We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointed”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

First, I would like to acknowledge I understand holidays are busy times for hotels and restaurants. Though after making a hotel reservation at the Royal Park Hotel and multiple (a dozen or more) attempts to make an Easter Brunch reservation at the Brookshire Restaurant (that continually went to the restaurants voicemail) I became uneasy. Upon contacting the main reservations number I was again sent to restaurant reservations voicemail. After I again called back to the main reservations desk, I inquired about concierge services (a standard point of access for dining reservations) and was told a concierge is not an available hotel amenity. After again calling the Brookshire (and being sent to voicemail) I did leave a message for my reservations request - only to receive a call that brunch reservations were fully booked. Needless to say, if hotel guests need to expend the level of effort I have - only to end up canceling a weekend hotel reservation, I would certainly not recommend the Royal Park Hotel or the Brookshire Restaurant under any circumstance.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and describe your experience with Easter reservations in our Brookshire restaurant. I can certainly understand your disappointment and frustration in wanting to participate in one of our popular events. Please accept my apology as well as the apology of our entire Royal Park team. We want every guest to have an enjoyable experience at all points of contact. Clearly we were not successful.

If you would like to further discuss this,I invite you to contact me directly through the hotel at 248.652.2600. I would be delighted to speak with you.

I do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    88
    25
    9
    13
See reviews for
77
142
18
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel close to Rochester Hills city center. Great rooms with all you need. No breakfast buffet. Restaurant and bar available. Valet parking possible. People are very friendly. I liked it during my stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JRsTrip2PlanetEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for the nice comments that you offered about Royal Park. Our entire team was delighted that you felt so positive about your visit. They were most appreciative of your "very friendly' comment. Our team truly wants every guest to enjoy their time with us.

I do hope that you will visit with us again. Please look me up when you arrive.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbiana, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is one of the nicest and well run hotels you will ever stay at. The staff is amazing and they go above and beyond to accommodate their guests. HIGHLY recommend!!! The restaurant has a terrific menu and it has the atmosphere of a European style hotel.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is perfect for single business travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our team. We are so delighted to hear of your comments.

I know that each of our team members strives to provide every guest with an exceptional experience but it gives me great pride when you tell me that our team has gone above and beyond to accommodate you.

I do hope that you visit with us again. Please look me up the next time you visit.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel tucked away off the main roads of Rochester. The rooms are lovely, the bathrooms spacious, and the food here is fantastic (I can't say that about most hotels... Even other five star hotels). Most importantly, the entire staff is wonderful and the service is exemplary. They are professional, courteous, and go well out of their way for their guests. It is within walking distance of the Post Office, Library, shoppes and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and our team. When I read this to our management team yesterday, a smile came over everyone's face that lit up the room. Each of our managers prides themselves on having a team of people that will provide exceptional service to all guests all the time.

The biggest smile came from our Chefs who love to feed guests their fabulous food. I know that they have passed your comment on to the culinary team. All of them are grateful for your comments.

I hope that you have the opportunity to visit with us again. Please look me up when you are here.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here off and on for a couple months, while stuck in the dreary cold of Michigan - with a 50 mile commute in each direction from my daily destination. Everyone asked why I stayed there - so far away. The answer was simple. The service there, and especially the employees, exceeded every expectation I had. Great rooms, awesome bar, luxury restaurant, and the friendliest valets you'll ever meet. They bent over backwards for me on many occasions, and made a long, tiring, depressing trip 1000 times better. I can't say enough nice things about the bartenders and wait staff at the bar. Top notch (and I've seen top notch before.) doesn't even describe them justly. If I ever find my way back to Michigan, I'll stay there again gladly. Royal Park Hotel - You have my sincere thanks and appreciation for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Suites with balconies are great sized, and give a large outdoor area for smokers. The view is prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and desire to tackle such a long daily drive just to stay with us and the Royal Park family. I shared your comments with our team and they were thrilled to hear about your loyalty to us and to them.

As General Manager, there is nothing that I enjoy more than to receive positive comments about our team. Not only does it tell me that our people are doing their job, it also shows their commitment and dedication to providing an exceptional guest experience.

I do hope that you visit with us soon and we get to meet - although New Braunfels is so beautiful I cannot imagine you wanting to leave.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

For a small little town, this hotel is really gorgeous. However, the bed was so lumpy and old it was hard to believe it existed in such a nice place. The bed was depressed very significantly where the body would lay making it very hard to roll over. The hotel was very clean, with a lovely bathroom and shower. The L'Occitaine bath supplies were a nice touch as well. Be advised, it is a little off-putting that at check in you have to sign a "no-parties in your room" statement. Somehow it just doesn't come off very well and made me feel like the front desk attendant was judgmental. I can only assume they have everyone sign these.

Room Tip: Check the bed before you unpack!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMcLafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your words about our hotel and your constructive comments about how we can improve. We are always appreciative of guest feedback.

I apologize that the bed was not as comfortable as it should have been. I have asked our housekeeping team to inspect the mattress and box spring and replace it. A comfortable night's sleep is an important part of our experience. And yes, because we value a good night's sleep for all of our guests, we do request the weekend 'restful' statement.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit with us in the future. Please feel free to call upon me when you are here.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel is very pretty and the rooms are large. We found it a good location for walking to dinner or shopping. The staff was helpful and cheery. Coffee and tea are available in the library but I would rather have it in my room. This is a minor inconvenience when staying at such a nice property. There is a bar and restaurant on the property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianawrdh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We are so grateful that you were able to spend time as our guest recently and we thank you for your kind comments.

We are so fortunate to have a beautiful hotel in such a wonderful community that allows our guests to wander the downtown area, the Paint Creek Trail and is so close to so many other areas of interest.

Don't forget to ask for the weekend French Press coffee delivery on your next visit.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
10.5 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
808 reviews
24.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,089 reviews
23.9 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
24.3 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
24.4 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 33 in Detroit
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Property: Royal Park Hotel
Address: 600 E University Dr, Rochester, MI 48307-2111
Region: United States > Michigan > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing