We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than usual for a two-star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rochester Hills
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Things went well from our call "on the road" to book until checkout. Deana was on duty and was friendly, helpful and polite. Room 138 is decorated in a soothing but unexciting combination of cream, rust, gray and mustard and looks freshly re-done. It had room enough to maneuver around the king bed; mattress was firm (which I prefer) but pliable and comfortable. Pillows ARE a little different, like a thick slab of foam rubber, but supportive and comfortable. Area for tub and toilet is a mere cubbyhole; hot water and pressure are great; towels are somewhat fluffy and adequate. Tub drains v..e..r..y s..l..o..w..l..y. New wrinkle: instead of a Kleenex dispenser, guests are supplied with one travel size packet of tissues. The bath also is stocked with two small soaps and a small container of shampoo. A real bonus is a small vanity/work station with a real office armchair on rollers and a bright lamp with a plug for laptop or mobile phone in its base. Although located next to a four-lane highway, I heard no noise at night or in the early morning (we were in the second row of rooms farthest from the road). Altogether this was an unexpectedly good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1073BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof191, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay. We are glad everything was good for you. Maintenance has addressed the issue with the tub drain. Again thank you for the review and we hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel was renovated in 2013 so the rooms are up to date. They are clean but some have had pets and smokers. The hotel is in a quiet and safe industrial neighborhood of Rochester Hills very close to Auburn Hills and Troy. Just off the highway for quick access. The Executive Rooms are worth the upgrade fee. We've noticed the rooms on the second floor are warmer than the more humid and damp feeling rooms on the first floor. Customer Service is very hit and miss. Avoid Beth at the front desk if possible as she is the most inhospitable and rude woman. Rest of the staff was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room as the lower floor rooms are colder with the high water table of the ponds nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanAbroad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof191, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We were renovated in 2013 with new carpet, new beds, new bedding, new drapes and flat screen TV’s. Our deluxe rooms do have micro-fridges, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, which our standard rooms do not. I am sorry you feel customer service was hit and miss as we put high expectations on all the staff to deliver great service to all our guests. If you had issues with Beth please let me know what they were so I can have more detail and address them with her. Again thank you for your review and we hope we will see you the next time you are staying in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for a toal of 6 nights, and although the room was comfortable the fact that we suspect pets are allowed in the rooms, makes me think this the cause of the itching for the time spent there.
The rooms are a good size, however no fridge makes it difficult to keep anything. The proximity to supermarkets and diners, makes it easy and being behind a McDonalds will appeal to many.
Generally ypu get ehat you pay for and for the price it is value, but please deflea the rooms if you decide to allow pets to also stay in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ground floor room in the centre of the block insulates nicely from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVIDXOTIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof191, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad your room was comfortable for you. We do have micro-fridges available in our deluxe rooms. Our pest control company comes in once a month or sooner if needed to go through rooms and pre-treat rooms and treat anything else that might be needed. We are a pet friendly hotel and the rooms are stripped and deep cleaned after each guest with a pet checks out. Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you the next time you are staying in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My room at the Rochester Hills, Michigan Red Roof Inn was conveniently located just off the main freeway and behind a McDonald's. My room was large with a refrigerator, microwave, Safe, ironing board, iron, hair dryer, free Wi-Fi and work station, all the best amenities. The next time, I would choose a room away from the highway as I could hear the trucks all night long.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back would be quieter. The driveway was hard to find as it is adjacent to the driveway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof191, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the room you were in. Our renovated rooms also have new carpet, beds, bedding, drapes, and flat screen TV’s. We hope to see you the next time you are staying in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice, clean hotel with quiet rooms. Modern furnishings with everything in the room working. Plenty of hot water and modern shower heads with plenty of pressure. Several restaurants close to the hotel and 2 fast foods within 1/4 mile (walking distance) of the hotel. Hotel is tucked into a small valley which takes care of all the road nice from passing traffic.

Room Tip: In the summer, get a room towards the Crooks Road side of the hotel as the closer you are to the pon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB37091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof191, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay when you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The size of the room was decent, no complaints there. The air conditioner and heater didn't work, AT ALL. The beds were hard as concrete and I'm pretty sure the pillows were just bags of concrete mix. The towels on the counter were DIRTY when we checked in......There was body hair in the shower that WASN'T MINE.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 28Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof191, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize for the issues you had during your visit, I hope you let the Front Desk know about your AC not working as they would have tried to get the problem taken care of for you. As for the bed and pillow issue, they were all replaced during our rehab last year along with the carpet, bedding and flat screen TV’s in all of the rooms, and most guest seem to like how they feel as stated in other reviews, sorry they were not as comfortable for you. Any issues with the room quality please let the desk know so they can try to make it right for you. Again thank you for your review as we value all guests comments good or bad to help improve how we do things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As other reviews indicate this is a good value. Room was clean furnishings were modern, plenty of hot water, drains worked, room was quiet, its on a highway ramp but noise was not an issue and very clean. First stay at a Red Roof I will definitely consider in the future. I paid a few dollars for a King extended and I did not see how it was different from standard room but oh well still a good value in a quiet location.

Room Tip: I paid a few dollars for a King extended and I did not see how it was different from standard room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowboywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof191, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay. The Superior King room has the micro/fridge, iron and board, hair dryer, large desk work area and is our largest room. Our standard rooms do not have these items. I will let the housekeeper know about your comments on her clean room. I am glad you enjoyed the modern furnishings in your room, the rooms have been updated with new beds, new bedding, new carpet, and flat screen TV’s. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester Hills
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Rochester Hills MI
Days Inn & Suites Rochester Hill...
#3 of 4 in Rochester Hills
56 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#4 of 19 in Auburn Hills
339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Detroit North-Rochester Hills
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Det...
#1 of 4 in Rochester Hills
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#5 of 19 in Auburn Hills
666 reviews
7.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites - Lake Orion/Auburn Hills
6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills

Address: 2580 Crooks Rd, Rochester Hills, MI 48309-3603
Region: United States > Michigan > Rochester Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rochester Hills
Price Range: £38 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Rochester Hills
Rochester Hills Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Detroit- Auburn Hills/Rochester Hills Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing