - great service, comfortable beds, outstanding bar and restaurant and several user friendly amenities.

I hope that we see you back soon. Please stop by to say hello to me when you return.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Oak Township
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Royal Park Hotel in downtown Rochester for a work-related conference and was EXTREMELY impressed!!!! It's a beautiful hotel with first-class accommodations, excellent food and perfect location. We walked downtown to all the shops (Main Street currently under construction, but still accessible and not a problem). We were in a standard room (very spacious with comfortable bed and quite) but they also have suites with separate living area with fireplace, french doors to master suite, kitchen area and heated floors in large bathroom. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer such wonderful words about our hotel. I will share these with the staff at our upcoming meeting. I know they will be pleased.Each of our staff members is so proud to be a part of the hotel.

We are quite fortunate to be part of the Rochester community with a vibrant downtown - even with the construction. Fortunately it will be over soon and all of the special events that occur downtown will be back on track.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best WIshes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison Twp, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Friday night was in downtown Rochester for the 47th Art & Apples Festival. Spent the night at the Royal Park Hotel - second visit. Stayed in a Luxury King room - very nice. Asked for extra pillows and they were there. Very clean room. The bathroom is very spacious. Breaksfast at the Brookshire was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spike1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for the kind words that you offered regarding your visit to the hotel. We are so appreciative of this. I am glad that our staff was able to honor your requests.

We are very fortunate to have the Arts and Apples Festival in our town. It is a wonderful event drawing many people from many places.

We liiok forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I booked a room on a Saturday night to give my sister a break from some intense family obligations. I shared this with the staff when I requested a dvd player for the room so I could play some escapist funny dvd movies. Alas I was told their tvs were not dvd compatible but they did have pay per view. This didn't seem very customer sensitive to me for a hotel that presents itself as an upper echelon acccomodation and charges upper end rates in a limited market. But I gave them the chance. Too bad they didn't step up. On the plus side, the room was very nice, the robes were amazing and the dinner in the bar was very nice. Royal Park, you can do better. I bring out of town family in on a regular basis and would love to recommend you as my go to place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debtodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words that you have shared about our hotel. We aer so pleased that you found the robes amazing and that our rooms and lounge meals were enjoyable.

It is unfortunate that our television system does not allow for dvd as that is one of the caveats with our pay-per-view provider. Nonetheless we are moving forward in 2013 to revise our television presentation with the goal of meeting your specific needs.

I hope to see you and your family in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
10.5 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
24.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
23.9 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Property: Royal Park Hotel
Address: 600 E University Dr, Rochester, MI 48307-2111
Region: United States > Michigan > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing